Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Baptist Society of Pompey, New York Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Baptist Society of Pompey, New York
Title: Baptist Society of Pompey, New York Records
Inclusive Dates: 1799-1943
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Records of the church in Pompey, located in central New York. Collection includes financial, administrative, membership, legal, and printed material as well as three volumes of meeting minutes.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Baptist Society of Pompey Records includes financial, administrative, membership, and legal Church records; related Printed material including a copy of the Church manual and some clippings; and three volumes of Church and Covenant meeting minute books.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Church records are arranged alphabetically by type. Printed material and meeting minute books are arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Baptist Society of Pompey, New York.

Subjects

Baptists -- New York (State) -- Pompey.
Church records and registers -- New York (State) -- Pompey.

Places

New York (State) -- Social life and customs.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Church registers.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Financial records.
Microfilm.
Minutes.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Baptist Society of Pompey, New York Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: ca. 2001
Revision history: 7 Dec 2007 - correction (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Church records
Box 1 Accounts payable 1816-1929
Box 1 Annual reports and letters 1923-1942, undated
Box 1 Attendance record 1933
Box 1 Bank statements 1921, 1923, 1927
Box 1 Blank forms undated
Box 1 Certificates of membership and letter of dismissal 1801-1936
Box 1 Church articles of practice and Church Covenant undated
Confession of sin
Box 1 Pearce vs. Cooley 1816-1823
Box 1 Coats vs. Warren 1818
Box 1 Confession of faith undated
Box 1 Correspondence, incoming 1805-1943
Box 1 Correspondence, outgoing 1805-1929
Box 1 Declaration of Withdrawal 1896
Box 1 Deed 1799
Box 1 Insurance 1927-1928
Box 1 Lane, Elder Benjamin 1819, 1922
Box 1 Legal Matters 1883-1926
Box 1 Minutes 1805-1938, undated (3 folders)
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Box 1 Missionary report 1926
Box 1 Opinion on communion 1822
Box 1 Receipts 1817-1934
Box 1 Reports from neighboring churches 1833, 1838, undated
Box 1 Succession of ministers 1805-1825
Box 1 Treasurer’s report 1846-1933
Box 1 Poems undated
Printed material
Box 1 Baptist Church Manual 1925
Box 1 Church Insurance Association 1892
Box 1 "Country church once more" by W.A. Grange undated
Box 1 Clippings 1915 undated - history of the church building
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1925, undated
Church and Covenant meeting minute books
Volume 1 1805-1835 - Pompey/Delphi Male members, female members, organizational records, Articles of Faith, Articles of Practice, Church Covenant, minutes
Volume 2 1835-1875, 1914, 1934, 1935 - Male members, female members, Articles of Faith and Practice of the Baptist Church, Delphi, Covenant, Accords of the Baptist Church, Delphi, miscellaneous. Also, lists of members from 1914, correspondence from 1934, Baptist church Manual, 1935.
Volume 3 1875-1924, 1916 - Record and property of the First Baptist Church of the Town of Pompey at Delphi, 1875. Articles of Faith and Practice, Covenant, membership, minutes of Covenant meetings, printed article on the Delphi Church building erected in 1916.
Microfilm
Box 1 Microfilm 22 - First Baptist Society, Town of Pompey, Onondaga County, NY

Return to top