Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Boris Artzybasheff Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Boris Artzybasheff Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1949-1993
Quantity: 1.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Printed and original artwork from the Russian-American artist painter and illustrator.
Language: English, Russian
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Boris Artzybasheff (1899-1965) was an Russian-American artist, perhaps most widely known for the more than 200 covers of Time magazine he produced between 1941 and 1965.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Boris Artzybasheff Collection contains reproduction and original art, including advertisements, book covers, ink drawings, and more. There are also slides and a few miscellaneous items.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by type or topic.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Artzybasheff, Boris, 1899-1965.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Commercial art.
Commercial artists -- United States.
Illustration of books -- United States -- 20th century.
Illustrators -- United States.
Machinery in art.
Magazine covers.
Painters -- United States.
Russian Americans.
Technology in art.

Genres and Forms

Audiorecordings.
Book illustrations.
Book jackets.
Calendars.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Periodical illustrations.
Photographs.
Reproductions.
Slides (photographs)

Occupations

Artists.
Illustrators.
Painters.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Boris Artzybasheff Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2013.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 4 Apr 2017
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Artwork, original
Oversize 1 Ink drawings (2 items)
Artwork, printed
Oversize 1 Advertisements
Oversize 1 Book covers
Oversize 1 Caribbean paintings portfolio
Oversize 1 Phonodisc album cover, Rachmaninoff
Oversize 1 Miscellaneous - a calendar, two Christmas cards from the Artzybasheffs, an issue of The Linebook, special issue of Time magazine reproducing all its covers, etc.
Photographs
Box 1 Prints - unidentified candid shots
Box 1 Slides 1949, 1952-1953, 1955, 1993 (9 folders)
Eight small boxes of color slides, transferred to archival sleeves, each box kept together and foldered separately. Several of the boxes had post-it notes with contents and date information; these have been preserved and foldered with the appropriate set of slides, but it is not known who provided the information or whether it is accurate. There is also one folder with photocopies of all eight slide box tops and a hand-written list. Most appear to be casual/candid shots.
Miscellaneous
Oversize 1 "Dominick" 01/20/1997 - uncertain; possibly an interview about Artzybasheff (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: artzybasheff_coll_001)
Oversize 1 "Dick Bass" 05/29/1997 - uncertain; possibly an interview about Artzybasheff (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: artzybasheff_coll_002)
Oversize 1 "James Burke" 06/01/1997 - uncertain; possibly an interview about Artzybasheff (1/8 inch audio cassette) (ID#: artzybasheff_coll_003)
Box 1 Miscellaneous - includes brief note from Artzybasheff on his optimism about the human race

Return to top