Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Dionisio D. Alejandro Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Alejandro, Dionisio D.
Title: Dionisio D. Alejandro Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1912-1962
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the Philippine bishop. Born in 1893, Alejandro was the first native Filipino elected a bishop of the Philippine Islands Central Conference of the Methodist Church (1944). Collection includes manuscript articles, sermons and speeches plus newspaper clippings and periodical articles by Alejandro.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Dionisio Deista Alejandro (1893-1972) was a Filipino Bishop of the Methodist Church, elected in 1944. He was born February 19, 1893 in Quiapo, Manila and his ancestry was Filipino with slight admixture of Chinese. He was baptized in 1906 in San Isidro, Luzon by Bishop G.A. Miller, and studied in the United States as well as in his home country. He joined the Philippine Islands Annual Conference in 1918, was later ordained Deacon, and became the first delegate to the Central Conference of Southern Asia. Prior to his election to the Episcopacy he served as an evangelist, an educator, a pastor and an editor.

Alejandro was elected a Bishop in 1944, during the Japanese occupation of the Philippines, and so was not consecrated until 1946 (i.e., after liberation). He served the Manila Episcopal area and was the presiding bishop of the Philippines and the Northern Philippines Annual Conferences.

He is the author of several articles and books, including A Brief History of the Philippines (1944, in Tagalog and English), A Brief History of Methodism (with F.S. Galvez and D.W. Holton), Why Are We Protestants? (1945). He also translated H.C. Morrison's The Baptism of the Holy Spirit and other pamphlets. His personal statement, "From Roman Catholicism to the Protestant Faith," appears in Voices from Many Lands (1915) and a typed copy resides in the Methodist Bishops' Collection at Southern Methodist University.

[Portions of biographical sketch adapted from "Dionisio Deista Alejandro," Wikipedia, retrieved 30 March 2007.]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Dionisio D. Alejandro Papers contain his writings, in the form of manuscripts and published material.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Manuscripts represents the bulk of the collection (23 folders) and contains undated articles, sermons and speeches, arranged alphabetically by title. Published material consist of a single folder of newspaper clippings and magazine articles by Bishop Alejandro, arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Alejandro, Dionisio D. Archives.

Subjects

Clergy, Philippines.
Methodist Church, Philippines.
Religion and politics, Philippines.

Places

Philippines, Religion.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Sermons.

Occupations

Clergy.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Dionisio D. Alejandro Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Bishop Alejandro, 1967.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01
Revision history: 30 Mar 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Manuscripts
Box 1 Bataan is Methodist
Box 1 The Christian Home is the Answer
Box 1 Conserving Christmas for Man
Box 1 The Development of Adequate Curriculum for Phillipine Sunday Schools
Box 1 The Disciplines of Methodism
Box 1 The Forgotten Significance of Christmas
Box 1 A Great Open Door of Opportunity
Box 1 The Hope Immortality
Box 1 Is the Aglipayan Church Trinitarian?
Box 1 Jesus Christ, the Hope of the World
Box 1 The Kingdom and the Church
Box 1 The Leaven of the Gospel
Box 1 The Man Leonard Wood
Box 1 Negative Mission Influences on Filipino Church Life
Box 1 Personal Integrity
Box 1 Question Box
Box 1 Questions and Answers on Sabbath Keeping
Box 1 Reason Enough to be Grateful
Box 1 Relationship Between the Lectionary and Prophetic Preaching in Worship
Box 1 The Religious Faith of a Great Mason
Box 1 Some Thoughts on Good Citizenship
Box 1 Spiritism Among the Early Filipinos
Box 1 Untitled
Published material
Box 1 Articles 1912-1913, 1915-1925, 1948, 1961-1962, undated

Return to top