Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Abel Andrews Account Book

A description of his account book at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Andrews, Abel.
Title: Abel Andrews Account Book
Inclusive Dates: 1809-1834
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Account book kept by Vermont shoemaker and farmer Abel Andrews.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Abel Andrews (d. 1835) was an American shoemaker and farmer from Vermont. He married his first wife, Elizabeth Treworthy, in 1788 and they had nine children (seven surviving into adulthood). After Elizabeth died, Andrews married again to Betsy French Bowers (1782-1846) in 1810 and had another six children.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Abel Andrews Account Book records Andrews' varied financial transaction from 1809 to 1834. The book contains names of customers, lists of items or services purchased, prices, and dates of payment. Many of the entries are related to Andrews' cobbling work, recording payments for making or repairing shoes and boots. Other entries mention transactions for weaving, breaking flax, and other farming chores. Andrews also appears to have kept a bar in the early years of the account book, as many of the first pages list entries for rum, bitters, "flip," and "sling."

One of the back pages of the book (p. 70) contains family records, listing Andrews' children by both of his wives, along with dates of birth, death, and marriage.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center holds financial records from other shoemakers in the Daniel Crosby Account Book and the Dun and Bradstreet, Inc. Collection of Small Business Ledgers

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Andrews family.
Andrews, Abel.

Subjects

Shoemakers -- Vermont.

Places

Vermont -- History.

Genres and Forms

Account books.

Occupations

Shoemakers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Abel Andrews Account Book,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 1968.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: LMD
Date: 8 Feb 2010
Revision history:

Return to top