Finding Aids
printer friendly version

O. T. Barck Historical Lithograph and Manuscript Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Barck, Oscar Theodore, Jr., 1902-1993.
Title: O. T. Barck Historical Lithograph and Manuscript Collection
Inclusive Dates: undated
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Collection of engravings, lithographs, prints, etc. depicting American historical and literary figures and American historical events, and a small amount of historical manuscript material.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Oscar Theodore Barck (1902- ) was a professor of American history at Syracuse University, the author of several books on the subject, and a collector of prints and engravings depicting important American historical and literary figures and events.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The O. T. Barck Historical Lithograph and Manuscript Collection consists of engravings, lithographs, prints, etc. depicting American historical and literary figures and American historical events. Subjects range from the American Revolution (e.g., Battle of Long Island, tearing down of the statue of King George III, capture of Fort Ticonderoga), presidents of the United States, American authors (e.g., James Fenimore Cooper, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Washington Irving, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow), and locations (e.g. Mount Vernon, Christ Church in Alexandria, Old Witch House in Salem). There is also a small amount of historical manuscript material -- deeds, indentures, commissions, etc.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Original order, as received from donor.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Barck, Oscar Theodore, Jr., 1902-1993.

Subjects

American literature.
Authors, American -- Pictorial representations.

Places

United States -- History -- Revolution, 1775-1783 -- Pictorial representations.
United States -- History.

Genres and Forms

Deeds.
Engravings.
Financial records.
Indentures.
Lithographs.
Newspapers.
Prints.
Wills.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

O. T. Barck Historical Lithograph Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of O. T. Barck, 1969, 1971.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 8 Nov 2010
Revision history: 9 Dec 2016 - inventory added (MRC/PRB)

