Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Bell Brothers Collection of Latin American and Caribbean Recordings

An inventory of their collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Bell Music Box
Title: Bell Brothers Collection of Latin American and Caribbean Recordings
Inclusive Dates: 1950-1982
Quantity: 15,300 recordings
Abstract: A subset of the Bell Brothers Collection focusing on Latin American and Caribbean musical genres.
Language: Majority of the material is in Spanishbut other languages are represented, including Englishand Portuguese
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Joseph and Max Bell established the Bell Music Box record shop in Manhattan, New York City following World War II. The brothers were Russian immigrants, who spent time in Cuba before coming to America. While in Cuba, they took an interest in Spanish language recordings as well as the music of the Caribbean. Their store was known to record aficionados and collectors nationwide and was comprehensive in its breadth -- if they did not have a copy of a particular recording, they would make their own. As a result, their inventory contained both commercially produced and sold recordings, and personal copies made for their own reference and use.

In 1963, Syracuse University purchased the entire inventory of the Bell Brothers' store. Commercial recordings were integrated into the Belfer Commercial Phonograph Disc Recordings. Latin American and Caribbean recordings were separated into the Bell Brothers Collection of Latin American and Caribbean Recordings. Noncommercial recordings were retained as the Bell Brothers Collection.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Bell Brothers Collection of Latin American and Caribbean Recordingscontains over 15,000 recordings from Latin American artists from North, Central, and South America as well as Cuba and other Caribbean islands. This (primarily) 45-rpm collection of Caribbean and Caribbean-derived musics covers the historical development of the whole gamut of Caribbean musics, and contains examples of many musical genres including: rancheras, meringues, boleros, porros, guarachas, valses, pasillos, chachachás, pachangas, merecumbés, aguinaldos, seises fajardeños, plenas, tango-boleros, pasodobles, mambos, guaguancós, sones montunos, charangas, guajira sones, plechangas, calypsos, bossa novas, bombas, bembés, seises jíbaros, tangos, paseos, danzones, seises milongas, huapangos, canciones, polkas, and salves.

Recordings issued after 1963 were acquired separately through a combination of gifts and purchases but were added to this collection based on content and format similarity.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Lacquer disc copies of commercial recordings remain in original order. Commercial items are in label name and catalog number order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Researcher access to the recordings requires advance notice in order to produce a working copy.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The discs in this collection are part of an ongoing digitization project. For access to digitized items please see The Bell Brothers Collection of Latin American and Caribbean Recordingsin SCRC Online, our digital portal.

Commercial recordings in this collection have been sent to cataloging. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Bell, Joseph.
Bell, Max.

Corporate Bodies

Bell Music Box.

Subjects

Aguinaldos.
Boleros.(Music)
Bossa nova (Music)
Calypso (Music)
Charango music.
Cumbia (Music)
Cumbia (Music)
Danzones (Music)
Guaguancos (Music)
Guajira.
Guarachas (Music)
Huapangos (Music)
Mambos (Music)
Merengue (Dance)
Milongas (Music)
Pachangas (Music)
Pasillos (Music)
Paso dobles (Music)
Plenas.
Polkas.
Popular music -- 1971-1980.
Popular music -- Cuba -- 1961-1970.
Popular music -- Mexico -- 1961-1970.
Porros.
Protest songs -- Puerto Rico.
Rancheras.

Genres and Forms

45 rpm records.
78 rpm records.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Bell Brothers Collection of Latin American and Caribbean Recordings,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

The majority of this collection was acquired by purchase from the Bell Brothers in 1963.

Recordings issued after 1963 were acquired separately through a combination of gifts and purchases but were added to this collection based on content and format similarity.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: PJM
Date: 24 Jul 2017
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Note on alternate formats:

The discs in this collection are part of an ongoing digitization project. For access to digitized items please see The Bell Brothers Collection of Latin American and Caribbean Recordingsin SCRC Online, our digital portal.

