Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
Official state's and correctional officers' point of view
Prisoners' and supporters' point of view
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | |
| Title: | Attica Prison Uprising Collection |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1935-1977 |
| Quantity: | 1.5 linear ft |
| Abstract: | Printed material about the Attica Prison uprising which took place from Sep 9 - Sep 13, 1971. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: | Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
The Attica Prison Uprising, which took place from Sep 9-Sep 13, 1971, occurred when nearly 1,300 of the 2,000 people incarcerated there rose up against corrections officers in protest of unhealthy, unsafe, and exploitative living and working conditions and occupied the D-Block of the prison. Governor Rockefeller refused to negotiate. Though political pressure forced the state to appoint a committee to engage in talks with the prisoners, the governor ultimately ordered the retaking of the prison on the morning of Sep 13, 1971. State troopers entered the prison in a fog of smoke grenades and tear gas, accompanied by off-duty corrections officers and police carrying personal weapons. Of the 43 men who died during the retaking, the historical record now confirms that at least 39 were killed by the state troopers, yet the number may be higher.
One of the imprisoned persons killed during the uprising was Sam Melville (1934-1971). Melville was associated with the Weather Underground and the Black Panther Party and was romantically involved with new left radical Jan Alpert. In November 1969 he was arrested for a series of bombings against property in New York City, attacking institutions of government and the capital including the criminal courts, Chase Manhattan Bank, United Fruit Company, and Standard Oil. After pleading guilty, Melville was transferred to Attica. There, he began an underground prison publication, Iced Pig, and began to organize imprisoned people to fight for better conditions. He also researched the economics of prison jobs and wrote an essay criticizing prison labor, "Anatomy of the Laundry," which was widely read by people in prison though no known copies of either remain extant. A known radical and leader of the Attica Prison Uprising, Melville was dead by the end of the day on Sep 13, 1971, though numerous witnesses reported seeing him alive after the retaking of the prison, suggesting that his murder may have been a targeted reprisal after the initial violence.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Attica Prison Uprising Collection consists of material reflecting the official (i.e., state and correctional officers) point of view, the prisoners' and their supporters' point of view, photographs, and miscellaneous.
The official state's and correctional officers' point of view includes fact sheets, a flyer, newsletters, newspapers and clippings, and radio transcripts recounting the uprising and its aftermath through statements from the commissioner Russell G. Oswald, the correctional officers involved in the retaking and aftermath of the uprising, and the families of officers killed during the uprising. The radio transcript condemns and vilifies the imprisoned people for their actions and praising the efforts of the on and off duty police officers who retook the prison.
The prisoners' and supporters' point of view contains booklets, flyers, newsletters, and newspapers before and after the uprising, giving a voice to the imprisoned people of Attica Prison. One of the flyers is a protest flyer for Sam Melville’s detainment during his time in jail before his transfer to Attica Prison. The newsletters consist of two special newsletters from the Prisoners Solidarity Committee on Attica and three issues of Midnight Special: Prisoners News published by the National Lawyers Guild (N. Y. chapter) and the Prison Justice Committee. These newsletters give voice to the imprisoned people in the Attica Prison after the uprising.
Photographs document the imprisoned people and the prison conditions during the uprising and its aftermath. The 9 press photos were taken by Cornell Capa and record life during the rebellion, the destructive aftermath of the retaking, and life after the rebellion with one photo from the uprising at the Queens House of Detention the year prior, which many credit as a precursor to Attica. In the aftermath images there are many naked bodies and some deceased individuals.
Miscellaneous consists of a set of 1935 correspondences from the Sullivan County sheriff to the Attica prison warden on the incarcerated people's-produced cell table and seat set with accompanying blue prints, a flying asking questions about the uprising with prisoners' supporters and state officials answering them, and the whistle and name tag of Attica Correctional Officer Duane Hartman.
Arrangement of the Collection
This collection is separated in the official state and correctional officers' point of view and the prisoners' and their supporters' point of view. After these two series are photographs and miscellaneous series. Within each series, items are arranged alphabetically according to type.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Related Material
Book A Bill of No Rights by Herman Badillo and Milton Haynes was transferred to Rare Books for cataloging.
See also the Auburn Prison Riots Collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Attica Prison Uprising Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchased, 2023
Finding Aid Information
Created by: RMH
Date: 5 Oct 2023
Revision history:
Inventory
| Official state's and correctional officers' point of view | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Fact sheets 13 Sep 1971-1 Sep 1972 - give a daily to weekly update in the days, weeks, months, and year after the uprising. | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Flyers undated - asks for contributions to the Attica Family Memorial Fund, a fund for the families who lost police family members in the uprising. | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Newsletters Oct 1971-Jan 1972 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Newspaper and clippings 13-14 Sep 1971, 26 Dec 1971 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Radio transcripts Oct 1971, Feb 1972 - from WBTA station | ||||||||||
| Prisoners' and supporters' point of view | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Booklets 1971, 1977 | ||||||||||
| One booklet, entitled Attica, contains two addresses given at the St. George's Church on Stuyvesant Square in New York City a few days after the uprising, and the other booklet gives an account of the prison, the uprising, and how Attica has changed since the uprising to the publication date, 1977. | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Flyers 1971-1972 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Newsletters Sep 1971, Sep 1972, 1975, undated - newsletters from the Prisoners Solidarity Committee on Attica and Midnight Special: Prisoners News; both discuss the uprising from the imprisoned people's perspective. | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Newspapers 1971 - includes War Behind Walls, rare one-off newspaper in response to the Attica uprising and the murder of George Jackson with contributions from key members of the Black Panther Party. | ||||||||||
| Photographs | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Photographs 1971 - naked imprisoned people and deceased individuals; images during and after the uprising | ||||||||||
| Miscellaneous | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Miscellaneous 1935, circa 1972, undated | ||||||||||
| There is a set of correspondences from the Sullivan County sheriff, Walter Flynn, to the Attica Prison warden, William Hunt, inquiring the price for and shipment of a set of cell table and seats produced by the incarcerated people of Attica Prison with blue prints of cell table and seats; a flyer detailing events about the uprising with comments from the prisons' supporters and the state and correction officers; and the whistle and name tag of Correctional Officer Duane Hartman. | |||||||||||