Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Mildred L. Batchelder Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Mildred Batchelder Collection
Inclusive Dates: circa 1962
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Two items relating to Batchelder's book, The Children's World of Books.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Mildred Batchelder (1901-1988) was an American librarian and author, and an energetic advocate for children's literature and services. The Mildred L. Batchelder Award, given each year to the publisher of the most outstanding children's book translated into English, is named for her.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Mildred Batchelder Collection consists of two items relating to Batchelder's book The Children's World of Books.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Batchelder, Mildred L., 1901-1998.

Subjects

Children's literature.

Genres and Forms

Broadsides (notices)
Promotional materials.
Prospectuses.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Mildred L. Batchelder Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 7 Feb 2018
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Printed material
SC 818 Promotional material for "The Children's World of Books" circa 1962 - small prospectus with information about the book; illustrated broadside with quote from book

Return to top