Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Halsey V. Barrett Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Barrett, Halsey V.
Title: Halsey V. Barrett Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1938-1981
Quantity: 6 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers contain clippings, correspondence, photographs, and political memorabilia from Halsey V. Barrett as well his small film collection. Halsey V. Barrett was co-founder of the American Television Society, an early sales executive for the Columbia Broadcasting System and a key member of the Television Plans Board for the 1952 and 1956 Eisenhower presidential campaigns. Extent of coverage varies.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Halsey V. Barrett was co-founder of the American Television Society, an early sales executive for the Columbia Broadcasting System and a key member of the Television Plans Board for the 1952 and 1956 Eisenhower presidential campaigns. In the 1980s he was president of Special Situations Ltd., a business brokerage in New York. He served in World War II and is the author of Experiences Aboard the First Ship Sunk In the D-Day Invasion of France.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Halsey V. Barret Papers consists of the personal papers amd memorabilia of the American television executive. Correspondence-subject files includes Columbia Broadcasting System (CBS), Federal Communication Commission (FCC), National Broadcasting Corporation (NBC), the Eisenhower TV Plans Board, photographs, mailing lists, clippings, an essay entitled "The Influence of Television on the 1952 Election," and an "I LIKE IKE" official Eisenhower delegate hat. Films are 16mm reels and include episodes of Cavalcade of America, This is Your Music, and others.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

This collection has been only minimally processed and the inventory below is an incomplete box listing.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has a number of television-related collections. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Barrett, Halsey V.
Eisenhower, Dwight D. (Dwight David), 1890-1969.

Corporate Bodies

American Television Society.
Columbia Broadcasting System, inc.

Associated Titles

Cavalcade of America.
This is your music.

Subjects

Advertising, political -- United States.
Political campaigns.
Television broadcasting -- United States.
Television in politics -- United States.

Genres and Forms

16mm.
Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Photographic film (photographic materials)
Photographs.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Halsey V. Barrett Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Halsey V. Barrett.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: unknown
Revision history: 20 Aug 2013 - minor format fixes (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence-subject files
Box 1 American Television Society (2 folders)
Box 1 Color TV
Box 1 Columbia Broadcasting System (6 Folders)
Box 1 Daytime TV
Box 1 DuMont
Box 1 Dunla (?), Orrine
Box 1 FCC 8736, 8975, 8976, 9175 1949
Box 1 FCC 6780 / Promulgation of Rules and Regulations 1945
Box 1 FCC 7896 / Hearings
Box 1 General Television Committee for Pooled Coverage of Republican and Democratic National Conventions 1948
Box 1 Gould, Jack
See also New York Times.
Box 1 NARTB [National Association of Radio and Television Broadcasters]
Box 1 National Association of Radio Station Representatives
Box 1 NBC
See also Sarnoff, David.
Box 1 New York Times
See also Gould, Jack.
Box 1 R.C.A.
Box 1 Sarnoff, David
See also NBC.
Box 1 Satellite TV
Box 1 Society of Motion Picture Engineers, Inc.
Box 1 Television Broadcasting Association (2 folders)
Box 1 Television Bureau of Advertising, Inc.
Box 1 United States Television Manufacturing Corporation
Box 2 Marketing
Box 2 Writings - articles by Barrett
Box 2 Clippings about Halsey V. Barrett
Eisenhower TV Plans Board
Box 2 Confidential memos
Box 2 [General] 1956
Box 2 Witting, Chris J.
Box 2 [General] (2 folders)
Box 2 "Agenda" Jack Denove Productions
Box 2 Dinner invitations
Box 2 Photographs
Box 2 Telecast November 1969
Box 2 The Influence of Television on the 1952 Election
Box 2 Television Planning in the 1952 Eisenhower Campaign
Box 2 Television Conference & Exhibition - Television Broadcasters Association
Box 2 New Directions for Television - Television Talk
Box 2 Maps - Television Stations Across the United States (1951-52 Broadcasting article) January 28, 1952
Box 2 Mailing lists
Box 2 List of potential TV speakers
Box 2 Clippings 1938-1942, 1944-1952, 1956, undated (19 folders)
Box 2 CBS Color TV - clippings
Box 2 Correspondence 1947, 1951-1953, 1955-1956, 1958-1959, 1981 (9 folders)
Box 3 "I LIKE IKE" campaign hat
Films
Cavalcade of America
Box 5 Crazy Judah
Box 4 The Hostage
Box 5 A Man's Home Part 1
Oversize 1 Margin for Victory
The Marine Who Was 200 Years Old Jan. 4, 1955 (3 copies)
Box 5 Night Call Dec. 8, 1954 (2 copies)
Box 4 The Ship That Shook the World
Box 5 Take Off Zero
Box 4 That They May Live
Box 4  Young Andy Jackson
Oversize 1 The Christophers: A Link in the Chain
Oversize 1 Modern Romances 10/12/56
Box 5 Smyrna Incident (U.S. Navy)
Box 5 Steve Donovan Texas Ranger
This is Your Music
Box 4 Academy Awards (3 copies)
Box 4 Latin American Show - #13
Box 4 Gay Nineties

Return to top