Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Henry M. Beach Adirondack Camp Photographs

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Beach, Henry M., 1863-1943.
Title: Henry M. Beach Adirondack Camp Photographs
Inclusive Dates: Undated
Quantity: 53 items.
Abstract: Noted Adirondack photographer. Collection contains 53 photographs of camps in the Adirondacks region of New York State, including Old Forge, Saranac Lake, Big Moose, Raquette Lake, more.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Henry M. Beach (1863-1943) was a prolific and accomplished upstate New York photographer who documented the North Country during the first quarter of the twentieth century. Adirondack Vernacular: The Photography of Henry M. Beach, a collection of his work, was published by Syracuse University Press in 2003.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Henry M. Beach Adirondack Camp Photographs consists of 53 photogaphs of camps in the Adirondacks region of New York State. Areas represented include Big Moose, Raquette Lake, Saranac Lake, Old Forge, Star Lake, Utica and more. The photos are panoramic prints approximately 9" by 36".

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Beach, Henry M., 1863-1943.

Subjects

Cities and towns -- New York (State) -- Adirondack Mountains Region -- Photographs.
Hunting lodges -- Photographs.

Places

Adirondack Mountains (N.Y.) -- Photographs.
Old Forge (N.Y.) -- Photographs.
Raquette Lake (N.Y.) -- Photographs.
Saranac Lake (N.Y.) -- Photographs.

Genres and Forms

Photographs.