Lacquer copies, 45 rpm
The Bell Brothers were collectors of rare recordings. If they could not acquire a released copy of a recording, they would often make instantaneous copies or dubs of the original recording on a lacquer disc.
Box 1 Adamo - Tu Nombre, Un Mechon de Cabello, La Noche ; Quiero, Mi Gran Noche, Ella undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer with plain white sticker labeled with typewritten text plus small circle sticker with number. (7" lacquer disc/acetate) (ID#: latin_amer_028)
Box 1 Aires de Cadiz Solea - Sabicas ; Madrid - Bobby Capo undated Soundcraft seven-inch metal recording disc with paper label around center hole with handwritten notes. (7" lacquer disc/acetate ) (ID#: latin_amer_042)
Box 1 Antonio Molina - Adios a Espana ; Cantina undated Soundcraft seven-inch metal recording disc with paper label around center hole with handwritten notes. (7" lacquer disc/acetate ) (ID#: latin_amer_023)
Box 1 Antonio Molina - El Agua del Avellano ; A La Sombra de un Bambu undated Soundcraft seven-inch metal recording disc with paper label around center hole with handwritten notes. (7" lacquer disc/acetate ) (ID#: latin_amer_029)
Box 1 Antonio Molina - Mar Blanca ; Soy El Cante undated Soundcraft seven-inch metal recording disc with paper label around center hole with handwritten notes. (7" lacquer disc/acetate ) (ID#: latin_amer_032)
Box 1 Antonio Molina - Yo Quiero Ser “Matador” ; Maria de Los Rene Dios undated Soundcraft seven-inch metal recording disc with paper label around center hole with handwritten notes. (7" lacquer disc/acetate ) (ID#: latin_amer_036)
Box 1 Argentinita - El Fandango Del Candil ; Andaluza undated Audiodisc brand seven-inch metal recording disc with black lacquer and paper label with handwritten notes. (7" lacquer disc/acetate ) (ID#: latin_amer_027)
Box 1 Arriento Surcos Folkloricos Morenada Huayno ; Tu Eres Mi Pslomits Oscar Grajeda Cueca undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer with plain white sticker labeled with typewritten text plus small circle sticker with number. (7" lacquer disc/acetate) (ID#: latin_amer_005)
Box 1 Cancion Del Ole - Balerias ; Dos Cruces - Bolero Moreno undated Audiodisc brand seven-inch metal recording disc with black lacquer and paper label with handwritten notes. (7" lacquer disc/acetate ) (ID#: latin_amer_038)
Box 1 Carlos Montoya - Alegrias (Guitar) ; Media Granaina (Guitar) undated Soundcraft seven-inch metal recording disc with paper label around center hole with handwritten notes. (7" lacquer disc/acetate ) (ID#: latin_amer_044)
Box 1 Carlos Montoya - Se Villan Stipicas ; Tarantas (Guitar) undated Soundcraft seven-inch metal recording disc with paper label around center hole with handwritten notes. (7" lacquer disc/acetate ) (ID#: latin_amer_039)
Box 1 Con Fold Tarijeno - Amanacaya Cueca ; Corazon Cueca undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer with plain white sticker labeled with typewritten text plus small circle sticker with number. (7" lacquer disc/acetate) (ID#: latin_amer_012)
Box 1 Cueca Con Folk Tarijen - A Moto Mendez ; La Chulupia undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer with plain white sticker labeled with typewritten text plus small circle sticker with number. (7" lacquer disc/acetate) (ID#: latin_amer_003)
Box 1 El Carambelito - Ritmo Carambe ; La Pistolera - Corrido undated Audiodisc brand seven-inch metal recording disc with black lacquer and paper label with handwritten notes. (7" lacquer disc/acetate ) (ID#: latin_amer_045)
Box 1 El Zapatero - Balerias ; Besame - Farruca undated Audiodisc brand seven-inch metal recording disc with black lacquer and paper label with handwritten notes. (7" lacquer disc/acetate ) (ID#: latin_amer_025)
Box 1 G. Butikofer y R. Cordova - Manchaypuito (Folk Nacional) ; Gran Mosaico (Folk Nacional) undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer without labels on the disc, just a small circle sticker with number; label with typewritten text is applied to the plain white paper sleeve. (7" lacquer disc/acetate ) (ID#: latin_amer_057)
Box 1 Gladys Moreno - El Carretero Taquirari ; Para Que Cueca undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer with plain white sticker labeled with typewritten text plus small circle sticker with number. (7" lacquer disc/acetate) (ID#: latin_amer_010)
Box 1 Gladys Moreno - Huerfana Virginia Cueca ; A Cotoca Carnaval undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer with plain white sticker labeled with typewritten text plus small circle sticker with number. (7" lacquer disc/acetate) (ID#: latin_amer_006)
Box 1 Guillermo Butikofer - Illimina (Tango) ; Fiesta Oriental Guapuru (Bolivia) undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer with plain white sticker labeled with typewritten text plus small circle sticker with number. Fania Records, Inc. sleeve. (7" lacquer disc/acetate) (ID#: latin_amer_001)
Box 1 Hansel And Gretel (EP) undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer with plain white sticker labeled with typewritten text plus small circle sticker with number. (7" lacquer disc/acetate) (ID#: latin_amer_030)
