Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Belfer 78 rpm Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Belfer 78 rpm Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1890-1954
Quantity: 195,455 items.
Abstract: Commercially produced 60 to 80 RPM recordings. Sizes include 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 9.5, 10, 11 and 12 inch. The vast majority of the collection is comprised of 10 and 12 inch 78 RPM recordings released by American record companies.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Belfer 78 rpm Collection consists of 60 to 80 RPM recordings, in 5", 6", 7", 8", 9", 9.5", 10", 11" and 12" sizes. The collection holds 195,455 titles on individual records and in multi-record album sets. When counted individually the collection holds over 500,000 records containing over 800,000 individual tracks. Since the founding of the collection in 1962, it has specialized in preserving the recordings of Thomas Edison. The collection contains 4,000 Edison Diamond Discs.

The recordings include instrumental music, popular, opera, novelty, vocal performances and spoken word in many languages, though English is the most frequently represented language. Among the 5-to-9.5 inch discs there are early recordings prepared for the 1909 World's Fair. While the collection encompasses a cross section of classical, popular and spoken word recordings from around the world, the focus of the collection is on Edison Diamond Discs and American popular music record labels.

Approximately 88% of the collection has been cataloged and may be located by searching the Classic Catalog . The remaining items (approximately 21,000 10" and 12" recordings) are not currently searchable by the public. However, if the researcher can supply the record company name and record number, staff can search our in-house database to determine whether we have the item.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is divided into 3 groups by size: 10", 12" and 5-to-9.5". Within that, they are shelved by accession number.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Researcher access to the recordings requires advance notice in order to produce a working copy.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Subjects

20th century American music.
American history through music.
American popular music.
Contemporary American music.
Music -- United States.
Sound recordings.

Genres and Forms

78 rpm records.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Belfer 78 rpm Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchases and gifts, various sources, various years.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 9 Sep 2010
Revision history: 20 Jun 2011 - removed label list (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

An inventory has not been created for this collection. Approximately 88% of the collection has been cataloged and may be located by searching the Classic Catalog . The remaining items (approximately 21,000 10" and 12" recordings) are not currently searchable by the public. However, if the researcher can supply the record company name and record number, staff can search our in-house database to determine whether we have the item.

Return to top