Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Henry S. Bannister Collection Relating to Joel Munsell

A description of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Bannister, Henry S.
Title: Henry S. Bannister Collection Relating to Joel Munsell
Inclusive Dates: before 1993
Quantity: 5 linear ft.
Abstract: American amateur bibliographer. Collection consists of research files relating to Albany printer Joel Munsell.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Joel Munsell (1808-1880) was an American printer and antiquarian, and the founder of the Albany, New York, firm which bore his name. He was particularly interested in the history and application of the art of printing; his extensive collection of works on that subject was in part purchased by the New York State Library.

Henry S. Bannister, an alumnus of Syracuse University, was an American amateur bibliographer, particularly interested in early New York State imprints.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Henry S. Bannister Collection Relating to Joel Munsell consists of research files relating to Albany printer Joel Munsell.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The collection originally included a large number of items printed by Munsell, and a few by other New York printers. These were transferred to Rare Books for cataloging; please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items (search on "Gift of Henry S. Bannister").

See also the Joel Munsell Collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Bannister, Henry S.
Munsell, Joel, 1808-1880.

Subjects

Biographers -- United States.
Printers -- New York (State) -- Albany.
Printers -- United States.
Publishers and publishing -- New York (State) -- Albany.
Publishers and publishing -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Research notes.

Occupations

Biographers.
Printers.
Publishers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Henry S. Bannister Collection Relating to Joel Munsell,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Henry S. Bannister, 1993.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 22 Apr 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.

Return to top