Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Amorosi Family Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Amorosi family.
Title: Amorosi Family Collection
Inclusive Dates: circa 1930-1940s
Quantity: 2 linear ft.
Abstract: Collection contains pencil drawings of comb designs presumably drawn by George and/or Samuel Amorosi; bound volume of photopies of sketches; and 2 photographs, of George Amorosi and Samuel Amorosi.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Samuel A. Amorosi was born May 9, 1913 in Somerville, MA, the son of George and Marietta (Ciprotti) Amorosi. The family moved to Leominster, MA when Samuel was young. He graduated from the School of the Worcester Art Museum in 1932. In 1936, he married Natalie Altieri, from Fitchburg, and they had one child, Elaine. Natalie was a registered nurse and Director of Nursing Services at Leominster Hospital.

George and Samuel worked at Standard Pyroxoloid Company in Leomister, MA, where they designed mirrors and combs for vanity sets during the 1930s. Samuel went on to become one of the first employees at Banner Mold & Die Company. He worked as a tool and die maker there for 32 years, retiring in 1979. Samuel died of cancer on March 28, 1988.

[Biographical history from type copy at beginning of bound copy of the Amorosi’s comb and mirror designs. This biography was presumably written by a museum employee and the information gathered from Elaine, the donor and daughter of Samuel Amorosi.]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Amorosi Family Collection consists of original pencil drawings of comb designs presumably drawn by George and/or Samuel Amorosi; photocopies of drawings in a green bound volume; and 2 photographs of George Amorosi and Samuel Amorosi.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Drawings were found in no apparent order and no order was imposed.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous holdings in the areas of plastics and industrial design. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Amorosi, George.
Amorosi, Samuel.

Corporate Bodies

Banner Mold & Die Company (Leominster, Mass.)
Standard Pyroxoloid Corporation (Leominster, Mass.)

Subjects

Combs.
Mirrors -- Frames.
Ornamental combs.
Plastics industry and trade.

Genres and Forms

Drawings.
Photographs.

Occupations

Industrial designers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Amorosi Family Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from National Plastics Center and Museum, 11/06/2008. Originally, gift of Elaine Falcone (daughter of Samuel and granddaughter of George Amorosi).

Finding Aid Information

Created by: DGI/MM
Date: 2006
Revision history: Feb 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC); Jun 2009 - updated, photos redistributed (MRC); Jul 2012 - box numbers revised (MBD)

Return to top

Inventory

Drawings
Oversize 3 "Amorosi Mirror Back Designs" - photocopies, bound in green volume
Oversize 1 Pencil drawings of comb and mirror designs (2003.850)
Oversize 2 Pencil drawings of comb and mirror designs (2003.850)
Photographs
Oversize 1 George Amorosi (2003.851)
Oversize 1 Samuel Amorosi (2003.852)

Return to top