Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Michael Aikey New York Imprints Research Files

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Aikey, Michael.
Title: Michael Aikey New York Imprints Research Files
Inclusive Dates: circa 1802-1892 and 1960-1990
Quantity: 2 linear ft.
Abstract: Research files relating to early (17th, 18th and 19th century) New York State printers and publishers, including ephemera and printed material from the era. Indexes, notes, clippings, etc.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Michael Aikey is the Director of the New York State Military History Museum and Veterans Research Center in Watervliet, New York. He is knowledgeable in both New York State military history and New York State printing history.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Michael Aikey New York Imprints Research Files consists of material accumulated by Mr. Aikey over the course of his research on early New York State publishers, printers and printing history in the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries. The collection consists of binders, indexes, subject files, and miscellaneous items; much of it is photocopied material or handwritten notes.

All items retain the titles or headings given by Aikey, where available. Titles supplied during processing for unlabeled items are enclosed in square brackets [ ].

Binders contain material originally in four binders of varying sizes and formats. Material has been removed from the binders but remains in original order. Much of this is photocopies of title pages of early printed books, printouts of catalog entries, and similar reference material.

Indexes and bibliographies consists of an index created by Aikey of names appearing in History of the Press in Western New-York from the Beginning to the Middle of the Nineteenth Century, by Frederick Follett (the full text of this book is available via Google Books), and a set of index cards which appear to be a working bibliography of early New York imprints, with titles and printers/publishers.

Subject files relate primarily to printers in Troy, New York, though some concerns New York generally. Much of this material is photocopied articles from newspapers, magazines, or books.

Miscellaneous items consist of an untitled folder of photocopies and a small photograph album with a printout from a website regarding the Matthews and Lee family genealogies; the first picture in the album is labeled "Samuel C. Dutton." There is also a box of twenty or so assorted manuscripts, business ephemera, and partially printed forms (e.g. indentures) pertaining to printing and publishing in upstate New York.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

All series are arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous manuscript collections relating to printing and publishing. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. In addition, our Rare Books Collection contains numerous examples of early New York imprints, many from the collections of Monsignor Edward J. Byrne, Karl S. Kabelac, and Henry Bannister. Please search the Classic Catalog for these related materials.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Subjects

Book industries and trade -- New York (State) -- History.
Booksellers and bookselling -- New York (State) -- History.
Early printed books.
Printing -- New York (State) -- History.

Places

New York (State) -- Imprints.

Genres and Forms

Bibliographies.
Correspondence.
Indentures.
Indexes (reference sources)
Photograph albums.
Research notes.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Michael Aikey New York Imprints Research Files,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Acquired in conjunction with purchase of Aikey's collection of early New York printed material, 2009.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 17 Sep 2009
Revision history: 30 Jan 2017 - additions, Oversize 1 (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Binders
Box 1 First printing in NYS Communities (2 folders)
Box 1 Troy and Lansingburgh Imprints
Box 1 Vol. 25 (2 folders)
Box 1 [Untitled]
Indexes and bibliographies
Box 2 Index to printers and publishers names in Follett's History of the Press in Western NY. Also editors
Box 2 [Index card file, appears to be working bibliography of early NY imprints with title, publisher, etc]
Subject files
Box 3 McMurtrie "Geneva Imprints (1800-1850)"
Box 3 McMurtrie, Schenectady Imprints
Box 3 Printing history
Box 3 Printing history, Troy, NY
Box 3 Troy bookselling / booksellers
Troy imprints
Box 3 Troy imprints
Box 3 Bibliography
Box 3 Bibliographic printouts holdings
Box 3 Exhibit at RCHS 1996
Box 3 Milton Thomas talks
Box 3 Newspapers
Troy printers
Box 3 Troy printers
Box 3 Printers biographies
Box 3 William Parker Bliss (Troy Post)
Box 3 Robert Moffitt (Northern Budget)
Box 3 Luther Pratt
Box 3 Obadiah Penniman
Box 3 William Wands (American Spy), Sylvester Tiffany
Box 3 Goodenow Stockwell Wright (Troy Gazette) (Rensselaer Bookstore), Thomas Collier, John C. Wright
Box 3 Wall. List of NY Almanacs, 1694-1850
Miscellaneous
Box 3 [untitled folder]
Box 3 [Dutton C. Seymour photograph album] circa 1862
Box 2 Ontario Repository (Canandaigua, NY) MAY 3, 1803 thru APR 16, 1805 (1 reel microfilm)
Oversize 1 Miscellaneous circa 1802-1895 - assorted manuscripts, business ephemera, and partially printed forms (e.g. indentures) pertaining to printing and publishing in upstate New York

Return to top