Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Adult Education Audio and Video Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Syracuse University Publications in Continuing Education
Title: Adult Education Audio and Video Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1952-1995
Quantity: 21 linear ft.
Abstract: Audio and video recordings of a variety of adult education events and topics, including interviews, colloquiums, presentations, lectures, speeches, broadcasts, and more.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The collection of audio and video recordings at Syracuse University began as a project of University College to record the voices of important figures in adult education. It grew to include recordings from the University of Georgia's Mentor I and II programs and Gretchen Bersch's "Conversation on Lifelong Learning" project, as well as Dr. Charters' own personal recollections and collection of tapes. SUPCE publications MSS 37 and 48, "Adult Education Sound and Video Recordings," published in 1992 and 2003, listed most of this material but have been superceded by this finding aid.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Adult education audio and video collection contains audio and video recordings of a variety of adult education events and topics, including interviews, colloquiums, presentations, lectures, speeches, broadcasts, and more. The collection is divided by format. Reel-to-reel recordings include among other things material from the Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions, the "Sing Your America" series from Encyclopedia Britannica, a set of 90+ interviews of adult educators collected by Herbert Hunsaker under the title "Extending the Resources of the University into the community," and "People Under Communism," a series of lectures on the Soviet Union and communism by Merle Fainsod, Alex Inkeles, and Harold Fisher, all of Harvard University. Audiocassettes consists of interviews, addresses, seminars, and more, including 17 interviews of adult educators done by Joseph W. Jacque. U-Matic videotapes contains tapes of two colloquia and a seminar held at Syracuse University in 1980 and 1981. Videocassettes contains recordings of Gretchen Bersch's Mentor I and Mentor II series, interviews with significant figures in the early evolution of adult education as a field. Interviewees include Paul Essert, Herbert Hunsaker, Wilbur Hallenbeck, Cyril Houle, Malcolm Knowles, Phyllis Cunningham, William Griffith, George Aker, Alexander Charters, and more.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is divided by media format and then in numerical order by tape number. Tapes within the boxes may have shifted during transport.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

All of the tapes labeled with "VT" numbers are held by Syracuse University Archives.

Special Collections Research Center has a number of collections related to adult education, both of individuals and organizations. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Adler, Mortimer Jerome, 1902-2001.
Bersch, Gretchen T.
Blakely, Robert J.
Charters, Alexander N.
Essert, Paul L.
Hendrickson, Andrew, 1899-
Houle, Cyril O. (Cyril Orvin), 1913-
Hunsaker, Herbert Cason, 1898-
Knowles, Malcolm S. (Malcolm Shepherd), 1913-1997.
McClusky, Howard Y.
Sheats, Paul H., 1907-

Corporate Bodies

Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions.

Associated Titles

Conversations on lifelong learning (University of Alaska).
Junto 2000.
Mentors I (University of Georgia).
Mentors II (University of Georgia).

Subjects

Adult education teachers -- Interviews.
Adult education.
Citizenship -- Education.
Comparative education.
Continuing education.
Distance education -- United States.
Educators -- United States -- Interviews.

Genres and Forms

Audiocassettes.
Videotapes.

Occupations

Adult education teachers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Adult Education Audio and Video Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Various. Tapes 8900 through 8909, gift of Alex Charters, 2016.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: Alexander Charters, George Abbot
Date: Jun 2003
Revision history: 26 Jan 2009 - Junto additions, VHS (MRC); 9 Apr 2013 - VT tape transfer noted (MRC); 2 Dec 2016 - tapes 8900 through 8911 added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Reel to reel tapes
Box 1 0352-01 The Quantitative Society. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 1 0364-01 The Technological Order. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 1 0365-01 Britain in the Common Market. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 1 0366-01 Malstructure in the Common Market. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (30:00)
Box 1 0367-01 Capitalism and Democracy. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 1 0368-01 Religion in the Schools. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 1 0369-01 The Warless World. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (30:00)
Box 1 0370-01 The Will of Zeus. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 1 0371-01 Educational Bankruptcy. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (30:00)
Box 1 0372-01 India and its Leaders:Two Interviews. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 1 0373-01 The Eichmann Trial and the Rule of Law. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 1 0374-01 The Political Animal. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (55:00)
Box 1 0375-01 On Revolution. Center for the Study of Demo­cratic Institutions. (58:00)
Box 1 0376-01 Zuckerkandl. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (55:00)
Box 1 0377-01 Hutchins on Israel and Europe. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (45:00)
Box 1 0378-01 Psychological Aspects of Nuclear War. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 1 0379-01 Freedom from Myths. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 1 0380-01 A Financier Views the Economic Scene. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 1 0381-01 Two faces of Federalism. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 1 0382-01 Is Wisdom Enough Today? Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 1 0383-01 The Chosen People. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 1 0384-01 South Africa's Racial Problems. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 1 0385-01 A Vision of the End. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (30:00)
Box 1 0386-01 Pension Funds and the Economy. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 1 0387-01 New Nations and World Order. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (75:00)
Box 1 0388-01 The Sources of Labor Power. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 1 0389-01 Technology and the Public Good. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 1 0390-01 The Vision of the Artist. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (40:00)
Box 1 0391-01 "Pacem in Terris": The Pope's Encyclical. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 1 0392-01 Techno1ogy and the Fine Arts. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 1 0393-01 German Catholics and Hitler's Wars. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 1 0394-01 The College: Expectations and Implications. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (45:00)
Box 1 0395-01 The Economic Paradox. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (30:00)
Box 2 0396-01 Alienation and Freedom. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 2 0397-01 Government by Governance. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 2 0398-01 A Visit to the Dominican Republic. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (30:00)
Box 2 0399-01 Education:For What and For Whom? Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (30:00)
