Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Arents Postcard Collection

An inventoryof the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Arents, George, 1875-1960.
Title: Arents Postcard Collection
Inclusive Dates: circa 1910-1915
Quantity: 2 linear ft.
Abstract: Postcards, almost all from Europe; a few photographs and souvenir items
Language: English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Croatian, Russian, Portuguese
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

George Arents, Jr. (1875-1960) was an American businessman. He studied at Columbia University and received his master's degree from Syracuse University at the age of 57. His father and great-uncle were founders of the Allen & Ginter Tobacco Company, which later became the American Tobacco Company. In 1922 Arents became a director of the American Tobacco Company and from 1924 he was the treasurer of both the American Machine and Foundry and International Cigar Machinery. He was also a collector of books and other published material relating to tobacco. He and his wife Lena made substantial gifts to Syracuse University; in recognition of their generosity, the department of rare books and special collections at Bird Library was for many years known as the George Arents Research Library.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Arents Postcard Collection consists of several hundred Postcards collected and/or sent by George and Lena Arents during their travels in Europe, possibly as part of their Grand Tour or possibly at other times. Most are from European countries but there are a few from other regions, including South America and the Middle East. The vast majority of the postcards were evidently bought as souvenirs and are unused, but a few were sent to friends and family in Syracuse. These contain brief notes from the Arentses about their travels.

The collection also contains a few folders of Non-postcard items, including clippings, handwritten notes, black-and-white photographs, and stamps.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Postcards are arranged alphabetically by country and, within that, by city. Non-postcard items are arranged alphabetically by type of material.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Arents, George, 1875-1960.
Arents, Lena.

Subjects

Voyages and travels.