Return to top

Inventory

Action engravings
1. Major Andre making caricatures of American officers - reproduction of a painting
2. The capture of Major John Andre - reproduction of a painting
3. The capture of Andre - engraving
4. Capture of Andre - engraving
5. Capture of Andre
6. Last moments of Major Andre
7. Major Andre, von drey America nern angehalten zu Tarrytown am 23ten September 1780
8. The unfortunate death of Major Andre
9. Treason of Arnold
10. Harvey Birch's warning [ ] Wharton
11. Tearing down statue of George III
12. Battle of Long Island
13. Miss McCrea taken by the bandits
14. Battle of Saratoga. Gen. Arnold wounded in the attack on the Hessian redoubt
15. Saratoga, battleground at Stillwatter [sic]
16. Mrs. Schuyler firing her cornfields on the approach of the British
17. Storming of Stony Point
18. Capture of Fort Ticonderoga
19. Capture of Fort Ticonderoga
20. Capture of Fort Ticonderoga
21. Capture of Fort Ticonderoga
22. Incident in Cherry Valley - Fate of Jane Wells
23. Indian massacre at Wilkes-Barre
24. Massacre of Wyoming
Group portraits
1. General Horatio Gates ; Brigadier-General Philip van Cortlandt - photogravures
2. Washington ; Tho. [ ] Warton ; Wolfe ; Walcot ; West
3. Washington and Harvey Birch
4. Our presidents misc.
5. The presidents of our great republic
6. Jefferson ; Adams, J. ; Monroe ; Washington ; Madison ; Jackson
7. The presidents of the United States
8. The presidents of the United States
9. The presidents of the United States
10. The presidents of the United States
11. Washington ; Glive ; Hastings
12. L'Amerique
13. The New York Mirror
14. A portrait gallery
15. Bishops
Portraits
1. Washington Allston
2. Major John Andre
3. John Andre ; Albert [ ] [ ]euthal - print
4. Mrs. Benedict Arnold and child, nee Margaret Shippen - portrait
5. Der Americanische Gener. Arnold
6. Arnold, General de l'armee Americanine
7. Le General Arnold
8. George Bancroft - painting
9. Benedict Arnold
10. Barlow, J.
11. Bryant, William Cullen
12. Lt. Gen. Burgoyne
13. Chevalier de Chastellux
14. DeWitt Clinton - material prints
15. Sir Henry Clinton K.B.
16. Sir Henry Clinton
17. General James Clinton
18. J. Fenimore Cooper - painting
19. J. Fenimore Cooper
20. J. Fenimore Cooper
21. R. Waldo Emerson
22. William Floyd of New York 1734-1821
23. Peter Francisco - painting
24. General Horatio Gates - reproduction pencil drawing
25. Fitz Greene Halleck - reproduction painting
26. Hamilton - reproduction painting
27. Hamilton - reproduction painting
28. Alexander Hamilton - print
29. Alexander Hamilton - reproduction print
30. Alexander Hamilton
31. Alexander Hamilton - reproduction print
32. Alexander Hamilton
33. Alexander Hamilton
34. Alexander Hamilton
35. H. Hamlin
36. J. Hancock
37. Oliver Wendell Holmes
38. Washington Irving
39. Washington Irving - reproduction print
40. Washington Irving - reproduction painting
41. T. Jefferson - photogravures
42. Wm. Johnson - negative, three prints
43. M. le M. de La Fayette
44. John Laurence
45. Robert R. Livingston
46. Henry W. Longfellow - reproduction painting
47. Henry W. Longfellow
48. Malher
49. Sam J. B. Morse - reproduction painting
50. J. Lothrup Motley
51. Valentine Mott
52. John Paulding - reproduction painting
53. John Paulding
54. W. Peale - reproduction painting
55. N. H. Prescott - reproduction painting
56. N. Rochester
57. Comfort Sands
58. Maj. Gen. Phillip Schuyler - reproduction print
59. Philip Schuyler Esq.
50. William H. Seward - reproduction print
51. William H. Seward
52. Lydia Huntley Sigourney
53. W. Gilmore Simms
54. Gilbert Charles Stuart
55. Gilbert Charles Stuart
56. Maj. Gen. Sullivan
57. Maj. Gen. John Sullivan
58. Brig. Gen. Anthony Wayne
59. Isaac van Wart
60. David Williams
61. Daniel Webster
62. Daniel Webster
63. Daniel Webster
64. Daniel Webster
65. Noah Webster - reproduction painting
66. Hon. Gideon Welles
67. William White - reproduction painting
68. Eli Whitney
69. W. P. Willis
70. Martha Wilson
71. John Greenleaf Whittier
72. William Wirt
73. Maj. Gen. John E. Wool
Artwork, miscellaneous
1. Souvenir of 1876
2. Souvenir of 1876
3. [house with trees]
4. [house with trees]
5. [church with trees]
6. Old Swedes Church
7. Mount Vernon, the home of Washington
8. Christ Church, Alexandria
9. Arlington Heights near Washington
10. Last of the old witch house, Salem, Massachusetts
11. The house of David Burnes, standing in 17th St., Washington
12. The monument of Major Andre
13. A letter of B. Arnold - reprint
14. Facsimile of Major Andre's miniature
15. Plan des forts, batteries et poste de West Point 1780
16. Route of Andre
Documents
Deed, Woodbridge NJ 7 Apr 1672
Deed 7 Jun 1676
Fictitious military order with spurious signature of G. Wsahington, Cambridge 10 Jul 1775
Certificate from Peter Van der Lyn, Surgeon to Regiment of Levies 6 Sep 1786
Note to Gen. James Clinton, New Windsor 13 Nov 1776
Note to James Clinton from surgeon in Col. Graham's regiment 24 Jul 1778
Morning report of Capt. James Hasbrouck's company, under command of Gen. James Clinton 24 Oct 1775
Two reciepts to Timothy Pickering 1783
Certificate to Gen. James Clinton 22 Feb 1787
Notice of public freeholders of town of New Windsor 18 Apr 1796 - one of the signers is Robert Burnett, believed to be the last surviving officer of the Revolution and related to Moses DeWitt Burnet
Letter to Benson Lossing, Washington 4 Sep 1775
Order for arrest, signed by Henry Livingston, Poughkeepsie 5 Jan 1776
Order for arrest 23 May 1740
Animadversions etc. by Stephen East 1779 - printed by Samuel Loudon at Fishkill
Envelope containing colonial currency
Receipt signed by Samuel Loudon 21 Mar 1783
Indenture signed by Loudon 7 Jul 1785
Receipt from Loudon 30 Jan 1783
Account book of Robert Burnet 1800
Bond of Hope temperance pledge and anti-tobacco 1 Sep 1861
IOU to President and Fellows of Yale 4 Jan 1832
Problems of fence viewers of town of New Windsor 13 May 1866 - with revenue stamp
Letter from Camargo, Mexico re Mexican war 11 Aug 1846
Burnet letter from London 15 Aug 1846
Letter to James Clinton from John Cantine 1 May 1782
Gen. Clinton's account 1791
Letter from DeWitt Clinton to brother Charles 19 Nov 1787
Account of articles bought in New York City for Gen. Clinton 28 Apr 1790
Fifty First Anniversary of American Independence, Lake George 4 Jul 1827 - pamphlet
Article on Samuel Loudon by A. J. Wall 1922 - signed reprint
Fleury in the American Revolution y LeRoy Kimball 1935 - signed
The Family Circle 1870-1873 - manuscript of what a farm family (three sisters and a brother) in Orange County did to improve their culture, etc.
Will, signed by Edmund Fanning, New York City 30 Aug 1771
Pension voucher from the office of the Bank of the United States, for Robert Burnett re Revolutioary services 15 Sep 1830
A Pension Claim Lawyer Seeks Business, Nathaniel Hatch, Washington DC 1856
Commissioner of Pensions advises veterans how to make application 1835
Charles Tice, artist, presents a bill 1853
Several insurance policies, mid-nineteenth century
Six newspapers of Revolutionary period and a copy of London packet 1773

Return to top