Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Back Door Computer Services, Inc. |
| Title: | The Back Door Manual |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1995 |
| Quantity: | 1 volume |
| Abstract: | User manual for The Back Door, a bulletin board system or BBS (an early form of social media) for gay men |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
The Back Door Computer Services, Inc. began its operations in San Francisco on January 17, 1984, as a bulletin board system (BBS - an early form of social media) that connected gay men through the internet. It was originally named the San Francisco T-Room, and allowed members to leave public and private messages. Eventually the company introduced a "back door" that enabled multiple users on the system at the same time. In 1990, the company changed its name to The Back Door. By 1995, The Back Door was operating 64 lines that allowed up to 64 users to communicate with each other simultaneously, a unique prospect in the early days of the internet. As technology advanced, the social network allowed users to play online games as well as exchange messages, photographs, videos, and files. Most, but not all, of the exchanges were sexual in nature. Gay men living with AIDS also connected on the network, an essential service during the height of the AIDS epidemic that severely affected the gay community.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Back Door Manual comprises a user manual for The Back Door bulletin board system (BBS). The user manual is contained in a three-ring binder and divided into nine sections.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
The Back Door Manual,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 2023.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: DTF
Date: 13 Oct 2023
Revision history:
Inventory
| Printed material | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | The Back Door Manual 1995 | ||||||||||
| Sections include: Introduction and Welcome, Membership, Getting Around, E-Mail, Getting the Scoop and Chatting, On-Line Games, Tech Support, and Command Central. Inside the pocket of the binder are four brochures and an invoice. | |||||||||||