Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Saul Blitz Collection of Plastics Patents

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Blitz, Saul.
Title: Saul Blitz Collection of Plastics Patents
Inclusive Dates: 1938-1961
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Collection contains copies of patents from the United States Patent Office for processes, materials and machinery used in creating, shaping & molding plastic; also one folder of correspondence from Arthur Cyr to Saul Blitz about blow molding patents.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Saul Blitz was an American businessman and manufacturer in the plastics industry. In the mid-1950s, Saul Blitz took over TICO Plastics, a division of NOMA (a plastics molding plant that made plastic light shades, decorations and novelty item components to NOMA Lites) in a leveraged buy out. TICO Plastics became financially independent of NOMA Electric Corporation and NOMA Lites Incorporated. The factory continued in operation at 55 West 13th Street in New York City until 1971.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Saul Blitz Collection of Plastics Patents contains copies of patents from the United States Patent Office for processes, materials and machinery used in creating, shaping & molding plastic. It also includes one folder of correspondence from Arthur Cyr to Saul Blitz about blow molding patents.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Patents arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous holdings in the areas of plastics and industrial design. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Blitz, Saul.
Cyr, Arthur.

Corporate Bodies

TICO Plastics.
United States. Patent Office.

Subjects

Blow molding.
Injection molding of plastics.
Plastics industry and trade.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Patents.

Occupations

Industrial designers.
Inventors.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Saul Blitz Collection of Plastics Patents,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from National Plastics Center and Museum, 11/06/2008. Originally, gift of Lesley Blitz, 1999.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: DGI/MM
Date: 2006
Revision history: Feb 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Arthur Cyr to Saul Blitz
Patents
Box 1 1938-1958
Box 2 1959-1961

Return to top