Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Bell Brothers Collection

A description of the Collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Bell Brothers Records
Title: Bell Brothers Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1910-1960
Quantity: 30,000 items
Abstract: Collection consists of approximately 30,000 commercial and non-commercial recordings, including 78RPM, 45RPM, and 33RPM disc records, along with recordings on reel to reel tapes.
Language: Majority of material is in English, also some items in Spanish and Portugese.
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Bell Brothers ran a record store in Syracuse, NY. The 1963 purchase of their collection by Professor Walter Welch provided the foundation for the Belfer Audio Archive.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Bell Brothers Collection consists of approximately 30,000 disc records and reel to reel tapes, both commercial and non-commercial.

Commercial items include 78RPM, 45RPM, and 33RPM disc records. The 45RPM discs are noteworthy for the inclusion of a large number of Latin American records.

Non-commercial items comprise 78 and 33RPM instantaneous disc recordings, many of them transcription discs of radio broadcasts.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Commercial recordings have been integrated into the appropriate Belfer collection, and are shelved by record company and record number. Non-commercial items are shelved by genre.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the Belfer 45 rpm Collection and Belfer LP Collection, which also include material relevant to the Bell Brothers Collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Bell Brothers Records.

Subjects

20th century American music.
American popular music.
Jazz -- United States.
Music -- United States.
Radio advertising.
Radio broadcasting.
Sound recordings.

Genres and Forms

45 rpm records.
Long-playing records.
Tape reels.
78 rpm records.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Bell Brothers Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1963.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: BMF
Date: 5 Mar 2015
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

This collection has not yet been processed and is accessible by special permission only. Please contact the repository listed above for further information.

Return to top