Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

American Guild of Organists Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: American Guild of Organists.
Title: American Guild of Organists Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1956
Quantity: 5 items.
Abstract: Recordings from the American Guild of Organists' national conference in New York.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The American Guild of Organists (AGO), founded in 1896, is the national professional association serving the organ and choral music fields. The Guild serves approximately 14,700 members in approximately 300 chapters throughout the United States and abroad.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The American Guild of Organists Collection consists of recordings from the National Convention of the American Guild of Organists, held June 25-29, 1956 in New York City. The opening and the recital took place in St. Thomas Church with greetings by President S. Lewis Elmer and officials from the City of New York. Additional information about the event and a photocopy of the opening program with notes are available in the files.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

American Guild of Organists.

Subjects

Music -- Societies, etc.
Organ music -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Long-playing records.
Sound recordings.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

American Guild of Organists Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 30 Jan 2019
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Note on alternate formats:

All recording have been digitized. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.

Recordings
American Guild of Organists, 60th National Convention (disc 1 of 5) 6/25/1956 (Lacquer discs/acetates) (ID#: amer_guild_org_001)
Side A: Official opening by the Organ Guild; Side 1: Organ Recital - Suite No. 2 in four movements by L. N. Clérambault
American Guild of Organists, 60th National Convention (disc 2 of 5) 6/25/1956 (Lacquer discs/acetates) (ID#: amer_guild_org_002)
Organ Recital: Side 2: Symphony No. 2 by Vierne, Choral; Side 3: Symphony No. 2 by Vierne, (Contabile)
American Guild of Organists, 60th National Convention (disc 3 of 5) 6/25/1956 - (Lacquer discs/acetates) (ID#: amer_guild_org_003)
Organ Recital: Side 4: Prelude and Fugue on the name "Alain", Maurice Durufle; Side 5: Symphonique Poeme "Evocation", Marcel Dupre
American Guild of Organists, 60th National Convention (disc 4 of 5) 6/25/1956 (Lacquer discs/acetates) (ID#: amer_guild_org_004)
Organ Recital: Side 6: Tryptique improvisation on given themes: Allegro; Side 7: Tryptique improvisation on given themes: Scherzando
American Guild of Organists, 60th National Convention (disc 5 of 5) 6/25/1956 (Lacquer discs/acetates) (ID#: amer_guild_org_005)
Organ Recital: Side 8: Tryptique improvisation on given themes: Adagio; Side 9: Tryptique improvisation on given themes: Final

Return to top