Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

American Indian Movement (AIM) Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: American Indian Movement
Title: American Indian Movement (AIM) Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1973-1980
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Printed material relating to the American Indian Movement, a grass-roots organization focused on Native American civil rights
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The American Indian Movement was an activist organization founded in 1968 in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Initially formed to address systemic issues of poverty and police brutality against Native Americans, it expanded to include anti-imperialism, anti-racism, and Native American civil rights. Over the years the group funded, operated, or supported a range of services including employment, health care, culturally-based education, housing, and legal advocacy/support. Notable activities in its early days included participating in the occupation of Alcatraz (1969-1971), the Trail of Broken Treaties march (1972), and the 71-day occupation of Wounded Knee in 1973.

AIM also founded a number of more specialized groups, including the International Indian Treaty Council (IITC) the American Indian Opportunities and Industrialization Center, AIM Street Medics, the American Opportunities and Industrialization Center, the Tokama Institute, Women of All Red Nations (WARN), and a number of "survival schools" focused on reclaiming control over education.

The group split in 1996. The AIM Grand Governing Council (AIMGGC) is based in Minneapolis and still led by founders; while the AIM-International Confederation of Autonomous Chapters is based in Denver, Colorado.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The American Indian Movement (AIM) Collection contains printed material (newsletters, brochures, fliers, etc.) relating to Native American civil rights. Among the topics represented are the 1973 Wounded Knee Incident and legal actions against Native American activists such as Leonard Peltier.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Roughly chronological, but much is undated

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Bad Heart Bull, Sarah.
Bissonette, Pedro.
Means, Russell, 1939-2012.
Peltier, Leonard.

Corporate Bodies

American Indian Movement.
Black Hills Alliance.
Dakota Indians -- History.
Lakota Indians -- History.
National Alliance against Racist and Political Repression (U.S.)
Oglala Indians.

Subjects

Civil rights movements -- United States.
Indian activists -- United States.
Indians of North America.

Places

Pine Ridge (S.D.)
South Dakota -- History.
United States -- Race relations.
Wounded Knee (S.D.) -- History -- Indian occupation, 1973.

Genres and Forms

Brochures.
Fliers (printed matter)
Newsletters.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

American Indian Movement (AIM) Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2020

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 24 Aug 2020
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Printed material
SC 862 Miscellaneous 1973-1980 - newsletters, brochures, fliers, etc. relating to Native American civil rights, particularly the 1973 Occupation of Wounded Knee

Return to top