Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Arents Grand Tour Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Arents, George, 1875-1960.
Title: Arents Grand Tour Collection
Inclusive Dates: circa 1900-1925
Quantity: 6 linear ft.
Abstract: Individual photograph albums pertaining to a particular geographic regions or countries.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

George Arents, Jr. (1875-1960) was an American businessman. He studied at Columbia University and received his master's degree from Syracuse University at the age of 57. His father and great-uncle were founders of the Allen & Ginter Tobacco Company, which later became the American Tobacco Company. In 1922 Arents became a director of the American Tobacco Company and from 1924 he was the treasurer of both the American Machine and Foundry and International Cigar Machinery. He was also a collector of books and other published material relating to tobacco. He and his wife Lena made substantial gifts to Syracuse University; in recognition of their generosity, the department of rare books and special collections at Bird Library was for many years known as the George Arents Research Library.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Arents Grand Tour Collection consists of dozens of small photograph albums pertaining to a particular geographic regions or countries. Countries represented include Algeria, Australia, Cambodia, the U.K., most of Europe, Iceland, Malta, several Scandinavian countries, Tunisia, Turkey, Yugoslavia, and more. Titles given in the inventory below are given exactly as shown on the item.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by country and within that by city.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Arents, George, 1875-1960.
Arents, Lena.

Subjects

Voyages and travels.

Places

Africa -- Description and travel.
Asia -- Description and travel.
Europe -- Description and travel.
North America -- Description and travel.