Box 2 0400-01 Democracy, Planning, and Participation. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (30:00)
Box 2 0401-01 Concentrations of Private Power. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (30:00)
Box 2 0402-01 The Bill of Rights and the Economic Republic. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (30:00)
Box 2 0403-01 The Responsibilities of Television. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (30:00)
Box 2 0404-01 The Responsibilities of the Press. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (30:00)
Box 2 0405-01 Government and Politics: Strengths and Weak­nesses. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (30:00)
Box 2 0406-01 The Society of the Qualified Man. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (30:00)
Box 2 0407-01 The Prospects for Democracy Around the World. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (30:00)
Box 2 0408-01 The Citizen and Foreign Policy. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 2 0409-01 Communication in a Democracy. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 2 0410-01 America: Liberal or Conservative. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 2 0411-01 Questions About Democracy. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 2 0412-01 No Time for Heroes. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 2 0413-01 Buy Less And Enjoy It. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 2 0414-01 Civil Rights in Israel. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (40:00)
Box 2 0415-01 Who Will Blow the Trumpet? Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 2 0416-01 Black and White in America. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (30:00)
Box 2 0417-01 A Wa1k on the West Side. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (45:00)
Box 2 0418-01 The Jury: Safeguard or Anachronism? Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (45:00)
Box 2 0419-01 Culture in Broadcasting: Do We Really Want It'? Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (30:00)
Box 2 0420-01 Literary Illiterates. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (45:00)
Box 2 0421-010 My America! Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (15:00)
Box 2 0422-01 The Children of Chafetz Chaim. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (30:00)
Box 2 0423-01 No Lamb for Slaughter. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (30:00)
Box 2 0424-01 The Nurture of Human Life. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (45:00)
Box 2 0425-01 The First Amendment: The Schools and Religion. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 2 0426-01 States' Abilities, Not States' Rights. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (30:00)
Box 2 0427-01 The Marble-Cake of Government. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (30:00)
Box 2 0428-01 The Legislator's Eighteen-Hour Day. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 2 0429-01 Government and Politics: Strengths and Weaknesses. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (30:00)
Box 2 0430-01 An "Establishment" of Religion. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 3 0431-01/02 First Things First. Part I and II. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (70:00)
Box 3 0432-01 New Utopias: Looking Backward or Brave New World? Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 3 0433-01 A Socialist Knight at the Center. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (30:00)
Box 3 0434-01 The Anti-Poverty War. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 3 0435-01 Is There a New South? Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (30:00)
Box 3 0436-01 Can There Be a Dialogue Between Christians and Marxists? Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 3 0437-01 Peace Requires Peacemakers. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
0438-01/03 A View From Rome. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions.
Box 3 0438-01 I. The Vatican Council. (50:00)
Box 3 0438-02 II. The Vatican Council. (60:00)
Box 3 0438-03 III. The Decline of Romania. (45:00)
0439-01/03 A View of the Economy. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions.
Box 3 0439-01 I. From a Free-Marketer. (60:00)
Box 3 0439-02 II. From a Democratic Socialist. (60:00)
Box 3 0439-03 III. From a Marxist. (60:00)
Box 3 0440-01 A Look at the Yugoslavian Economy. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 3 0441-01 Science: For Truth or Good? Part I with Helmut Krauch and Part II with Linus Pauling. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 3 0442-01 Forty Million Words. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (30:00)
Box 3 0443-01 Beyond the Smoke-Filled Rooms. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (30:00)
Box 3 0444-01 The Kibbutz Revisited. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (30:00)
Box 3 0445-01 A Visit with the Pau1ings. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (45:00)
Box 3 0446-01/02 Freedom of the Press. Part I and II. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (120:00)
Box 3 0447-01 Reapportioning the States. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 3 0448-01 The Supreme Court as History. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (30:00)
Box 3 0449-01 Has the Court Usurped the Powers of Congress? Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 3 0450-01 The Ethics of Compensatory Justice. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (45:00)
Box 3 0451-01 Beauty for Ashes. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (30:00)
Box 3 0452-01 Winds of Change. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60:00)
Box 3 0453-01 Gains in Mississippi. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (15:00)
Box 3 0454-01 Our Technological Society. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. (60.00)
Box 3 0455-01 "To Turn the Other Cheek." Dr. Ole Holsti, Professor of Political Science at The University of British Columbia, Vancouver. Broadcasting Foundation of America. (23:20)
Box 4 0456-01 "To Turn the Other Cheek." Dr. Lionel Elvin, Director, The Institute of Education, University of London. Broadcasting Foundation of America. (24:00)
Box 4 0457-01 "The Virus of Violence." Alex Haley. Syracuse University.
0458-01/05 Sing Your America Series. Encyclopedia Britannica Films Recording.
Box 4 0458-01 An Old Heritage and a New Country. Early Colonial Songs.
Box 4 0458-02 New Songs for a New Country. Songs of the Revolution and Westward Ex­pansion.
Box 4 0458-03 Songs of the Frontier and Western Trails.
Box 4 0458-04 Americans All. Music of Our Many Heritages.
Box 4 0458-05 Lanes to the World. Songs of the Sailors.
Box 4 0459-01 That a College Education Does not Equip a Woman for Her Role in a Modern World. Colorado Tapes for Teaching. (29:40)
Box 4 0460-01 Education of the Negro. Colorado Tapes for Teaching. (30:00)
Box 4 0461-01 Civil Defense. (Prepare for Survival Series) Colorado Tapes for Teaching. (30:00)
Box 4 0462-01 Civil Defense Today. (Prepare for Survival Series) Colorado Tapes for Teaching. (30:00)
Box 4 0463-01/10 Community Leadership Institute. Estes Park, 1st. July 16-20, 1956
Box 4 0464-01/09 Community Leadership Institute. Estes Park, 2nd. June 30-July 6, 1957
Box 5 0465-01/10 Community Leadership Institute - Bigwin. June 28-Ju1y 10, 1953
Box 5 0466-01/10 Community Leadership Institute - Bigwin. July 12-Ju1y 19, 1954
Box 5 0467-01 A View from Eucalyptus Hill. Hutchings, Robert. Discussion with U.N. Delegates. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. May 1963
Box 5 0468-01 Trade union leaders of the United Auto Workers discuss their problems with Paul Jacobs and W. H. Ferry at the Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions.
