Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Lucille Bergthold Collection of Literacy Material

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Bergthold, Lucille.
Title: Lucille Bergthold Collection of Literacy Material
Inclusive Dates: 1961-1976
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Collection of material relating to the organization California Literacy and to Frank Laubach of Laubach Literacy.
Language: English, Marathi
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Laubach Literacy International (LLI) was founded in 1955 by Dr. Frank C. Laubach to help address the world-wide problem of illiteracy. Dr. Laubach believed that literacy was the "first step toward ending the suffering and exploitation of the world's disadvantaged people." The mission of Laubach Literacy International as stated in the 1989 annual report was "to enable illiterate adults and older youths to acquire the listening, speaking, reading, writing and mathematics skills they need to solve the problems they encounter in daily life; to take full advantage of opportunities in their environment; and to fully participate in the transformation of their society." LLI carried out its literacy mission both in the United States, through its National Affiliation for Literacy Advance (NALA), and internationally, through its International Program.

Lucille Bergthold, the collector and donor of this material, was very active in Laubach Literacy from 1972-1990 in California and was Southwest Regional Chairman of the National Affiliation for Literacy Advance, a organization founded to extend the work begun by Dr. Laubach, from 1975 to 1977.

Bernice Elliot was a missionary to India for forty years (1915-1945). It was she who invited Dr. Frank Laubach to India because she was interested in women learning to read.

May McMillan was the founder and president of California Literacy for many years, and met Dr. Laubach on at least one occasion.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Lucille Bergthold Collection of Literacy Material consists of material relating to Bernice Elliott, missionary to India and advocate for women's education; to the organization California Literacy; and to Laubach Literacy and its founder Frank Laubach.

The Bernice Elliott material includes a clipping about Elliott and her work and several items in the Marathi language.

The California Literacy materal contains newsletters and other printed items put out by the organization.

The Laubach material includes material by and about Dr. Laubach as well as May McMillan's memories of meeting him.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by title or topic.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has extensive holdings relating to literacy and to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index to locate relevant manuscript collections and to SUMMIT, our main catalog to locate printed and cataloged items.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Bergthold, Lucille.
Elliott, Bernice.
Laubach, Frank Charles, 1884-1970.
McMillan, May.

Corporate Bodies

California literacy.
Laubach Literacy, Inc.

Subjects

Adult education -- United States.
Literacy -- California.
Literacy -- India.
Literacy -- Study and teaching.
Marathi language.
Missionaries -- India.

Genres and Forms

Primers (books)
Brochures.
Clippoings (information artifacts)
Newsletters.
Reminiscences.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Lucille Bergthold Collection of Literacy Material,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Lucille Bergthold, 2015.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 27 Mar 2013
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Bernice Elliott material
Box 1 Clippings 1975 - article about Elliott and her work
Box 1 Laubach Literacy primer, in Marathi language undated
Box 1 Life of Christ, in Marathi language undated - from the Gospel of Luke
Box 1 Printed material, miscellaneous undated
California Literacy material
Box 1 Literacy Lights of Southern California 1961-1963, 1966-1967, 1970-1974 - newsletter
Box 1 Southern California Literacy Council 1963-1964 - newsletter
Box 1 Success Stories of California Literacy Inc. 1976?
Laubach Literacy/Frank Laubach material
Box 1 May McMillan's reminiscences re: Frank Laubach undated
Box 1 Newsletters 1965
Box 1 Publications about Frank Laubach - printed brochures
Box 1 Publications by Frank Laubach - printed brochures and booklets
Contains the following items: The Game with Minutes, Literacy As Evangelism, and How to Teach One and Win One for Christ

Return to top