Occupations

Photographers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Henry M. Beach Collection of Adirondack Camp Photographs,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 2004.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 12 Apr 2010
Revision history: 24 Jan 2011 - added item-level inventory (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Adirondacks region photographs
Map-Case 77 Adirondack League Club, Little Moose Lake, Old Forge, New York 1914 - Slightly different view than print that is titled 32-1/2" x 6" (ID#: PHB 01-006-359)
Map-Case 77 View of Sunset Camp on Raquette Lake, Raquette Lake, New York 1914 28" x 6" (ID#: PHB 02-005-119)
Map-Case 77 Large panoramic view of Fulton Chain of Lakes, Old Forge, New York 1911 43-3/4" x 6" (ID#: PHB 03-006-364)
Map-Case 77 View of Sunset Camp on Raquette Lake, Raquette Lake, New York 1914 26-3/4" x 6" (ID#: PHB 04-005-123)
Map-Case 77 Panoramic view of village of Deferiet, Deferiet, New York 1910 - Several houses along with post office and general store 36-1/4" x 6" (ID#: PHB 05-005-360)
Map-Case 77 Taken from veranda of Grand View Hotel looking east, Lake Placid, New York 1912 38-1/2" x 6" (ID#: PHB 06-005-362)
Map-Case 77 Mountain view of Eagle Bay and Inlet, Fourth Lake, Old Forge, New York 1911 28-1/4" x 6" (ID#: PHB 07-006-389)
Map-Case 77 Unidentified at this point, but is early paper mill on river, Possibly Deferiet, New York? 1910 42" x 6" (ID#: PHB 08-005-390)
Map-Case 77 Upper Saranac Lake, New York 1912 - Copyright Deposit; H. M. Beach; February 19, 1912 41" x 6" (ID#: PHB 09-012-365)
Map-Case 77 Old Forge, New York 1914 32-1/2" x 6" (ID#: PHB 10-008-140)
Map-Case 77 Close up of heart shaped garden, main drive at Kamp Kill Kare, Lake Kora, New York 1914 22-3/4" x 6" (ID#: PHB 11-005-143)
Map-Case 77 View from lake of walking bridge to Kamp Kill Kare, Lake Kora, New York 1914 38-3/4" x 6" (ID#: PHB 12-007-366)
Map-Case 77 View of Saranac Inn across lake, Upper Saranac Lake, New York 1911 26-1/4" x 6" (ID#: PHB 13-005-149)
Map-Case 77 Bird's eye view of Fulton Chain of Lakes, Old Forge, New York 1911 - Copyright Deposit; H. M. Beach; July 18, 1911 42-1/2" x 6" (ID#: PHB 14-005-152)
Map-Case 77 Excellent panoramic view from lake of main camp, boathouses and cabins, Big Moose, New York 1914 36-1/2" x 6" (ID#: PHB 15-006-155)
Map-Case 77 Resort Hotel and Casino, Long Lake, New York 1914 27-1/2" x 6" (ID#: PHB 16-007-317)
Map-Case 77 Close up view of main camp and boathouses at Dart's Camp with what, Big Moose, New York 1914 - Appears to be Bill Dart with his dog and cat standing near Dart's Lake shore 38-1/4" x 6" (ID#: PHB 17-006-161)
Map-Case 77 Lake Placid, New York 1912 28-3/4" x 6" (ID#: PHB 18-007-166)
Map-Case 77 Panoramic view of Grand View Hotel looking southeast, Lake Placid, New York 1912 - Copyright Deposit; H. M. Beach; February 19, 1912 41" x 6" (ID#: PHB 19-006-172)
Map-Case 77 View from mountain of lake with two gentleman relaxing after 1914 - Possibly carrying H. M. Beach's Panoramic Camera up mountain 44" x 6" (ID#: PHB 20-008-367)
Map-Case 77 View of Upper Saranac Lake with Wawbeek buildings to right and Wawbeek launch on lake, Upper Saranac Lake, New York 1912 - Copyright Deposit; H. M. Beach; February 19, 1912 33-1/2" x 6" (ID#: PHB 21-014-368)
Map-Case 77 Close up view from lawn of original Seventh Lake House and boats on Seventh Lake, Inlet, New York 1911 - Copyright Deposit; H. M. Beach; July 18, 1911 25-1/4" x 6" (ID#: PHB 22-09-322)
Map-Case 77 Close up of main camp and boat house with Mr. & Mrs. Henry Covey on lawn, Big Moose, New York 1911 - With guide boat on Big Moose Lake and three gentlemen in background 32" x 6" (ID#: PHB 23-009-401)
Map-Case 77 Close up of Glennmore Hotel with steamer "Big Moose" leaving dock, Big Moose, New York 1911 - Copyright Deposit; H. M. Beach; September 11, 1911 40" x 6" (ID#: PHB 24-006-195)
Map-Case 77 Close up of Glennmore Hotel with people on porch, horses, carriages and early car, Big Moose, New York 1911 - Copyright Deposit; H. M. Beach; September 11, 1911 40-1/4" x 6" (ID#: PHB 25-00-199)
Map-Case 77 Close up view of Lake Placid Club boathouses, Lake Placid, New York 1912 39-3/4" x 6" (ID#: PHB 26-006-204)
Map-Case 77 Close up view from lake of Kamp Kill Kare bridge and buildings, Lake Kora, New York 1914 31" x 6" (ID#: PHB 27-005-209)
Map-Case 77 Veranda of Grand View Hotel looking east, Lake Placid, New York 1912 - Copyright Deposit; H. M. Beach; February 19, 1912 36" x 6" (ID#: PHB 28-005-212)
Map-Case 77 View of mountains from grounds of Grand View Hotel with , Lake Placid, New York 1912 - Groves of trees and baseball grounds labeled 42" x 6" (ID#: PHB 29-006-218)
Map-Case 77 Camps, man in boat, docks on Fourth Lake, Old Forge, New York 1913 40-1/4" x 6" (ID#: PHB 30-007-402)
Map-Case 77 Third Lake, Old Forge, New York 1911 - Copyright Deposit; H. M. Beach; July 18, 1911 29-1/4" x 6 (ID#: PHB 31-008-370)
Map-Case 77 Shoreline and lake view, Star Lake, New York 1911 31-3/4" x 6" (ID#: PHB 32-005-230)
Map-Case 77 Large panoramic view of the Fulton Chain of Lakes, Old Forge, New York 1911 39-1/2" x 6" (ID#: PHB 33-009-374)
Map-Case 77 View of main camp, boathouse and cabins overlooking Dart's Lake, Big Moose, New York 1914 36-1/2" x 6" (ID#: PHB 34-007-328)
Map-Case 77 Political Rally, August 21, 1912, James Sherman, Vice President, Utica, New York 1912 - Under Taft giving campaign speech 32-1/2" x 6" (ID#: PHB 35-005-240)
Map-Case 77 View of buildings and lake from lawn at Kamp Kill Kare, Lake Kora, New York 1914 30-3/4" x 6" (ID#: PHB 36-007-392)
Map-Case 77 Formerly located on the West Side of Stillwater Reservoir 1914 29-1/4" x 6" (ID#: PHB 37-011-403)
Map-Case 77 Looking to East over Mirror Lake, Lake Placid Club on far shore, Lake Placid, New York 1912 26-1/4" x 6" (ID#: PHB 38-010-394)
Map-Case 77 View from lawn showing hotel, pines, lawn, tennis court and drive, Lake Placid, New York 1912 - Copyright Deposit; H. M. Beach; February 16, 1912 40-3/4" x 6" (ID#: PHB 39-008-372)
Map-Case 77 Main lodge and cabins on Big Moose Lake, Big Moose, New York 1911 - Copyright Deposit; H. M. Beach; September 21, 1911 35-3/4" x 6" (ID#: PHB 40-009-377)
Map-Case 77 Panoramic view from mountain of Big Moose Lake, Big Moose, New York 1914 33-1/4" x 6" (ID#: PHB 41-009-396)
Map-Case 77 View of and from the veranda, Lake Bonaparte, New York 1910 - Excellent panoramic view of The New Hermitage Hotel 36-1/4" x 6" (ID#: PHB 42-008-380)
Map-Case 77 Upper Saranac Lake, New York 1912 20-3/4" x 6" (ID#: PHB 44-005-275)
Map-Case 77 View of Lake Placid Club, Lake Placid, New York 1911 20-1/4" x 6" (ID#: PHB 45-017-398)
Map-Case 77 Close up of buildings at Kamp Kill Kare, Lake Kora, New York 1914 10" x 6" (ID#: PHB 46-005-287)
Map-Case 77 Group of people overlooking Fourth Lake from Rocky Mountain, Old Forge, New York 1911 23-1/4" x 6" (ID#: PHB 47-007-292)
Map-Case 77 Close up view of Kamp Kill Kare gardens, Lake Kora, New York 1914 13-1/2" x 6" (ID#: PHB 48-005-295)
Map-Case 77 Close up view of greenhouse and gardens with gardener working at Kamp Kill Kare, Lake Kora, New York 1914 17-1/2" x 6" (ID#: PHB 49-005-298)
Map-Case 77 Looking East over Mirror Lake, Lake Placid, New York 1911 16-1/4" x 6" (ID#: PHB 50-006-400)
Map-Case 77 Saranac Inn, Upper Saranac Lake, New York 1911 18-1/2" x 6" (ID#: PHB 51-006-383)
Map-Case 77 View from mountain of Eagle Bay, Fourth Lake, Old Forge, New York 1911 17-3/4" x 6" (ID#: PHB 52-007-381)
Map-Case 77 View of Buttermilk Falls on Raquette River, New York 1914 20-1/4" x 6" (ID#: PHB 53-008-385)
Map-Case 77 Ogdensburg State Mental Hospital, Ogdensburg, New York 1910 13-3/4" x 6" (ID#: PHB 54-005-386)

Return to top