Box 5 0469-01 Dennis Heally, Member of the British Parliament and a Member of the Shadow Cabinet for the Labor Party in Charge of Commonwealth Affairs, discusses Britain and the Common Market. Center for the Study of Democratic Institutions. May 1962
0470-01/04 Jazz in Transition
Box 5 0470-01/02 Types of jazz outlined: New Orleans, Swing, Bop, and Progressive.
Box 5 0470-03/04 Styles of jazz outlined.
Box 5 0471-01/97 Extending the Resources of the University into the community. Personal Interviews collected by Herbert C. Hunsaker, Purdue University. 1953-1954
Box 5 0471-01 Roy R. Tompkins; W. S. Bittner.
Box 5 0471-02 W. S. Bittner; Harold Van Cleave; Donald Searcy.
Box 5 0471-03 Van Cleave and Searcy, concl.; Paul H. Sheats.
Box 5 0471-04 Paul H. Sheats, conc1.; L. H. Adolphson.
Box 5 0471-05 George E. Dotson.
Box 5 0471-06 Robert Haas.
Box 5 0471-07 Bethel Fite; E. S. Charmichael; Graydon Ausmus.
Box 5 0471-08 Graydon Ausmus, concl.; Henry B. Moore.
Box 5 0471-09 J. G. Sullivan; J. P. Cosand.
Box 5 0471-10 Hiram W. Edwards; Grace Bird.
Box 5 0471-11 Thomas C. Holy; A. C. Rowbotham; George C. Halverson.
Box 5 0471-12 Baldwin Woods; Jack London
Box 5 0471-13 Maurice Donohue; H. Talmadge.
Box 5 0471-14 David Ackley; Eugene Johnson.
Box 5 0471-15 Raymond Allen.
Box 5 0471-16 [unknown]
Box 5 0471-17 B. Lamar Johnson.
Box 5 0471-18 Irving Webber; Chief of Police Jornar (Gainsville, Fla.)
Box 5 0471-19 A. B. Martin; George Mitchell.
Box 5 0471-20 Barnett Williams; Report of interview with Dean Biscoe of the University of Georgia.
Box 5 0471-21 Henry Becker; E. R. Harty; Vernon Fox; William Leap.
Box 5 0471-22 W. T. Arnett; Faculty Seminar on Community Planning, U. of Florida.
Box 5 0471-23 Faculty Seminar on Community Planning, U. of Florida, concl.; T. L. Smith.
Box 5 0471-24 George B. Zehmer.
Box 5 0471-25 Mr. and Mrs. Jess S. Ogden.
Box 5 0471-26 Henry Clark, M.C.; R. P. Wolff.
Box 5 0471-27 Omar C. Aderhoid.
Box 6 0471-28 Howard Odum.
Box 6 0471-29 Ernest A. Lowe.
Box 6 0471-30 W. A. Sutton; W. A. King; T. L. Walton.
Box 6 0471-31 Mr. and Mrs. William W. Biddle.
Box 6 0471-32 William W. Biddle, concl.; Herbert Thelan.
Box 6 0471-33 Herbert Thelan, concl.; Phillip Hauser.
Box 6 0471-34 Maurice Donohue.
Box 6 0471-35 L. R. Siebert.
Box 6 0471-36 Richard Poston.
Box 6 0471-37 Frederick Killian; R. A. Nunnemacher.
Box 6 0471-38 Jefferson, President of Clark University.
Box 6 0471-39 Donald Stone.
Box 6 0471-40 S. M. Menton; C. A. Bosworth.
Box 6 0471-41 Edward Harden.
Box 6 0471-42 Harry Towsley, M.D.
Box 6 0471-43 L. McKune; G. R. Garrison.
Box 6 0471-44 Paul A. Miller.
Box 6 0471-45 w. Dickerman; Everett J. Soop.
Box 6 0471-46 Rensis Likert.
Box 6 0471-47 Lorenz Straub; J. L. Miller.
Box 6 0471-48 J. L. Miller, concl.; T. J. Shannon; J. R. Donoghue.
Box 6 0471-49 Robert A. Polson.
Box 6 0471-50 Donald Van Cleave.
Box 6 0471-51 G. L. Simpson; G. W. Blackwell.
Box 6 0471-52 Albert Coats; Rex Winslow.
Box 6 0471-53 T. Hale Ham; John Maddox.
Box 6 0471-54 J. T. Wearn; John Maddox.
Box 6 0471-55 Mrs. Mabel Mack.
Box 6 0471-56 W. C. Jones; Viron Moore.
Box 6 0471-57 Portland State Extension Center Building Planning Commission, Frairchers, Hummel, Harris, Parker, and Spalding.
Box 6 0471-58 Portland State Extension Center Building Planning Commission, concl.; J. C. Caughlan.,
Box 6 0471-59 Charles McKinley; M. L. Goldschmidt; E. W. Wengert.
Box 6 0471-60 Roben Maaske; W. C. Ballaine.
Box 6 0471-61 Paul S. Beaver.
Box 6 0471-62 E. L. Keller; W. P. Dickinson; H. R. Albrecht.
Box 6 0471-63 Fred Hoehler; Ron Donovan; K. L. Holderman.
Box 6 0471-64 s. H. Campbell; O. R. MacKenzie.
Box 6 0471-65 M. S. Eisenhower; M. R. Trabue.
Box 7 0471-66 Paul A. Wessler; Ross Walsh.
Box 7 0471-67 Ross Walsh, concl.; W. C. Graham; H. S. Zimmerman.
Box 7 0471-68 H. S. Zimmerman; Mrs. Wayne Stevens; Mrs. Peter Larson.
Box 7 0471-69 Urban University Conference. Castle Rock, Washington.
Box 7 0471-70 Donald H. Webster; Nathanael Engle; Jack Wright.
Box 7 0471-71 Jack Wright, concl.
Box 7 0471-72/79 University of California Extension Division Workshop on Community Development. (8 tapes)
Box 7 0471-80 Stanley Taylor; Mrs. Fred Radke.
Box 7 0471-81 Mrs. Fred Radke, concl.; James Frits.
Box 7 0471-82 Keith McCoy; Eugene Hayes.
Box 7 0471-83 Eugene Hayes, concl.; T. F. Paulsen.
