Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

P. T. Barnum Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Barnum, P. T. (Phineas Taylor), 1810-1891.
Title: P. T. Barnum Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1876-1880
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter and postcard from American showman and circus entrepreneur P. T. Barnum.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

P. T. Barnum (1810-1891) was an American showman, author, publisher, politician and businessman. He is best known for creating the Barnum & Bailey Circus, "The Greatest Show on Earth," which toured for more than a century from 1871 to 2017.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The P. T. Barnum Collection consists of two items of correspondence, a letter and a postcard. The letter was written during his tenure as Mayor of Bridgeport, Connecticut and is on mayoral letterhead.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Barnum, P. T. (Phineas Taylor), 1810-1891.

Subjects

Entertainers -- United States.
Mayors -- United States.

Places

Bridgeport (Conn.)

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

P. T. Barnum Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 7 Feb 2018
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
SC 813 Miscellaneous 1876, 1880

Return to top