Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Ida H. Bond Papers

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Bond, Ida H.
Title: Ida H. Bond Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1896-1931
Quantity: 1.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of Ida Bond, resident of Skaneateles, New York; bulk of collection consists of papers written by Bond for presentation to the Portfolio Club, a women's study circle formed in 1875 in Syracuse, New York.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Ida Hopkins Bond (1851-1943) was the daughter of Barton Marsh Hopkins and Margaret MacDougall of Onondaga County, New York. She was a teacher in the public school system and was for many years the principal of Jackson School, where "She was among the first educators to believe in discipline as a constructive rather than a punitive measure, and her work with difficult cases in the school is still recalled and warmly praised by older members of the school system." Her husband William H. Bond was a hardware merchant in Syracuse. She retired to Skaneateles, where she lived in a home in East Genesee Street that was built by her grandfather, Dr. Judah B. Hopkins, in 1822. At the time of he death in 1943 at age 92 she was the oldest member of the Portfolio Club (a women's study circle formed in 1875 in Syracuse, New York) and of the Plymouth Congregational Church in Syracuse. [Taken from Ida Bond's obituary in the Syracuse Herald-Journal, June 10, 1943.]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ida H. Bond Papers consists of papers written for the Portfolio Club, a women's study circle formed in 1875 in Syracuse, New York, of which Bond was a long-time member, and a small amount of miscellaneous material.

Portfolio Club papers span nearly thirty years and includes essays by Bond on topics ranging from the history of China to religious practices in New York City. Most, though not all, are annotated with "read at the Portfolio Club" and the date. Some include clippings related to the topic.

Miscellaneous material includes papers written by Bond for other purposes, clippings, a commonplace book filled with poems and saying collected or hand-copied by Bond, a paper by "Florence" on attending the King and Queen's Garden Party in London in 1924, and assorted other items.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged alphabetically by title or topic.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the Portfolio Club Records. Ida Bond was a member of the Portfolio Club for many years.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Bond, Ida H.

Corporate Bodies

Portfolio Club (Syracuse, N.Y.)

Subjects

Elementary school principals -- New York (State) -- Syracuse.
Women -- New York (State) -- Syracuse.
Women -- Non-formal education.
Women -- Recreation.
Women -- Societies and clubs.
Women teachers -- New York (State) -- Syracuse.

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.) -- History -- Sources.
Syracuse (N.Y.) -- Intellectual life.
Syracuse (N.Y.) -- Social life and customs.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Commonplace books.
Correspondence.
Essays.
Minutes.
Photographs.
Programs (documents)

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ida H. Bond Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Jean Graham, 2009.

Originally, gift of Arthur Bond to the Skaneateles Library, date unknown.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 3 Jul 2012
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Portfolio Club papers
Box 1 American the Good Samaritan 23 Feb 1920 - YWCA, Red Cross, etc.
Box 1 Ben Franklin and Others 21 Oct 1929 - Benjamin Franklin, Governeur Morris, John Jay
Box 1 Books and Boys undated
Box 1 Camouflage Nov 1918
Box 1 China: Geography and Early History 1 Oct 1923
Box 1 Condition of German Women of Earlier Centuries Compared with...Today 7 Feb 1905
Box 1 David Lloyd George 13 Oct 1924
Box 1 Dixie Land 3 Oct 1910
Box 1 Ecumenical Councils 1914-1915[?]
Box 1 Every Day in India Feb 1903
Box 1 From Forest to City 1907
Box 1 Fur Companies undated
Box 1 General Armstrong Sep 1899 - "sketch, can be read in 15 minutes"
Box 1 George Eliot and George Sand in Literature 5 Feb 1906
Box 1 Hamilton undated - "not finished"
Box 1 Harnessing the Nile 15 Oct 1928
Box 2 Historical Background of Egypt 14 Oct 1912
Box 2 History of William Penn undated
Box 2 Home Life and Club Life: Their Interdependence 28 Jan 1901
Box 2 Japan's Mission Work Feb 1924
Box 2 Kings of Israel 1913-1914
Box 2 Mormonism undated
Box 2 Negative [Negation?] undated
Box 2 New York City's Religious Life 3 Jan 1921
Box 2 Outdoor Students 17 Mar 1896 - naturalists: Audubon, Burroughs, etc.
Box 2 People of the Long House Oct 1906 - Iroquois
Box 2 Quietness undated
Box 2 The Red Man and his White Neighbor 25 Nov 1898
Box 2 Round the World Tour 12 Oct 1903
Box 2 Saint Francis of Assissi 17 Oct 1927
Box 2 Social Interpretation of Religion Oct 1931
Box 2 Socialism in Europe and Its Significance 29 Jan 1916
Box 2 The Socialist and the War 1914
Box 3 Socrates: Missionary of the Human Spirit Jan 1899
Box 3 Thomas Hardy 15 Oct 1926
Box 3 Virgil Jan 1897
Box 3 Wit and Humor of the Victorian Age 1902
Box 3 Fragments undated
Miscellaneous
Box 3 Art prints undated - about 50 prints of assorted paintings, with descriptions
Box 3 Beautiful book for gifts - poems and sayings collected or copied by Ida Bond; includes numerous clippings laid in
Box 3 English King and Queen's Garden Party... 1924 - handwritten on back, "Florence's paper n the English King's and Queen's Garden Party in London in 1924 given to the Bar Association. Read at the Portfolio Club by Ida Bond, as Mrs. Geo. Bond was in Paris. Mrs. Wiley asked for it. Read in Nov. 1925
Box 3 Pundita Ramabai and the Child Widows 16 Jan 1903 - "Written for the Women's Guild of Plymouth Church"
Box 3 Tribute to Mrs. H. C. Hooker on the Portfolio Club's 50th Anniversary, by Clara Munnson Smith 1925
Box 3 What is Life undated - unidentified paper, may or may not be Portfolio
Box 3 Miscellanea - list of papers by Ida Bond, no dates; numerous clippings on various topics, possibly related to Portfolio papers; calling card from Mrs. Donald Dey; letter; clipping, "Mrs. Bond going abroad," about Mrs. Bond sailing on the Montreal on June 22, 1922 for a trip to Europe.

Return to top