Box 7 0471-84 T. F. Paulsen, concl; Paul Webb.
Box 7 0471-85 Paul Webb, concl.; Mrs. Leon Hilts.
Box 7 0471-86 Urban University - Final Session Discussion.
Box 7 0471-87 Paul Sheats - Seminar with Richard Poston.
Box 7 0471-88 Paul Sheats - Seminar with Richard Poston, concl.; Eugene Johnson.
Box 7 0471-89 R. E. Gard; W. B. Thiede.
Box 7 0471-90 W. B. Thiede, concl.; L. Sorden.
Box 7 0471-91 R. J. Colbert.
Box 7 0471-92 W. A. Wittich.
Box 7 0471-93 Abbott Kaplan.
Box 7 0471-94 Edward W. Davis; C. C. Ludwig.
Box 7 0471-95 C. C. Ludwig, concl.; H. G. Heneman; Theodore Caplow.
Box 7 0471-96 John Ivey, Jr.; Southern Regional Education Board - Atlanta, Georgia.
Box 7 0471-97 Hollis Rinehart; J. B. Culpepper.
Box 7 0472-01/04 AMVETS Seminar in Public Responsibility. Georgetown University October 25-30, 1959
Box 8 0472-05/23 AMVETS Seminar in Public Responsibility (cont.). Georgetown University October 25-30, 1959
Box 8 0473-01/21 People Under Communism. National Association of Educational Broadcasters.
Box 8 0473-01 Terror as a System of Power.
Box 8 0473-02 Music to Order.
Box 8 0473-03 The Men Who Make the Migs.
Box 8 0473-04 Drama to Order.
Box 8 0473-05 Literature to Order.
Box 8 0473-06 Pattern of World Conflict.
Box 8 0473-07 Music and the Dream.
Box 8 0473-08 "The Russian Revolutionary Movement and the Rise of Bolshevism" by Professor Merle Fainsod of Harvard.
Box 8 0473-09 "The Loyalty of the Soviet People" by Professor Merle Fainsod of Harvard.
Box 8 0473-10 "The Aims, Strengths, and Weaknesses of Soviet Strategy" by Professor Merle Fainsod of Harvard.
Box 8 0473-01/21 People Under Communism. National Associa­tion of Educational Broadcasters.
Box 8 0473-11 "The Soviet Attack on the Voice of America" by Professor Merle Fainsod of Harvard.
Box 8 0473-12 "Letters to the Editor: Soviet Style" by Dr. Alex Inkeles of Harvard.
Box 8 0473-13 "The Soviet Literary Straightjacket" by Professor Ernest J. Simmons of Columbia.
Box 8 0473-14 "Communist Front Organizations and Communist Prisoners of War" by Professor Harold H. Fisher of Stanford.
Box 8 0473-15 "Communism in Japan" by Professor Harold H. Fisher of Stanford.
Box 8 0473-16 ‘Communism in China" by Professor Harold H. Fisher of Stanford.
Box 8 0473-17 ‘Communism in India" by Professor Harold H. Fisher of Stanford.
Box 8 0473-18 ‘National Self-Determination: Soviet Style’ by Professor Philip E. Mosely of Columbia.
Box 8 0473-19 "The Strange Behavior of the Soviet Diplomats" by Professor Philip E. Mosely of Columbia.
Box 8 0473-20 ‘The Strange Behavior of the Soviet Diplomats" by Professor Philip E. Mosely of Columbia.
Box 8 0473-21 Through the Iron Curtain. Documentary by the BBC.
Box 9 0479-01/10 The Power to Govern.
Box 9 0479-01 The Control of Power: The origin and background of Separation of Powers. (21:12)
Box 9 0479-02 Government by Judges: The Judiciary Role as Interpreter of the Constitution. (27:05)
Box 9 0479-03 Executive Leadership: The Office of President of the United States. (14:15)
Box 9 0479-04 Scope of Legislative Powers: The Constitutional Role of Congress. (14:00)
Box 9 0479-05 Interaction between President and Congress on Domestic Policy: Cooperation of Stalemate. (16:00)
Box 9 0479-06 Interaction between President and Congress on Foreign Policy: Can the President go it Alone? (15:00)
Box 9 0479-07 Separation of Powers and Administrative Agencies: Governmental Restraint vs. Efficiency.
Box 9 0479-08 The Impact of Separation of Power on Liberty: Does it Protect Individual Rights? (18:00)
Box 9 0479-09 Alternatives to Separation of Powers: Is There a Better System of Government? (22:00)
Box 9 0479-10 Separation of Powers Today: An Evaluation. (17:25)
Box 9 0480-01/14 The Ways of Mankind.
Box 10 0481-01/15 The Ways of Mankind. Series II.
Box 10 0482-01/17 Test City Coordinators Meeting. Chicago June 9-14, 1952
Box 10 0483-01/09 Man is Not a Thing.
Box 10 0483-01 Freud in Perspective.
Box 10 0483-02 Freud and the American Child.
Box 10 0483-03 Freud and the American Mother.
Box 10 0483-04 Freud and the American Father.
Box 10 0483-05 Freud, Authority and the American Conscience.
Box 10 0483-06 Freud and the American Democracy.
Box 10 0483-07 Freud and the American Consumer.
Box 10 0483-08 Freud and Religion.
Box 10 0483-09 Freud and the Social Sciences.
Box 10 0484-01/02 The Community of Ideas.
Box 10 0485-01/02 The Mysterious Universe.
Box 10 0486-01/02 The World Beyond the Atom.
Box 10 0487-01/02 Specia1ization.
Box 10 0488-01/02 The Six Philosophic Systems of India.
Box 10 0489-01 Political Forces in France.
Box 11 0490-01/08 Pre-Galaxy Conference on Adult Education. Racine, Wisconsin. 1969
Box 11 0491-01 Fleming, Arthur. Keynote address. (Galaxy Conference on Adult Education)
Box 11 0492-01 United States Secretary of State Rogers. Address on Mideast Affairs. (Galaxy Con­ference on Adult Education)
Box 11 0493-01/10 Ways of Mankind. Ways to Justice.