Genres and Forms

Photograph albums.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Arents Grand Tour Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of George and Lena Arents.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 8 Nov 2010
Revision history: 8 Dec 2016 - inventory added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Algeria
Alger
Alger
Souvenir d'Alger
Souvenir d'Alger
Blida et Gorges de la Chiffa - Blida
Australia
Photographic Pictures - New South Wales
Austria
Erinnerung an des Salzkammergut
Innsbruck
Salzburg
Gisela-Bahn - Salzburg-Kitzbuehl
Tirol und Vorarlberg - Salzburg and the Tyrol
Album von Wien - Vienna
Erinnerung an Wien - Vienna
Das Neue Wien - Vienna
Wien - Vienna
Wien - Vienna
Belgium
Souvenir d'Anvers - Anvers
24 Vues de la ville d'Anvers - Anvers
Bruxelles - Brussels
Souvenir de Bruxelles - Brussels
Souvenir de Bruxelles - Brussels
Cambodia
Le temple d'Angkor-Vath - Angkor-Wat
Croatiasee Yugoslavia
Czechoslovakia
Karlsbad
[untitled] - Prague
[untitled] - Prague
Praha, Prague
Praha, Prague
Denmark
Roskilde Domkirke - Dunkirk
England
Rock's Royal Bedford Cabinet Album - Bedford
The Album of Blackpool Views
Rock's Royal Colchester Cabinet Album - Colchester
Album of London Views
Album of London Views
London Views
The New Album of London
The Royal Album of London Views
Views of London
The Royal Album of Crystal Palace Views - London
Temple - London
Views of Parliament and the Abbey - London
The Album of Manchester Views
Sixpenny Album of Newbury Views
Views of Salisbury
The Album of Torquay Views
Views of Warwick, Kenilworth...
The Royal Album of Windsor Views
The Album of Windsor Views
France
Automobile Trip 1903 - map
Biarritz
Biarritz et St. Jean-de-Luz
Cite de Carcasonne
Souvenir Vallee de Chamonix
Cathedrale de Chartres
Chenonceaux
Cheverny
Chinon
Fontainebleau, Le Chateau
Les Gorges de Loup
Circuit de la Grande Corniche
Excursion de la Grande Corniche
Langeais
Marseille
Souvenir de Marseille
Le Mont St. Michel
Souvenir de Nice et Monte Carlo
Nimes et ses Environs
La Conciergerie - Paris
Expiatory Chapel Louis XVI Square - Paris
Exposition Universelle 1889 - Paris
Hotel des Invalides - Paris
Pantheon - Paris
Sacre-Coeur, Montmartre - Paris
Mon excursion dans les Pyrenees
Mon voyage aux Pyrenees
La Route des Pyrenees
Quimper
Ce qu'etait Reims ce quelle est devenue
Souvenir von Strassburg - Strasbourg
Le circuit des forts: Vaux, Douaumont, ...
Album souvenir Verdun
Versailles
Versailles et les Trianons
Versailles et les Trianons
Germany
Ahrthal
Souvenir von Baden-Baden
Berlin
Berlin
Berlin - photogravures
Ansichten-Album Berlin
Berlin-Potsdam
Berlin-Potsdam
Bremen
Dresden
Ansichts-Album von Edenkoben
Frankfurt
Frankfurt
Album von Frankfurt am Main
Goerbersdorf
Hamburg
Hamburg
Album von Hamburg
Hannover
Heidelberg
Heidelberg: Belten-Klein-Photos
Erinnerung am Herrenchiemsee
Album von Jena
Leipzig
Muenchen - Munich
Album Muenchen - Munich
Nuernberg: 12 ausgewaehlte klein-photos - Nuremberg
Andenken an Nuernberg - Nuremberg
Potsdam
See also Berlin albums. above.
Rhein
Album von Rhein
Rhein Panorama: Coeln-Mainz - Rhine: Cologne to Mainz
Rhein Panorama: Koeln-Mainz - Rhine: Cologne to Mainz
Rhein Panorama: Mainz-Coeln - Rhine: Mainz to Cologne
Neueste Rhein Panorama: Mainz-Coeln - Rhine: Mainz to Cologne
Der Rhein von Mainz bis Coeln - Rhine: Mainz to Cologne
Rothenberg ob der Tauber
Album von Wiesbaden
Wiesbaden
Gibraltar
Gibraltar
Iceland
Native Views of Iceland
Ireland
Album of Ireland
Album of Cork, Blarney and Queenstown
Album Dublin
Italy
Bologna
Firenze Vedute - Florence
Ricordo de Firenze - Florence
Ricordo del Camposanto di Genova - Genoa
Ricordo del Camposanto di Genova - Genoa
Ricordo di Genova - Genoa
Ricordo di Milano - Milan
Ricordo di Milano - Milan
Album-Ricordo di Napoli - Naples
Napoli: 32 vedute - Naples
Ricordo di Napoli - Naples
Napoli - Pompei - Naples and Pompeii
Ricordo di Pompei - Pompeii
Roma - Rome
Ricordo di Roma - Rome
Ricordo di Roma 1927 - Rome
Ricordo di Roma No. 1 - Rome
Ricordo di Roma III - Rome
Siena 20 principali vedute
Ricordo di Venezia - Venice
Ricordo di Venezia - Venice
Ricordo di Venezia - Venice
Ricordo di Venezia - Venice
R.R. Gallerie dell'Accademia Venezia - Venice
Souvenir de l'Hotel d'Italie Bauer Gruenwald - Venice
Ricordo di Verona
Madeira
Madeira
Album da Ilha da Madeira
Souvenir of Madeira No. 1
Malta
Souvenir de Malte
Souvenir de Malte
Souvenir of Malta
Martinique
Fort-de-France Serie 34
Papayers de Presbytere de la Redoubte - Fort-de-France
Monaco
Principaute de Monaco 1907
Netherlands
Souvenir Amsterdam
Souvenir de la Hollande
Haarlem en Omstreken
Great Church of St. Bavo
Marken
Middleburg
Souvenir 'S Gravenhage - The Hague
Volendam
Zeeland
Norway
Bergen
Merok, Geirangerfjord-Djupvand
Skien-Dalen
Poland
Danzig
Erinnerung am Danzig's Umgegend
Portugal
See Spain
Scotland
Cabinet Album Views of Edinburgh
Cabinet Album Views of Edinburgh
Views in the Edinburgh District
Album of Views of Glasgow
Cabinet Album Views of Glasgow
Views of Glasgow: An International Exposition
Dryburgh Abbey - St. Boswell's
Spain
Wanderings in Spain and Portugal, pts. 1 & 2
Barcelona
Malaga
Mallorca - Majorca; includes 14 loose photos
Sevilla II
Sevilla monumental
Recuerdo de Toledo
Sweden
Goeta Kanal - Göta Canal; runs from Gothenburg on the west coast to Söderköping on the Baltic Sea via the river Göta älv and the Trollhätte kanal, through the large lakes Vänern and Vättern
Kronborg Slot - Kronborg Castle
Stockholm
Switzerland
Die Schweiz
Album from Berner Oberland
Oberland Bernois
Souvenir de l'Oberland Bernois
Souvenir de Berne
Ober Engardin
Ragaz-Engadin
Interlaken
Souvenir du Lac des IV Cantons...
Panorama pittoresque du Righi...
Souvenir du Righi
Saechs. Schweiz - Saxon Switzerland
Souvenir de St. Moritz
Tunisia
Carthage
Carthage
Tunis
Tunis Serie I
Tunis Serie I
Tunis Serie II
Turkey
Views of Constantinople No. 1
United States
Picturesque Saratoga [New York]
Saratoga [New York]
Souvenir Saratoga Springs [New York]
Yugoslavia [Croatia]
Fiume e Abbazia - Rijeka and Opatija
Boka Kotorska - Bay of Kotor

Return to top