Box 1 Juan Legido - De Pies a Cabeza Copla y Oracion ; Los Consejos de La Gente - Clavelitos J Legi(?) undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer with plain white sticker labeled with typewritten text plus small circle sticker with number. (7" lacquer disc/acetate) (ID#: latin_amer_043)
Box 1 Lola Flores - Isabel (Asturiana) ; Tu Nochecita (Zambra) undated Soundcraft seven-inch metal recording disc with paper label around center hole with handwritten notes. (7" lacquer disc/acetate ) (ID#: latin_amer_035)
Box 1 Lola Flores - Salero (Pasodoble) ; Aquel Juramento undated Soundcraft seven-inch metal recording disc with paper label around center hole with handwritten notes. (7" lacquer disc/acetate ) (ID#: latin_amer_041)
Box 1 Los Cunumis - Holgazan Taquirari ; No Mas No Mas Llorar (Taquirari Bolivian) undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer with plain white sticker labeled with handwritten text plus small circle sticker with number. (7" lacquer disc/acetate) (ID#: latin_amer_016)
Box 1 Los Cunumis - Vena Mi (Carnaval) ; Pa Que Pa Que (Taquirari) undated Audiodisc brand seven-inch metal recording disc with black lacquer and paper label with handwritten notes. (7" lacquer disc/acetate ) (ID#: latin_amer_017)
Box 1 Los Davalos - Al Pie del Misti (Vals) ; La Chica Que Me Quier (Marinera) undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer with plain white sticker labeled with typewritten text plus small circle sticker with number. (7" lacquer disc/acetate) (ID#: latin_amer_018)
Box 1 Los Davalos - Con Locura (Vals) ; Gente Morena (Marinera) undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer with plain white sticker labeled with typewritten text plus small circle sticker with number. (7" lacquer disc/acetate) (ID#: latin_amer_014)
Box 1 Los Dos Caminantes - A Bolivia Cueca ; Moto Mendez Cueca undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer with plain white sticker labeled with typewritten text plus small circle sticker with number. (7" lacquer disc/acetate) (ID#: latin_amer_007)
Box 1 Los Dos Caminantes - Selecion de Bailecitos ; Sed de Amor Cueca undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer with plain white sticker labeled with typewritten text plus small circle sticker with number. (7" lacquer disc/acetate) (ID#: latin_amer_009)
Box 1 Los Fronterizos - La Salorencina (Cueca Boliviana) ; Pollerita Colorada (Huaino) undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer with plain white sticker labeled with typewritten text plus small circle sticker with number. (7" lacquer disc/acetate) (ID#: latin_amer_013)
Box 1 Los Genios - Lima Lima (Vals) ; Nita (Vals) undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer with plain white sticker labeled with typewritten text plus small circle sticker with number. (7" lacquer disc/acetate) (ID#: latin_amer_020)
Box 1 Los Jairas - Copacabana (Huayno) ; Cuarguara de Carangas (Huayno) undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer with plain white sticker labeled with typewritten text plus small circle sticker with number. (7" lacquer disc/acetate) (ID#: latin_amer_021)
Box 1 Los Peregrinos - Diablada Tradicional ; Jenecheyru Carnaval undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer without labels on the disc, just a small circle sticker with number; label with typewritten text is applied to the plain white paper sleeve. (7" lacquer disc/acetate ) (ID#: latin_amer_052)
Box 1 Los Peregrinos - Jenecheyru Taquirari ; Diablada Tradicional Diablada undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer with plain white sticker labeled with typewritten text plus small circle sticker with number. (7" lacquer disc/acetate) (ID#: latin_amer_004)
Box 1 Los Peregrinos - Naranjita (Bolivianas) ; Rie Corazon (Musica de Bolivia) undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer without labels on the disc, just a small circle sticker with number; label with typewritten text is applied to the plain white paper sleeve. (7" lacquer disc/acetate ) (ID#: latin_amer_053)
Box 1 Los Peregrinos - Naranjita Huano ; Acuarela Bolivian Potpourri undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer with plain white sticker labeled with typewritten text plus small circle sticker with number. (7" lacquer disc/acetate) (ID#: latin_amer_002)
Box 1 Los Peregrinos - Pollerita (Musica de Bolivia) ; Borrachito Corazon (Musica de Bolivia) undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer without labels on the disc, just a small circle sticker with number; label with typewritten text is applied to the plain white paper sleeve. (7" lacquer disc/acetate ) (ID#: latin_amer_056)
Box 1 Mauro Nunez - Chuquesaquenito (Huayno) ; Los Antiplanicos - Cacharpaya del Indio (Huayno) undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer with plain white sticker labeled with typewritten text plus small circle sticker with number. (7" lacquer disc/acetate) (ID#: latin_amer_015)