Box 11 0494-01/02 ERIC/AE National Advisory Board Meeting June 4-6, 1968
Box 11 0495-01/03 ERIC/AE National Advisory Board Meeting December 3-4, 1968
Box 11 0496-01/03 ERIC/AE National Advisory Board Meeting April 17-18, 1969
Box 11 0497-01/02 ERIC/AE National Advisory Board Meeting October 23-24, 1969
Box 11 0498-01 Jeffersonian Heritage.
Box 11 0499-01/02 What is the Place of TV in Education? Audio recording of telecast over WGBH-TV, Boston, Mass. May 2, 1957
Box 12 0500-01/15 Arden House Conference on Continuing Education and Education for Public Responsibility March 27-31, 1960
Box 12 0501-01/06 Randall, Clarence. A Business Man Looks at the Liberal Arts. (Audio Recording from WGBH-FM, Boston, Mass.) A series of 3 lectures sponsored by the Fund for Adult Education Lecture and Harvard University 1956
Box 12 0502-01/08 Bryson, Lyman. Teaching Ourselves to be Free. A series of 3 lectures sponsored by the Fund for Adult Education and University of Wisconsin September 28, 30; October 1, 1953
Box 12 0503-01/03 Fleming, A. S. The Liberal Arts and the Government of Men. A series of 3 lectures sponsored by the Fund for Adult Education February 25-27, 1958
Box 12 0504-01/05 Fund for Adult Education/Leadership Training Summer Institute, Rancho Santa Fe, California June 21-29, 1955
Box 13 0504-06/11 Fund for Adult Education/Leadership Training Summer Institute (cont.), Rancho Santa Fe, California June 21-29, 1955
Box 13 0505-01/03 Tape I-Brogan, Dennis. Political Warfare. A Lecture given at the Institute of World Affairs, December 16, 1952. Tape 1, 2, 3-Katz, Milton. European Economy and the Russian-American conflict. A Lecture given at the Institute of World Affairs December 16, 1952
Box 13 0506-01/05 Watts, Orville. Economic Education. (Includes discussion with citizen's group in Los Angeles, California) May 29, 1952
Box 13 0507-01/05 Way Beyond the West.
Box 13 0508-01/04 The Ideal City.
Box 13 0509-01/11 The People Talk Back.
Box 13 0510-01/03 AEA Conference on Organization of Health Service.
0511-01/05 Oral History Project
Box 14 0511-01 Hamilton Stilwell
Box 14 0511-02 Lloyd Schram
Box 14 0511-03 Thurman White
Box 14 0511-04 Olive McKay
Box 14 0511-05 John Holden
Box 14 0531-01/03 Human Freedoms. A series of group discussions.
Box 14 0532-01 Savicivich, D. Adult Education in Yugoslavia. Exeter conference on Comparative Adult Education June 19-25, 1966
Box 14 0533-01 National Council on the Aging. Technology and the Aging: A Report of the 13th Annual Meeting.
Box 14 0534-01/05 Syracuse University. Publications in Adult Education Conference, Minnowbrook. Proceedings. June 8-10, 1971
Box 14 0535-01 Eight ventures into Thought. Hutchins, Robert. Is Democracy Possible? (Eight Ventures into Thought: A discussion series prepared by the Department of Adult Programs of the Unitarian Universalist Association.)
Box 15 0536-01/06 The Years Between: A Series on Youth and Family Living.
Box 15 0537-01 Adler, Mortimer. Is Government Necessary? (The Great Ideas: a program devoted to understanding the ideas by which we live.) Recorded from KGO-TV December 6, 1953
Box 15 0538-01 Adler, Mortimer. The Nature of Government. (The Great Ideas: a program devoted to understanding the ideas by which we live.) , recorded from KGO-TV. December 13, 1953
Box 15 0539-01 Adler, Mortimer. The Ideal of Human Government. (The Great Ideas: a program devoted to understanding the ideas by which we live.), recorded from KGO-TV December 27, 1953
Box 15 0541-01/05 Conference on the Continuing Education Unit, Virginia Tech,. Proceedings. April 27-28, 1972
Box 15 0542-01/03 Tyler, Ralph. Discussions of evaluation and evaluation systems in Adult Education.
Box 15 0543-01 Charters, Alexander. What is the Unique Responsibility of the University for Continuing Education? Given at Michigan State University Seminar on Leadership in University Adult Education February 5, 1962
Box 15 0544-01 What Should be the Role of the Federal Government in Providing Medical Care? The Citizens of the U.S.A. Debate Topic sponsored by National University Extension Association Committee on Discussion and Debate. Speakers: Carl Mann and Edmund Muskie. 1963
Box 15 0546-01 Houle, Cyril O. Discussion of Adult Education in Europe.
Box 16 0547-01 Moore, Willis. Contributions of Classic Greece to Democratic Thought. (American Ideals, 2). Shaneres, Hartley. The Fight Against Communism. (Window in the World, 2).
Box 16 0548-01 Years of Crisis. CBS News Special. Edward R. Murrow, moderator. 1953
Box 16 0549-01 Walker, Turnley. World of Paperback Books. (See for Yourself)
Box 16 0550-01 The Eccentric. (American Adventure)
Box 16 0551-01 This I Believe. (Radio program). Paul G. Hoffman, speaker February 20, 1953
Box 16 0617-01 The Surplus Man.
Box 16 0618-01 A look at U.S. press from Abroad.
Box 16 0619-01 Crisis of Identity in a Workless World.
Box 16 0751-01/11 National Adult Education Conference Nov 16-20, 1972
Box 20 Unidentified - assorted reel-to-reel tapes; some labeled, some not; various sizes and toipcs (37 tapes)
Audiocassettes
Box 17 6884-01 Conversations from Wingspread - Religious Activity in America Today.
Box 17 6885-01 Is Bigger Really Better - Corporate Growth.
Box 17 6886-01 India-an interview by Dan Price, speakers were John P. Lewis and Philip Talbot.
Box 17 6887-01 Brazil - The Indigenous People.
