Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Dick Allen Papers

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Allen, Dick, 1939-2017
Title: Dick Allen Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1939-2017
Quantity: 9 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence, clippings, writings and memorabilia relating to the American poet, and Connecticut Poet Laureate.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Dick Allen (1939-2017) was an American poet and essayist.

Allen grew up in Round Lake, NY. He received a bachelor's degree from Syracuse University and a master's from Brown. He was recognized many times for his poetry, including the New Criterion Poetry Prize, Connecticut Book Award, Robert Frost Prize, Pushcart Prize, Hart Crane Poetry Prize, and fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Ingram Merrill Foundation. He was influenced by major poets such as Emerson and Robert Frost, as well as by his lifelong study of Zen philosophy. He was Poet Laureate of the State of Connecticut from 2010-2015.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Dick Allen Papers contains manuscripts, correspondence, and other material of the American poet.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact SCRC for more information.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Allen, Dick, 1939-2017

Subjects

American poetry.
Poets laureate -- Connecticut.
Poets, American.

Places

Connecticut -- Intellectual life.

Genres and Forms

Audiocassettes.
Audiotapes.
CD-ROMs.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.
Scrapbooks.
Tape reels.
VHS.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Dick Allen Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Tanya Allen and Lori Allen, 2019.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 15 Feb 2019
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.

Return to top