Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Georgeanna Batts Friendship Album

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Batts, Georgeanna.
Title: Georgeanna Batts Friendship Album
Inclusive Dates: 1845-1851
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: friendship album with floral decorations
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known about the creator of this album. The ownership of Georgeanna Batts is assumed because the fly leaf of the album is signed with her name and multiple poems therein are directly dedicated to her.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Georgeanna Batts Friendship Album is a single volume. The cover title reads "Scriptural Album with Floral Illustrations." It is clothbound and gold stamped containing handwritten poetry or scripture verses from different hands. Some pages have been decorated with feathers, dried or paper flowers. The place names in the album refer to places in New Hampshire and Massachusetts.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Batts, Georgeanna.

Subjects

Poetry -- Women authors.
Female friendship.

Places

Massachusetts -- History -- 1775-1865.
New Hampshire -- History -- 1775-1865.

Genres and Forms

Albums (books)

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Georgeanna Batts Friendship Album,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1960.

Originally acquired from Syracuse University's Library School as the Children's Literature Study Collection.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: SM
Date: 27 Jun 2017
Revision history: 20 Jul 2017 - aquisition information updated (SM)

Return to top

Inventory

Album
SC 806 Georgeanna Batts Friendship Album Feb 1845-Oct 1851 - The cover title of the album reads "Scriptural Album with Floral Illustrations."

Return to top