Box 17 6888-01 The Foreign Student Experience in the U.S. (side 1); Culture Shock and the Foreign Student (side 2).
Box 17 6889-01 South Africa, Human Rights, and the United Nations.
Box 17 6890-01 The Tragedy of Ulster - Tragedy of Northern Ireland.
Box 17 6891-01 International and Comparative Education. Dr. Vincent Tinto. 11/16/76
Box 17 6892-01 Adult Education – Interview. Speakers: Dr. Charters, CDE Newton Proffitt, in Guyana.
Box 17 6893-01 Adult Education: Trends, Issues, and Problems. J. Crowley.
Box 17 6894-01 History of Non-Commercial Broadcasting. R.J. Blakely. 7/31/75
Box 17 6895-01 Adult Education-Trends and Issues.
Box 17 6896-01 State and Federal Programs Entitlement. Dr. Norman Kurland.
Box 17 6897-01 Public Televisions and College Education-A National Perspective. Douglas Bodwell. 3/26/79
Box 17 6898-01 Adult Education: Forms They Take (side 1); Who Speaks for the Aging. David Hobman. (side 2). 7/27/76, 4/5/77
Box 17 6899-01 Thursday Morning Roundtable. WCNY-FM, University College. Dr. Tolley's Address. 11/17/77
Box 17 6900-01 The Role of Humanities in Continuing Education. 10/30/79
Box 17 6900-02 Perspectives on Adult Education. (BAD TAPE) 10/30/79
Box 17 6901-01 Community Education, speaker Donald Tobias. 10/24/79
Box 17 6902-01 Continuing Education in Great Britain. Colvin Bourn. 9/25/79
Box 17 6903-01 Continuing Education: The New Partnerships. 9/12/79
Box 17 6907-01 Course in Adult Education and Broadcasting by Robert Blakely. Summer 1979
Box 17 6907-02 BLANK TAPE.
Box 17 6907-03/04 Course in Adult Education and Broadcasting, by Robert Blakely. Summer 1979
Box 17 6908-01/02 Satellite Communications Demonstration, by Dr. Gus Root. 4/25/75
Box 17 6909-01 Interview - Mr. Bruce Davis, interviewer Walter Varner 7/74
Box 17 6910-01 Interview - Bruce Davis, interviewer Walter Varner (voices very faint and muffled). Summer 74.
Box 17 6911-01/02 WCNY-Tour and Discussion (sides 1-4). 3/19/75
Box 17 6912-01/06 Interviews
Box 17 6912-01 Interview, Mr. N. Nacarella (side 1); Anna Byre, Urban League (side 2) 4/18/75
Box 17 6912-02 Interview - Mr. David Rowe.
Box 17 6912-03 Interview - Mr. Arthur Stock (side 1); Mr. Tony Fisher (side 2). 5/22/1975
Box 17 6912-04 Interview. Mr. Arthur Stock.
Box 17 6912-05 Interview - Kwesi Ampene, in Ghana (side 1); Ms. Nancy Klein, (side 2). 5/26/1975
Box 17 6912-06 Interview - Dr. John Cotman (side 1); Roger Lord (side 2). 6/2/75 and 6/3/75
Box 17 6913-01/18 Ron Hilton interviews
Box 17 6913-01 Interview - Ron Hilton (interviewer) and Mr. Walter Varner (interviewee) (side 1); Ron Hilton (interviewer) and Dr. Lee Porter (interviewee) (side 2). 10/28/74 and 10/30/74
Box 17 6913-02 Interview - Ron Hilton (interviewer) and Mr. G. Sullivan (interviewee) (side 1); Ron Hilton (interviewer) and Dr. J. Wright (interviewee) (side 2). 11/4/74 and 11/5/74
Box 17 6913-03 Interview. Ron Hilton (interviewer) and Dr. Abram Friedman (interviewee) 11/6/74
Box 17 6913-04 Interview. Ron Hilton (interviewer) and Dr. Hilton Power (interviewee) 11/6/74
Box 17 6913-05 Interview. Ron Hilton (interviewer) and Dr. Anita Martin (interviewee) (side 1); Ron Hilton (interviewer) and Ms. Patricia Bohn (side 2). 11/6/1974
Box 17 6913-06 Interview. Ron Hilton (interviewer) and Dr. Paul Kazmierski (interviewee) (side 1); Ron Hilton (interviewer) and Dean Robert Koch (interviewee) (side 2). 3/12/1975
Box 17 6913-07 Interview. Ron Hilton (interviewer) and Dean Robert Koch (interviewee) 3/12/75
Box 17 6913-08 Interview. Ron Hilton (interviewer) and Mr. Bernard Logan (interviewee) 3/14/75
Box 17 6913-09 Interview. Ron Hilton (interviewer) and Ms. Betty Ward (interviewee) 3/21/75
Box 17 6913-10 Interview. Ron Hilton (interviewer) and Father Norbert Henry (interviewee} 4/1/75
Box 17 6913-11 Interview. Ron Hilton (interviewer) and Joseph Gray (interviewee) 4/15/75
Box 17 6913-12 Interview. Ron Hilton (interviewer) and Mr. C. Hoskins (interviewee) 4/18/75
Box 17 6913-13 Interview. Ron Hilton (interviewer) and Mr. Francis Macy (interviewee) 4/28/75
Box 17 6913-14 Interview. Ron Hilton (interviewer) and Mr. Francis Macy (interviewee) 4/28/75
Box 17 6913-15 Interview. Ron Hilton (interviewer) and Agnes Drummond (interviewee) (side 1); Mr. Neil Carr (interviewee) (side 2). 5/12/75 and 5/13/75
Box 17 6913-16 Interview. Ron Hilton (interviewer) and Mrs. Elise Wiehl (interviewee) (side 1); Mr. Arnold Naroff (interviewee) (side 2). 5/13/1975
Box 17 6913-17 Interview. Ron Hilton (interviewer) and Mrs. Wilona Peace (interviewee) (side 1); Ms. Doris Moss (interviewee) (side 2). 5/13/1975
Box 17 6913-18 Interview. Ron Hilton (interviewer) and Mr. Joseph Winfrey (interviewee) 5/13/75
Box 17 6923-01/02 Competency Based Adult Education, Mr. Joseph Bosco 3/5/80
Box 17 6924-01 Research in Adult Education, Dr. Roger Boshier 3/5/80
Box 17 6925-01/03 Seminar in Adult Education, Dr. J. R. Kidd 3/19/80
Box 17 6926-01/02 Adult Education in Response to Political and Social Issues. Malcolm Knowles 2/2/80
Box 17 6927-01/02 Adult and Continuing Education, Malcolm Knowles. The Metropolitan Committee on Adult and Continuing Education.
