Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Norman Bogner Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Bogner, Norman, 1935-
Title: Norman Bogner Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1959-2015
Quantity: 7.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American novelist, author. Includes writings (drafts, manuscripts, and galleys of novels, plays and screen plays), and memorabilia.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Norman Bogner (1935- ) is an American author, editor and television writer.

Norman Bogner lived in Europe for 14 years. During this period, he worked at the publishing house Jonathan Cape as an editor and then as Editorial Manager. Among the many authors whose works he has edited are John Fowles, Edna O'Brien, Ronald Harwood, Arnold Wesker, C. Day Lewis, and A.W. Lawrence. He also edited Derek Walcott's first volume of poetry, two novels by Claude Simon, and Alan Paton's book of short stories, Debbie Go Home; these three gentlemen eventually won Nobel Prizes for Literature. Bogner's work has appeared in a number of magazines and his reviews have appeared in the Sunday Times and the Times Literary Supplement.

Bogner eventually left publishing for ABC-TV (later Thames-TV) and ran "Armchair Theatre," an anthology drama series comparable to "American Playhouse." He was responsible for over 100 hours of network television, and discovered and commissioned a number of then-unknown writers, including Tom Stoppard, Alan Ayckbourne, Charles Wood, and the late Dennis Potter.

His novel Seventh Avenue (1968) was a best-seller, and sufficiently successful that Bogner was at last able to devote himself to writing full time. His other novels include The Madonna Complex, Making Love, and California Dreamers. His books have sold 22 million copies worldwide, and Seventh Avenue was adapted as a six hour mini-series for NBC. Bogner has also written several plays for both theatre and television.

Bogner's wife, Felice Gordon, is an author and theatrical agent. They have three sons.

[Biographical sketch adapted from the author's website, 2007.]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Norman Bogner Papers consist of correspondence, writings and memorabilia of the American author, editor and television writer.

Correspondence consists mostly of discussions about book signings and appearances.

Writings includes drafts, galleys, published editions of novels, plays, speeches, short stories, and screenplays. The collection also contains publicity and reviews of many of his works.

Memorabilia consists of scrapbooks, clippings, and assorted miscellany.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical order by title or topic.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Published editions of several books have been traferred to Rare Books for cataloging; these are noted in the inventory below. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Bogner, Norman, 1935-

Subjects

Authors, American.
Motion picture authorship.
Novelists, American.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Compact discs.
Correspondence.
Drafts (documents)
Galley proofs.
Manuscripts for publication.
Scrapbooks.
Scripts (documents)

Occupations

Authors.
Novelists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Norman Bogner Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Norman Bogner, 1969, 2011-2018.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: EFB
Date: 12 Jan 1970
Revision history: 17 Jun 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 6 Jul 2011 - additions (PRB); 4 Sep 2015 - additions; novels reorganized alphabetically (MRC); 7 Feb 2017 - Fox's Teeth added (MRC); 5 Jul 2017 - The Criminal Chronicles added (MRC); 11 Mar 2019 - additions, M18-085 (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 11 Miscellaneous 1997-1998, 2001, 2005-2008, undated - most relates to book signings and appearances; includes numerous guest lists (2 folders)
Writings
Novels
99 Sycamore Place
Published edition 2009
Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging; please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate this item.
Arena
Box 1 Original manuscript 1978 (5 folders)
Box 1 Correspondence and publicity 1979
California Dreamers
Box 1 Correspondence, publicity, dustjacket 1981
Box 11 Publicity, reviews, etc.
The Criminal Chronicles
Box 2 Typescript (A) 2015 - bound; signed by Bogner
Box 8 Typescript (B) - bound in 3 parts (3 folders)
Box 9 Typescript (C) (4 folders)
Box 9 Feb 5, 2010 Final Draft of The Criminal Chronicles - Post-It note on jewel case says "NB Final Draft April 23, 2010." File formats unknown; when viewed on workstation, CD appeared to be blank ("This folder is empty") (CD) (ID#: bogner_n_001)
The Deadliest Art
Box 2 1st draft undated (2 folders)
Published edition 2001
Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging; please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate this item.
Box 11 Publicity, reviews, etc.
Divorce
Box 2 1st draft 1964-1965 (2 folders)
The Fate of Sandcastles
Box 3 Typescript (A) 2015 - bound; signed by Bogner
Box 9 Typescript (B) undated - noted on title page as "Author's Copy" and signed by Bogner; pp. 1-300 (2 folders)
Box 10 Typescript (B), cont. undated - noted on title page as "Author's Copy" and signed by Bogner; pp. 301-429
Box 10 Typescript (C) undated (3 folders)
Box 10 Typescript (D) undated (3 folders)
The Fox's Teeth
Box 3 Typescript before Sep 2016 - signed by Bogner (4 folders)
Honor Thy Wife
Box 3 Author's draft 2000
Box 4 Author's draft (cont.) 2000
Box 4 Jacket photo 1999
Published edition 1999
Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging; please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate this item.
Box 11 Publicity, reviews, etc.
The Hunting Animal
Published edition 1974
Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging; please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate this item.
In Spells No Longer Bound
Box 4 1st draft 1959
Box 4 Author's copy 1961
Box 4 Jacket photo 1958
The Madonna Complex
Box 4 1st draft 1968
Box 4 Printer's copy with revisions undated
Box 5 Printer's copy with revisions (cont.) undated (2 folders)
Box 5 Galley proof with corrections 1968
Box 5 Galley proof with corrections (cont) 1968
Published edition 1968
Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging; please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate this item.
The Madonna Complex, 2000 revision
Box 5 Notes 1999
Box 5 Author's final draft 1999
Box 6 Author's final draft (cont.) 1999
Box 6 Author's copy with corrections 1999 (2 folders)
Box 6 Corrected proof copy 2000
Box 11 Publicity, reviews, etc.
Making Love
Published copy 1971
Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging; please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate this item.
Box 11 Publicity, reviews, etc.
Seventh Avenue (previously published as Divorce)
Published edition, Corgi 1968
Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging; please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate this item.
Published edition, Dell 1975
Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging; please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate this item.
Spanish Fever
Box 6 1st draft 1961
Box 6 Corrected proof copy 1962
Published edition, Longmans 1963
Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging; please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate this item.
Published edition, New American Library 1968
Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging; please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate this item.
To Die In Provence
Box 7 Original manuscript undated (2 folders)
Box 7 Uncorrected bound manuscript 1998
Box 11 Publicity, reviews, etc. (2 folders)
Plays
Box 7 The Waiters 1967
Screenplays
Box 11 Master of the Signs
Box 7 Privilege circa 1966
Box 11 Privilege - publicity and reviews
Short stories
Box 11 Fragments [this is the actual title of the story]
Box 11 Michael Swap III - notes only
Box 11 Slaughterhouse - includes notes and feedback from a Roger D.
Speeches
Box 11 Book talk
Box 11 Dutton talk
Miscellaneous
Box 11 Fragments and unidentified
Memorabilia
Box 7 Clippings 1967-1987
Oversize 1 Scrapbooks 1968-1981 (6 volumes)
Box 11 Miscellaneous - includes cover of book by Bogner's wife, Felice Gordon

Return to top