Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | |
| Title: | Alexandria, VA, Lawyers Papers |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1786-1865 |
| Bulk Dates: | 1786-1834 |
| Quantity: | 2 linear feet (2 document boxes, 1 oversized box) |
| Abstract: | Formerly the George Deneale Papers. Correspondence and legal papers of three American attorneys from Alexandria, Virginia in the late 17th and early 18th centuries. Papers include warrants, property seizures, and property inventories. |
| Language: | Collection materials are in English. |
| Repository: | Special Collections Research Center |
Biographical History
George Deneale was an attorney in Virginia. He was appointed the Clerk of the Circuit Court of the United States for Alexandria County, a position he held from 1801 until his death in 1818. George Deneale is known to have been acquainted with George Washington and James Madison. He was also a militia officer and a Freemason, and was Grand Master of Alexandria-Washington Lodge, No. 22.
George Gilpin was the first judge of the Orphan's Court of Alexandria in 1800 and became the Postmaster of Alexandria in 1809. George Gilpin was also a member of the same Masonic Lodge as George Washington, and was a pallbearer at Washington's funeral.
Edmund J. Lee was a prominent political and legal figure in Alexandria. He was the Clerk of the Circuit Court of the United States for Alexandria County from 1818 to 1840.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Alexandria, VA, Lawyers Papers contains the papers of attorneys from Alexandria, VA during the late 18th and early 19th century. Three lawyers whose papers are prominently featured in the collection are George Deneale, Edmund Lee, and George Gilpin. The collection is comprised of professional papers, personal papers, and miscellaneous contemporaneous printed items. A few items pertain to Freemasonry in Virginia.
Professional documents contains a variety of legal papers, including a certificate of naturalization, estate documents and inventories, fines from the Mutual Assurance Society against Fire on Buildings of the State of Virginia, property seizures, affidavits, and warrants to the US Marshal service.
Personal papers contain correspondence and other personal documents exclusively of George Deneale.
Printed materials from the mid-19th century include pamphlets and other items.
Arrangement of the Collection
Material within each series is divided into folders by document type (ex: warrants, inventories, etc) and, within each folder, arranged chronologically.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Alexandria, VA, Lawyers Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Transfer from Kohen collection, 1963.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 7 Apr 2010
Revision history: 14 Apr 2019 - processed (SU)
Inventory
| Professional documents | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Contracts signed at Alexandria Court 1786-1834 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Contracts signed at Alexandria Court 1804 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Estate documents and inventories 1794-1824 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Estate documents and inventories 1796-1811, undated | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | George Deneale, Clerk indentures 1797-1800 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Legal complaints 1796-1832, undated | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Legal papers 1797-1814 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Legal papers 1801-1827 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Legal papers 1820-1855 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Mutual Assurance Society Against Fire on Buildings 1808 - court motions | ||||||||||
| Orders to the Marshal of the District of Columbia | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Arrest warrants 1790-1812 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Arrest warrants 1812, 1840 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Arrest warrants 1815-1840 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Court summonses 1796-1820 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Debt collection 1802-1844 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Debt collection 1804 | ||||||||||
| Personal papers | |||||||||||
| Box 2 | George Deneale correspondence 1794-1816 | ||||||||||
| Printed materials | |||||||||||
| Box 2 | Miscellaneous 1882-1884 | ||||||||||