Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Gabriel Aubouin Manuscript

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Aubouin, Gabriel.
Title: Gabriel Aubouin Manuscript
Inclusive Dates: circa 1985-1990
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Manuscript of book by chef Gabriel Aubouin, described as "part novel, part autobiography, part traveler's tale"
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Gabriel "Gaby" Aubouin (1946- ) is an third-generation French chef. He was chef de cuisine at the French Embassy in Washington, DC before becoming co-owner (with Lynne and Raymond Campet) of La Brasserie, a French restaurant on Capitol Hill that was a favorite destination for celebrities and politicians. After La Brasserie was sold in 1992 Aubouin became chef de cuisine at the Brazilian Embassy in Washington.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Gabriel Aubouin Manuscript consists of the typescript of a book by Aubouin, described by the author as "part novel, part autobiography, part traveler's tale." The manuscript includes a foreword by Senator Daniel Patrick Moynihan, a friend of Aubouin's. The manuscript is signed and inscribed on the front to an unknown recipient.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Aubouin, Gabriel.

Associated Titles

Blue moon in the kitchen.

Subjects

Cooking, French.
Cooks -- Biography.
Restaurants -- Washington (D.C.)

Places

Washington (D.C.) -- Social life and customs.

Genres and Forms

Cookbooks.
Manuscripts for publication.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Gabriel Aubouin Manuscript,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 14 Feb 2018
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Writings
SC 821 Blue moon in the kitchen (alternate title: Blue moonray in my kitchen) - dot-matrix printout of book manuscript about Aubouin's life and career; includes recipes

Return to top