Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Stewart Alsop Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Alsop, Stewart
Title: Stewart Alsop Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1945-1967
Quantity: 1.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence, notes, manuscripts, speeches and published and unpublished material of Stewart Alsop. Includes interviews with John F. Kennedy, Lyndon B. Johnson and others.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Stewart Johonnot Oliver Alsop (1914-1974) was an American newspaper columnist and political analyst. A graduate of Yale University (1936), he was an editor at Doubleday. After the United States entered World War II, Alsop joined the British Army, because his high blood pressure precluded his joining the United States Army. Later, Alsop was allowed to transfer to the U.S. Army and went to work for the Office of Strategic Services. For his work with the French Resistance, he was awarded the Croix de Guerre with Palm.

From 1945 to 1958, Stewart Alsop was co-writer, with his elder brother Joseph Alsop, of the "Matter of Fact" column for the New York Herald Tribune. Alsop went on to write articles and a regular column for the Saturday Evening Post until 1968, then a weekly column for Newsweek from 1968 to 1974. During this time period, he also wrote a regular column for the New York Times.

In addition to his work as a journalist, he is also the author of several books on politics and journalism.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Stewart Alsop Papers consists of correspondence, printed material, writings and miscellanea. Included in the collection is material related to Alsop's interviews with John F. Kennedy, Lyndon B. Johnson, Dean Rusk and others.

Correspondence consists of correspondence from and to Stewart Alsop.

Printed material contains a clipping of one of Alsop's articles.

Writings consists of notes and drafts, speeches and unpublished manuscripts. Notes and drafts contains Alsop's notes and drafts for a number of his articles, as well as transcripts of interviews he conducted with John F. Kennedy, Lyndon B. Johnson and various others. Also contained are Alsop's notes and briefing information for his trip to Vietnam during the earlier stages of American involvement there.

Miscellaneous contains a press statement from Gordon Dean, a copy of Alsop's passport application and a copy of a Paris directory (undated).

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged alphabetically by format (correspondence, printed material, writings, miscellaneous); correspondence is further arranged chronologically while writings is further arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of a number of journalists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Alsop, Stewart.
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973
Kennedy, John F. (John Fitzgerald), 1917-1963

Subjects

Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962--In mass media -- History -- 20th century.
Journalists -- United States.
Nuclear weapons -- Political aspects.
Nuclear weapons -- Press coverage -- United States -- History.
Press and politics -- United States -- History -- 20th century.
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- Interviews.
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- Press coverage -- United States.

Places

United States -- History -- 1945-1953.
United States -- History -- 1953-1961.
United States -- History -- 1961-1969.

Genres and Forms

Speeches (documents).
Articles.
Correspondence.
Interviews.
Manuscripts for publication.
Research notes.

Occupations

Journalists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Stewart Alsop Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Stewart Alsop, 1966, 1968.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: DL
Date: 9 Jun 2015
Revision history: 9 Jun 2015 - processed (DL)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 [General] 1945-1958 (9 folders)
Box 1 [General] Undated
Printed materials
Box 1 Revolution on Main Street
Writings
Notes and drafts
Box 1 The collapse of Kennedy's grand design 6 Apr 1963
Box 1 Cuba - In time of crisis 8 Dec 1962
Box 2 The great transition 15 Feb 1964
Box 2 President Kennedy's grand strategy 31 Mar 1962
Box 2 The president's next big decision 25 Mar 1967 (2 folders)
Box 2 The trouble with the State Department 3 Mar 1962
Box 2 The White House insiders 10 Jun 1961
Box 2 Miscellaneous
Speeches
Box 2 1953
Box 3 1956, 1960, 1963 (3 folders)
Box 3 Undated
Unpublished manuscript
Box 3 [Untitled] - on hydrogen bomb development
Miscellaneous
Box 3 Miscellaneous

Return to top