Box 17 6928-01/04 Survey Class: Dr. Charters. (Tape 6928-01 is damaged.) (4 tapes)
Box 17 6929-02/03 Objectives, Evaluation, Etc. Dr. Charters.
Box 17 6930-01 Methodology - Philosophy of Methods.
Box 17 6931-01 Learning Theory and Classroom Practice in Adult Education.
Box 17 6932-01 Adult Education - Caribbean Conference, Georgetown, Guyana.
Box 17 6933-01 Frontier College.
Box 17 6934-01 Interview on Dr. Edwin Townsend Coles.
Box 17 6935-01 Problems Facing Adult Education.
Box 17 6936-01 The Tougher Side of Immigration, Toronto, Canada.
Box 17 6937-01 The Fourth Estate (student journalists' critiques of University lectures).
Box 17 6938-01 The Role of the University in Adult Education, from the campus of U.B.C.
Box 17 6939-01 Community Development in Sicily.
Box 17 6940-01 Fairbank House Lives Again - The History of Fairbank House.
Box 17 6941-01 Canadian Citizenship Procedures.
Box 17 6942-01 Writing Poetry, by Robertson Davis.
Box 17 6943-01 Radioactive Fallout and the 200th Anniversary of Battle of the Plains of Abraham, speaking are Dr. Kenneth McNeil and Marcell Ferribol, respectively, CBS Radio-Trans Canada Network.
Box 17 6944-01 Caribbean Citizens.
Box 17 6945-01 Address to an American Labour Service - Conference.
Box 17 6946-01 A Philosophy for Adult Educators.
Box 17 6947-01 Life Before Death in the Corporate State.
Box 17 6948-01 Teaching in Different Countries.
Box 17 6949-01 Continuous Learning Interview - Self Education Process and the Bank of Montreal Monthly Letter.
Box 17 6950-01 Canadian Nationalism-Canadian/American Relations.
Box 17 6951-01 Alberta Days and Nights.
Box 17 6952-01 Interview with Dr. Tyrone Guthrie.
Box 17 6953-01 Biography of Ned Corbett.
Box 17 6954-01 Concern - Tension Between Natural Resources and Human Resources in Canada's North.
Box 17 6955-01 The University and Economic Changes in the Canadian Economy.
Box 17 6956-01 University of the West Indies 25th Anniversary, conference - University Forum/Radio Education Unit of the University of the West Indies.
Box 17 6957-01/02 Documentary Film, by Art Chetwynd.
Box 17 6958-01 Fircroft College by Harry Neetin and Open University by Lady Lee.
Box 17 6958-02 Adult Education in India.
Box 17 6959-01 African Socialism as the Goal of the Tanzania Nation.
Box 17 6959-02 Questions and Answers, The High Commissioner from Tanzania.
Box 17 6960-01 Interview. Adult Education Tanzania, speaker Father McBunda.
Box 17 6961-01/02 Adult Education Seminar, Dr. Rosalind Loring. 3/29/80
Box 17 6962-01 Adult and Continuing Education Metropolitan Committee, Dr. Loring. 3/29/80
Box 17 6963-01/03 Resources for Educators of Adults/Show and Tell, Mr. Ray Ast. 11/14/79
Box 17 6964-01/04 The Need for Information Resources, Conference ­ Clearinghouse of Resources for Educators of Adults. 11/15/1979
Box 17 6965-01 Tape is marked incorrectly.
Box 17 6966-01/02 Continuing Adult Education, Conference - Coalition of Adult Education Organizations. 2/21/80
Box 17 6967-01/42 Interviews by Joseph Jacques.
Box 17 6967-01 Interview by Joseph Jacques. Dr. Mary Armstrong (interviewee) 3/19/72
Box 17 6967-02 Interview by Joseph Jacques. Mary Louise Collins (interviewee). 5/8/72
Box 17 6967-03 Interview by Joseph Jacques. Adult Education, Robert J. Blakely. 4/22/72
Box 17 6967-04 Interview by Joseph Jacques. Concept of Education, Robert J. Blakely. 4/11/71
Box 17 6967-05 Interview by Joseph Jacques. Adult Education, Dr. Ld P. Bradford. 4/15/72
Box 17 6967-05 Interview by Joseph Jacques. Adult Education, Dr. Ld P. Bradford. 4/15/72
Box 17 6967-07 Interview by Joseph Jacques. Dr. Paul L. Essert (interviewee). 3/22/72
Box 17 6967-08 Interview by Joseph Jacques. Dr. Paul L. Essert (interviewee). 3/22/72
Box 17 6967-09 Interview by Joseph Jacques. W. C. Hallenbeck (interviewee). 4/24/72
Box 17 6967-10 Interview by Joseph Jacques. W. C. Hallenbeck (interviewee). 4/24/72
Box 17 6967-11/15 Interview by Joseph Jacques. W. C. Hallenbeck (interviewee). 4/24.,.25, 26, 27, 1972
Box 17 6967-16 Interview by Joseph Jacques. Dr. Sam Hand (interviewee). 5/30/72
Box 17 6967-18 Interview by Joseph Jacques. Dr. Eugene I. Johnson (interviewee). 5/17/72
Box 17 6967-19/26 Interview by Joseph Jacques. Andrew Hendrickson (interviewee).
Box 17 6967-27/34 Interview by Joseph Jacques. Dr. McClosky (interviewee). 4/10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 1972
Box 17 6967-35/41 Interview by Joseph Jacques. Dr. Ralph Beckett Spence (interviewee). 5/15/72
Box 17 6967-42 Interview by Joseph Jacques. Robert J. Blakely (interviewee) .
