Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Lee Krasner Interviews by Ruth Appelhof

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Appelhof, Ruth.
Title: Lee Krasner Interviews by Ruth Appelhof
Inclusive Dates: 1974
Quantity: .5 linear ft.
Abstract: Ruth Appelhof interviews Lee Krasner, wife of Jackson Pollock, as part of her Master's Thesis research.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Ruth Appelhof is an American art historian and a graduate of Syracuse University. She currently serves as the executive director of Guild Hall, a Museum and Theatre in East Hampton.

Lee Krasner (1908 - 1984) was an American abstract expressionist painter and wife of Jackson Pollock.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Lee Krasner Interviews by Ruth Appelhof consists of two open reel tapes containing an interview with Lee Krasner about Krasner's work in expressionism and her life.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

Access to this collection is restricted in full for a period of ten years from donation (i.e., until 2022).

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Appelhof, Ruth.
Krasner, Lee, 1908-1984.
Pollock, Jackson, 1912-1956.

Subjects

Painters' spouses -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Audiotapes.
Interviews.

Occupations

Painters.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Lee Krasner Interviews by Ruth Appelhof,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Ruth Appelhof, 2012.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: PJM
Date: 21 Mar 2012
Revision history: 26 Apr 2012 - Removed Duplicated Reel From Collection (PJM)

Return to top

Inventory

Interviews
Box 1 Reel 1 1974

Return to top