Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Carol Bergé Collection

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Bergé, Carol, 1928-
Title: Carol Bergé Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1962-1964
Quantity: 96 items (SC)
Abstract: Papers of the American poet. Holograph and typescript notes and drafts of 21 poems.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Carol Bergé Collection consist of holograph and typescript drafts of 21 poems.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Bergé, Carol, 1928-

Subjects

American poetry -- 20th century.
American poetry -- Women authors.
Bohemianism -- United States.
Literature, Experimental.
Poets, American.
Women poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Poems.

Occupations

Poets.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Carol Bergé Collection,
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Library

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KM
Date: Jul 1987
Revision history: 14 Sep 2006 - converted to EAD (AMCon); 13 Jun 2007 - changed inventory to SC format (MRC); 2 Nov 2009 - updated title (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Writings
SC 25 "After you left . ." - typescript draft
SC 25 "Concern (for Charles Olson)" - holograph notes and typescript drafts with holograph corrections
SC 25 "For LRJ" - holograph notes and typescript draft with corrections
SC 25 "Hieroglyphs for a cycle of time" - typescript draft and ink drawing
SC 25 "If through the sombre, silent mist of gray . . . " - autographed typescript
SC 25 "In the trees" - typescript drafts with holograph corrections
SC 25 "It is conceivable" - typescript draft
SC 25 "Leather as hide" - typescript drafts with corrections
SC 25 "The love hang" - typescript drafts with holograph notes and corrections
SC 25 "Lovesong for the new year" - typescript drafts with holograph corrections
SC 25 "The man who fooled me" - signed typescript draft
SC 25 "A painting for d.c.r." 2/24/63 - drafts with corrections
SC 25 "The princesses" - typescript drafts with holograph corrections
SC 25 "Reading the Poem" - holograph and typescript drafts with corrections
SC 25 "Scene" dated Mar. 1964 - holograph drafts and typescript carbon
SC 25 "The Unexpected" - typescript drafts
SC 25 "An unfinished poem" - typescript drafts with holograph notes
SC 25 "Using sumi to write italian" dated May, 30, 1962 - typescript drafts, "final"
SC 25 "Viridiana" - holograph and typescript drafts with holograph corrections
SC 25 "The Wind. The Bird" - signed typescript draft
SC 25 "The word 'husband'" - holograph and typescript drafts

Return to top