Box 1 Nina de los Peines - Peteneras ; Sevillanas #2 undated Soundcraft seven-inch metal recording disc with paper label around center hole with handwritten notes. (7" lacquer disc/acetate ) (ID#: latin_amer_050)
Box 1 Noche De Ronda - Bolero Tango ; Lo Han Vieto Con Otra - Tango undated Audiodisc brand seven-inch metal recording disc with black lacquer and paper label with handwritten notes. (7" lacquer disc/acetate ) (ID#: latin_amer_026)
Box 1 Pepe Blanco - Magnetismo (Zambra) ; A Mi Serrana (Pasadoble) undated Soundcraft seven-inch metal recording disc with paper label around center hole with handwritten notes. (7" lacquer disc/acetate ) (ID#: latin_amer_040)
Box 1 Pepe Blanco - Se Llamo Rosa ; De “Caiz” Al Puerto undated Soundcraft seven-inch metal recording disc with paper label around center hole with handwritten notes. (7" lacquer disc/acetate ) (ID#: latin_amer_031)
Box 1 Raphael - A Pesar de Todo ; No Tengo No Tengo undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer with plain white sticker labeled with typewritten text plus small circle sticker with number. (7" lacquer disc/acetate) (ID#: latin_amer_047)
Box 1 Raphael - Cuando Tu No Estas ; No Vuelvas undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer with plain white sticker labeled with handwritten text plus small circle sticker with number. (7" lacquer disc/acetate) (ID#: latin_amer_051)
Box 1 Raphael - Que No Me Despier Te Nadie ; Inmensidad undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer with plain white sticker labeled with typewritten text plus small circle sticker with number. (7" lacquer disc/acetate) (ID#: latin_amer_046)
Box 1 Raphael - Te Voy A Contar mi Vida ; Llevan undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer with plain white sticker labeled with typewritten text plus small circle sticker with number. (7" lacquer disc/acetate) (ID#: latin_amer_024)
Box 1 Raphael - Vuelve a Empezar ; Poco a Poco undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer with plain white sticker labeled with typewritten text plus small circle sticker with number. (7" lacquer disc/acetate) (ID#: latin_amer_033)
Box 1 Raphael - Yo Soy Aquel ; Cuando Tu No Estas undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer without labels on the disc, just a small circle sticker with number; label with typewritten text is applied to the plain white paper sleeve. (7" lacquer disc/acetate ) (ID#: latin_amer_055)
Box 1 Recuerdos de Paraguay ; Recuerdos de Dulzur Los Paraguayos undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer with plain white sticker labeled with typewritten text plus small circle sticker with number. (7" lacquer disc/acetate) (ID#: latin_amer_008)
Box 1 Rosita Romero - Que Linda Que es La Vida Baion ; Mala Femmena (Cancion Italiana) undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer without labels on the disc, just a small circle sticker with number; label with typewritten text is applied to the plain white paper sleeve, and song titles are handwritten in the disc’s inner ring. (7" lacquer disc/acetate) (ID#: latin_amer_054)
Box 1 Sabicas - Recuerdo a Linares ; Fandango del Albaicin undated Soundcraft seven-inch metal recording disc with handwritten notes on the paper label. (7" lacquer disc/acetate) (ID#: latin_amer_011)
Box 1 Sabicas y Escuderu - Improvisacion ; Sevillanas Corraleras undated Soundcraft seven-inch metal recording disc with paper label around center hole with handwritten notes. (7" lacquer disc/acetate ) (ID#: latin_amer_049)
Box 1 Si vas a Catalayud - Cancion ; Me Gusta Mi Novio - Pasodoble undated Audiodisc brand seven-inch metal recording disc with black lacquer and paper label with handwritten notes. (7" lacquer disc/acetate ) (ID#: latin_amer_037)
Box 1 Solera Gaditana ; Camino del Monte undated Soundcraft seven-inch metal recording disc with paper label around center hole with handwritten notes. (7" lacquer disc/acetate ) (ID#: latin_amer_048)
Box 1 Susan ; My Fair Lady 12/16/1956 Philco Safety Record, metal base - slow burning. (7" lacquer disc/acetate) (ID#: latin_amer_058)
Box 1 Trio Paraguay - Ende Que Te Vi ; Jorge Valdez - Pena India undated Disc with metal base and black lacquer with plain white sticker labeled with typewritten text plus small circle sticker with number. (7" lacquer disc/acetate) (ID#: latin_amer_019)
Box 1 Trio Vegabajeño (F. Alvarez) - Punto ; La Nieve de Mis Años undated Audiodisc brand seven-inch metal recording disc with black lacquer and paper label with handwritten notes. (7" lacquer disc/acetate ) (ID#: latin_amer_034)
Box 1 unlabeled RCA Victor Phonogram undated RCA Victor Phonogram, blue-green “flexidisc,” unlabeled but appears to have content recorded onto it. (7" lacquer disc/acetate ) (ID#: latin_amer_059)
Box 1 Wynonie Harris - Blood Shot Eyes ; C. Boswell - Smoke Gets In Your Eyes undated Soundcraft seven-inch metal recording disc with paper label around center hole with handwritten notes. (7" lacquer disc/acetate ) (ID#: latin_amer_022)

Return to top