Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Auburn Prison Riots Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Auburn Prison Riots Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1929-1974
Bulk Dates: 1929
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Photographs and clippings relating to the 1929 and 1970 riots at Auburn Correctional Facility
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The correctional facility in Auburn, New York opened in 1817 and is the oldest continually operating prison in the United States. "The Auburn System" was intended as a new (i.e. tougher) approach to prison, and included policies such as flogging, isolation, lockstep marching, striped uniforms, and rigorously enforced silence. Auburn was the first prison to turn a profit by leasing the labor of its convicts to local manufacturers (products that came out of the Auburn prison factory included nails, barrels, clothing, shoes and boots, carpets, buttons, carpenters' tools, steam engines and boilers, combs, harnesses, furniture, brooms, clocks, buckets and pails, saddle trees, wagons and sleighs, threshing equipment, rifles, and -- at one point -- silkworms and silk). Auburn also has the dubious distinction of being the first prison to install and use the electric chair. Flogging at the Auburn facility was outlawed in 1847 and convict contract labor in 1894. In 1913 Thomas Mott Osborne, mayor of Auburn, was appointed to the newly created State Commission for Prison Reform and, after an undercover stint as an inmate, introduced numerous reforms -- including inmate self-government -- that were later adopted at many other correctional facilities. The prison operates today as the "Auburn Correctional Facility."

The facility has experience several riots and other incidents of violence over the years. Two of the most significant took place in 1929. In July, inmates seized weapons from the prison armory; prison shops were set on fire, six buildings were destroyed, and four prisoners escaped. In December of that same year, the warden and six guards were taken hostage by a group of inmates; Principal Keeper George A. Durnford and eight prisoners were killed in the ensuing violence. These incidents were attributed to overcrowding and to intolerable conditions within the prison due to weather extremes of heat and cold respectively. In November of 1970, inmates took control of the prison and held 50 people -- some guards, others civilian construction workers -- hostage for more than eight hours; although there was significant property damage, there were no fatalities. The incident was attribute to increasing racial tensions and to prisoners' rights being violated.

[Portions of this background adapted from the brochure "Both Sides of the Wall," published by the Cayuga Museum.]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Auburn Prison Riots Collection consists of photographs and clippings related to the 1929 and 1970 riots and to a fire in 1974. The photographs show damage from the incidents, while clippings provide contextual information.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by type of material, and within that by date.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Auburn Prison.

Subjects

Prison riots -- New York (State)
Prisons -- New York (State)

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Photographs.
Scrapbooks.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Auburn Prison Riots Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2020.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 9 Feb 2021
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Clippings
Oversize 1 Riot and aftermath 1970-1971 - scrapbook of pasted-in clippings
Oversize 1 Miscellaneous 1929, 1962, 1974, 1979
Photographs
Oversize 1 Fire damage 1974
Oversize 1 Riot damage 1929 (4 folders)
Oversize 1 Riot damage 1970

Return to top