Places

Europe -- Description and travel.
Middle East -- Description and travel.
South America -- Description and travel.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Photographs.
Postage stamps.
Postcards.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Arents Postcard Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of George and Lena Arents.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 10 Jan 2019
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Postcards
Most of these postcards are from countries in Europe (England, France, Germany, Switzerland, Austria, Spain, Italy), but there are a few from other countries including Morocco, Portugal, Croatia, and Cuba. Some have text in multiple languages. Images on the front include buildings, landscapes, artworks, statues, people, and items of "local color" such as the Procession de Tarasque in Provence (filed under France - Miscellaneous). The images are a mix of black-and-white and color; some are photographs or photographic reproductions while others are artistic illustrations.
Austria
Box 1 Bad Ischl
Box 1 Hallstatt
Box 1 Hofgastein
Box 1 Innsbruck
Box 1 St. Wolfgang
Box 1 Wien (Vienna)
Belgium
Box 1 Brussels
Box 1 Malines (Mechelen; Mechlin)
Croatia
Box 1 Split
Box 1 Trogir
Cuba
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Denmark
Box 1 Oostende (Ostend)
Egypt
Box 1 Cairo
Box 1 Thebes
England
Box 1 Brighton
Box 1 Cambridge
Box 1 Chester
Box 1 Eastbourne
Box 1 Gibraltar
Box 1 Liverpool
Box 1 London
Box 1 Oxford
Box 1 Stratford-on-Avon
Box 1 Wilton
Box 1 Windsor
Box 1 Worthing
Box 1 Miscellaneous
France
Cities
Box 1 Aigues-Mortes
Box 1 Albi
Box 1 Amboise
Box 1 Avignon
Box 1 Bagnères-de-Bigorre
Box 1 Berry-au-Bac
Box 1 Biarritz
Box 1 Blois
Box 1 Bourges
Box 1 Cahors
Box 1 Carcassonne
Box 1 Cherbourg
Box 1 Dijon
Box 1 Gavarnie
Box 1 Langeais
Box 1 Laon
Box 1 Le Puy
Box 1 Loches
Box 1 Lourdes
Box 1 Lyon
Box 1 Marseille
Box 1 Nancy
Box 1 Nîmes
Box 1 Paris
Box 2 Paris (cont.)
Box 2 Pyrenees
Box 2 Reims
Box 2 Rocamadour
Box 2 Rouen
Box 2 Saint-Gilles
Box 2 Saint-Malo
Box 2 Strasbourg
Box 2 Thiers
Box 2 Toulouse
Box 2 Tours
Box 2 Uzès
Box 2 Verdun
Museums and Chateaux
Box 2 Château d'Azay-le-Rideau
Box 2 Château de Chambord
Box 2 Château de Chantilly
Box 2 Château de Chaumont
Box 2 Château de Chenonceau
Box 2 Château d'Ussé
Box 2 L'Hôtel des Invalides
Box 2 Musée de l'Armée, Hôtel National des Invalides
Box 2 Historic Castels
Box 2 Musée des Arts Décoratifs
Box 2 Musée du Louvre
Box 2 Miscellaneous
Germany
Box 2 Aachen
Box 2 Augsburg
Box 2 Bamberg
Box 2 Bayreuth
Box 2 Braunschweig
Box 2 Coblenz
Box 2 Dinkelsbühl
Box 2 Esslingen
Box 3 Freiberg
Box 3 Hannover
Box 3 Heidelberg
Box 3 Herrenchiemsee
Box 3 Hildesheim
Box 3 Köln (Cologne)
Box 3 Leipzig
Box 3 Mainz
Box 3 München (Munich)
Box 3 Neuschwanstein
Box 3 Nördlingen
Box 3 Offenburg
Box 3 Rothenburg
Box 3 Ulm
Box 3 Weisbaden
Box 3 Worms
Box 3 Würzburg
Box 3 Miscellaneous
Greece
Box 3 Athens
Box 3 Rodi (Rhodes)
Holland
Box 3 Miscellaneous
Hungary
Box 3 Budapest
Italy
Box 3 Agrigento
Box 3 Arezzo
Box 3 Assisi
Box 3 Bergamo
Box 3 Bologna
Box 3 Brescia
Box 3 Capri
Box 3 Cremona
Box 3 Faenza
Box 3 Firenze (Florence)
Box 3 Foligno
Box 3 Genova (Genoa)
Box 3 Lago di Como (Lake Como)
Box 3 Lago di Garda (Lake Garda)
Box 3 Mantova (Mantua)
Box 3 Milan
Box 4 Modena
Box 4 Monreale
Box 4 Napoli (Naples)
Box 4 Padova (Padua)
Box 4 Palermo
Box 4 Parma
Box 4 Piacenza
Box 4 Pompeii
Box 4 Ravello
Box 4 Ravenna
Box 4 Riva
Box 4 Roma (Rome)
Box 4 San Remo
Box 4 Siena
Box 4 Siracusa (Syracuse)
Box 4 Spoleto
Box 4 Taormina
Box 4 Tivoli
Box 4 Torbole
Box 4 Torcello
Box 4 Trento
Box 4 Trieste
Box 4 Venezia (Venice)
Box 4 Vicenza
Box 4 Miscellaneous
Luxembourg
Box 4 Miscellaneous
Morocco
Box 4 Miscellaneous
Netherlands
Box 4 Miscellaneous
Portugal
Box 4 Bussaco
Box 4 Cintra
Box 4 Madeira
Box 4 São Miguel (San Miguel)
Republic of San Marino
Box 4 Miscellaneous
Scotland
Box 4 Perth
Spain
Box 4 Burgos
Box 4 Granada
Box 4 Madrid - including the Prado Museum / Museo Nacional del Prado
Box 4 San Sebastián
Box 4 Seville
Box 4 Toledo
Box 4 Miscellaneous
Switzerland
Box 4 Bern
Box 4 Champéry
Box 4 Gemmi Pass
Box 4 Geneva
Box 4 Meyringen [Meiringen]
Box 4 Zürich - includes the Swiss National Museum / Schweizer Landesmuseum
Box 4 Miscellaneous
Miscellaneous
Box 4 Miscellaneous countries
Box 4 Miscellaneous unidentified
Box 5 Miscellaneous unidentified
Non-postcard items
This material was found intermingled with the postcards.
Box 5 Clippings - most stamped on back "Esthetics Society"
Box 5 Notes - handwritten on scraps of paper
Box 5 Photographs, identified - England, France, Germany, etc. (6 folders)
Box 5 Photographs, unidentified
Box 5 Postage stamps from Libya

Return to top