Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Douglas Borgstedt Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Borgstedt, Douglas, 1911-
Title: Douglas Borgstedt Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1964-1974
Quantity: 7 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American editorial cartoonist. Cartoons from the evening and Sunday Philadelphia Bulletin, distributed by King Features Syndicate, on such topics as Philadelphia, Asia, Vietnam, civil rights, terrorism, the Supersonic Transport, and youth. Also one item of correspondence.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Douglas Borgstedt was an American editorial cartoonist.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Douglas Borgstedt Papers comprise 2 series: Correspondence and Cartoons.

Correspondence contains just one folder, holding photocopies of two letters from the Nixon White House, 1971.

Cartoons constitute the bulk of the collection. These are political cartoons originally drawn for the Philadelphia Bulletin, and syndicated with King Features Syndicate, Inc. The cartoons span the years 1964 to 1974, most of them falling in the years 1968 through 1973. The cartoons are subdivided by topic, and then chronologically arranged within each topic.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Borgstedt, Douglas, 1911- Archives.

Corporate Bodies

King Features Syndicate.

Associated Titles

Evening and Sunday Bulletin (Philadelphia, Pa.).

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons, United States.
Cartoonists, United States.
Editorial cartoons, Pennsylvania, Philadelphia.
Editorial cartoons, United States.

Places

Philadelphia (Pa.), Politics and government, Caricatures and cartoons.
United States, Politics and government, 1963-1969, Caricatures and cartoons.
United States, Politics and government, 1969-1974, Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)

Occupations

Cartoonists.
Editorial cartoons.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Douglas Borgstedt Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mr. Borgstedt, 1967-1974.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MB
Date: May 1980
Revision history: 12 Mar 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 9 Apr 2008 - preferred citation fix (MRC); 15 April 2008 - box list fix (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Nixon White House 1971 - 2 photocopied letters
Cartoons
Philadelphia
Box 1 Crime
Box 1 Local finances
Box 1 Local politics
Box 1 Miscellaneous issues
Africa
Box 1 Biafra at war with Nigeria
Box 1 Rhodesia and white supremacy
Box 1 Diplomacy
Box 1 Canada
Communist countries
Box 1 China - Mao Tse Tung
Box 1 Czechoslovakia - invaded by Russian tanks
Box 1 Eastern Europe
Soviet Union
Box 1 Politics and sports
Box 1 Repression
Box 1 Russia and Red China
Box 1 Russia vs. America
Europe
Box 1 France - Charles de Gaulle, Pompidou
Box 1 Germany
Box 2 Great Britain
Box 2 North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)
Box 2 Northern Ireland - strife, Catholic vs. Protestant
Box 2 Spain - Franco's dictatorship
Latin America
Box 2 Chile - Allende's Marxist government
Box 2 Cuba - Castro's Communism
Box 2 General
Mid-East
Box 2 Arab-Israeli relations
Box 2 Arab oil
Box 2 Diplomatic efforts
Box 2 Egypt - Nasser
Box 2 Terrorism
Global
Box 2 New Year's strife
Box 2 Overpopulation
Box 2 United Nations, U Thant
Box 2 U.S. image
Congress
Box 2 Abuses - Bobby Baker and Adam Clayton Powell
Box 2 Congress vs. Nixon
Box 2 Congress vs. the Pentagon
Box 2 Senator William Fulbright - influencing foreign affairs
Box 3 Legislation
Box 3 Politics
Box 3 Reform
Box 3 Senator Hugh Scott
Courts
Box 3 Chicago Seven
Box 3 Freedom of the press
Box 3 Nixon's appointments and Congressional veto
Box 3 Politics
Box 3 James Earl Ray and Sirhan Sirhan, assassins
Box 3 Youth
Presidential administration
Box 3 Lyndon Johnson
Richard Nixon
Box 3 General (3 folders)
Box 3 Spiro Agnew - battles with the press, resignation
Box 3 Gerald Ford - apopintment as Vice President
Box 3 Henry Kissinger, Secretary of State
Box 3 Watergate scandal
Presidential election politics
Box 4 Abortion
Box 4 Voters
Democrats
Box 4 General
Box 4 Hubert Humphrey - 1968 candidate
Box 4 Edward Kennedy - 1972 election hopes
Box 4 Robert Kennedy - 1968 candidate
Box 4 Eugene McCarthy - 1968 challenge to Johnson
Box 4 George McGovern - 1972 candidate
Box 4 George Wallace - 1968, 1972 third-party candidate
Republicans
Box 4 General
Box 4 Richard Nixon - long-shot candidate
Box 4 Ronald Reagan - recalled to California
Box 4 Nelson Rockefeller - highly financial campaign
Box 4 George Romney - bailed out early
Box 4 George McGovern - 1972 candidate
Box 4 George Wallace - 1968, 1972 third-party candidate
Bureaucracy
Box 4 Covert activities - unchecked wiretapping
Box 4 Electoral reform - voting age reduced to 18
Box 4 J. Edgar Hoover - criticized by Ramsey Clark, Attorney General
Box 4 Postal reform
Civil rights
Box 4 Busing
Box 4 Integration and segregation
Box 4 Native Americans - Navajo land claims
Box 4 Women's equality - undermining the U.S. image
Box 4 Crime - growing without restraint
Economics
Box 5 Agriculture
Box 5 The consumer
Box 5 Food prices
Box 5 Inflation
Box 5 International
Box 5 Penn Central bankruptcy
Box 5 Taxes
Box 5 U.S. economy (2 folders)
Box 5 Union vs. management (3 folders)
Box 5 Wall Street
Box 5 Welfare and pork-barrel highway bill
Environment
Box 5 Energy shortage
Box 5 Highway fatalities
Box 5 Hurricane damage
Box 6 Legislative protection
Box 6 Nuclear weapons
Box 6 Overcrowded parks
Box 6 Trucking industry
Box 6 John Doe, average citizen
Medicine
Box 6 Common cold
Box 6 Heart transplant
Box 6 Hong Kong flu
Box 6 Medical costs
Box 6 Untested drugs
Box 6 Space exploration (2 folders)
Box 6 Supersonic transport, Concorde
Box 6 Terrorism and skyjacking
Box 6 Urban plight
Vietnam
Box 6 American involvement (3 folders)
Box 7 American involvement (3 folders)
Box 7 Armed forces
Box 7 Cambodia
Box 7 The draft
Box 7 Henry Cabot Lodge
Box 7 My Lai
Box 7 Paris talks (2 folders)
Box 7 Politics
Box 7 U.S.S. Pueblo
Box 7 Weather
Youth
Box 7 Academia under fire
Box 7 Anti-war protests
Box 7 Counter-culture
Box 7 Educational system
Box 7 Graduates facing the world
Box 7 Student loans
Box 7 Students for a Democratic Society
Box 7 Miscellaneous

Return to top