Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Wendell B. Barnes Papers

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Barnes, Wendell B. (Wendell Burton), 1909-1985.
Title: Wendell B. Barnes Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1958-1959
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Administrator of the Small Business Administration. Collection contains correspondence, printed material, genealogical material.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Wendell B. Barnes (1909-1985) was an American attorney and businessman, and one of the first administrators of the United States Small Business Administration (1952-1959).

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Wendell B. Barnes Papers consists of one letter, one printed item, and several pages of genealogical material.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Barnes family.
Barnes, Wendell B. (Wendell Burton), 1909-1985.
Eisenhower, Dwight D. (Dwight David), 1890-1969.
Fulton, James G. (James Grove), 1903-1971.
Jenkins family.
Thurman family.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Small Business Administration.

Subjects

Small business -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Genealogies (histories)

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Wendell B. Barnes Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Wendell B. Barnes, circa 1964.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 9 Sep 2010
Revision history: 6 Aug 2020 - processed (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Miscellany
SC 860 Miscellaneous items related to Wendell Barnes 1958-1959 - copy of letter from White House on Barnes' retirement from the SBA; copy of Congressional Record with James G. Fulton's remarks on the SBA; several pages of typed genealogical material on Barnes, Jenkins, and Thurman family

Return to top