Box 17 6969-01/02 Adult Education Seminar, Dr. John Ohliger. 2/13/80
Box 17 6970-01/02 Adult and Continuing Education, Dr. John Ohliger and Dr. Graham Leonard. 2/14/80
Box 17 6971-01 Adult Education Seminar, Dr. Clifford Winters.
Box 17 6972-01 Selection and Training of Community Development Workers.
Box 17 6973-01 Interview: Extension Work in Adult Education, Father George Topshee.
Box 17 6974-01 Ontario Indians.
Box 17 6975-01 Adult Education in India.
Box 17 6976-01 The Involvement of Universities.
Box 17 6977-01 Continuous Learning - Cliff McIntosh.
Box 17 6978-01 Fundraising and Work with the YMCA in Montreal.
Box 17 6979-01 Continuous Learning - Adult Education Principally at the University of B.C.
Box 17 6980-01 The Counseling Services of George Brown College.
Box 17 6981-01 Continuous Learning - Canadian Voice of Women.
Box 17 6982-01 Continuous Learning - Experiences at Sir George Williams University.
Box 17 6983-01/02 Literacy Training and the Ideas of Paolo Freire.
Box 17 6984-01 Adult Education-Counseling Needs of Adults.
Box 17 6985-01 Education - Breakthrough into Tomorrow.
Box 17 6986-01 Interview - Experiences in Special Education. Speaker is Dr. Sam Laycock.
Box 17 6987-01 Interview - The Thomas Moore Institute. Speaker is Father E. O'Connor.
Box 17 6988-01 Theatre and Drama in the West Indies - Caribbean.
Box 17 6989-01 Homer Watson and the Doon School of Fine Art.
Box 17 6990-01 Liberal Adult Education and the Development of Community Leadership.
Box 18 6991-01 Prescription for Living Through Recreation.
Box 18 6992-01 Interview - Canadian Theatre, speaker is Robertson Davis.
Box 18 6993-01 The Legalization of Marijuana.
Box 18 6994-01 Inner Science Workshop and the Educational Theory of Dr. Charles Kelly based on Wilhelm Reich.
Box 18 6995-01 Interview - Continuous Learning: Experiences with the University of B.C. Extension Department, speaker is Gordon Selman.
Box 18 6996-01 The Man with the Magic Lantern, a tribute to educator Ned Corbett.
Box 18 6997-01 Interview with Monsignor Frank Smyth.
Box 18 6998-01 National Library Week, Toronto, Canada.
Box 18 6999-01 Which Way Out? Environmental Crisis - Case Against Standard Oil. The militant labor forum.
Box 18 8011-01 Questions directed to Professor Marcuse.
Box 18 8011-02 Power and Powerlessness - White Radicals.
Box 18 8019-01 Working Session on Adult Education - International Aid and Poverty, The International Council for Adult Education. June 2 and 3, 1980
Box 18 8050-01 The Formal School System.
Box 18 8051-01 Education in Japan.
Box 18 8052-01 BLANK TAPE.
Box 18 8053-01 Cable T.V. and Adult Education.
Box 18 8054-01 Hartford ABC House.
Box 18 8055-01 Education in India.
Box 18 8056-01 Tutor Training in Great Britain.
Box 18 8057-01 Adults as Learners.
Box 18 8074-01 Adult Education and Its Role in Public Policy. Dr. Charters' Tapes.
Box 18 8075-01 I.Q. and Its Relationship to Adult Education. Dr. Charters' Tapes.
Box 18 8076-01 Critical Issues in Adult Education: An International Perspective. Intercouncil on Adult Education Organization. Dr. Charters' Tapes.
Box 18 8167-01/03 Humanizing Adult Education Research. Ronald Hilton, Ph.D. Interviews Howard McClusky 11-8-79
Box 18 8168-01/02 Humanizing Adult Education Research. Ronald Hilton, Ph.D. Interviews Dr. Paul Sheats, Jack London, Portland, Oregon 10/28/78
Box 18 8169-01/02 Humanizing Adult Education Research. Ronald Hilton, Ph.D. Interviews Ann Koch 4/12/79
Box 18 8170-01 Humanizing Adult Education. Ronald Hilton, Ph.D. Interviews Dr. Bob Buerschaper 10/30/79
Box 18 8171-01 Humanizing Adult Education Research. Ronald Hilton, Ph.D. Interviews Margaret Sovie 6/3/75
Box 18 8172-01 Humanizing Adult Education Research. Ronald Hilton, Ph.D. Interviews Bonaro Overstreet 11/80
Box 18 8173-01 Humanizing Adult Education Research, Ronald Hilton, Ph.D. Interviews Herbert Hunsaker 11/8/79
Box 18 8183-01 Boshler/Knox Panel. AEA 1978
Box 18 8184-01 Glimpses of the Past: CAAE 1935-1975.
Box 18 8185-01 South Africa, Reverend Abraham Hector, Capetown, SA 9/6/81
Box 18 8186-01 Memorial Service James R. Kidd 3/24/82
Box 22 8900-01 / C-199 Backgrounds of Central Europe, Dr. Thomas Kozma Dec 11, 1989 1/4 inch audiocassette
Gift of Alex Charters, 2016.
Box 22 8901-01, 8901-02 / C-193, C-194 NUCEA Oral History Project, Interview of Alex Charters Dec 1988 1/4 inch audiocassette
Gift of Alex Charters, 2016.
Box 22 8902-01 / C-200 Reflections by Alex Charters on adult and continuing education 1/31/90 1/4 inch audiocassette
Gift of Alex Charters, 2016.
Box 22 8903-01 / C-162 Dr. Per Himmelstrup Metro. Syr. Comm. 2/16/88 1/4 inch audiocassette
Gift of Alex Charters, 2016.
Box 22 8904-01 / C-192 Dusan Savicevic interviewed by Peg Bonesteel Oct 28, 1988 1/4 inch audiocassette
Gift of Alex Charters, 2016.
Box 22 8905-01m 8905-02, 8905-03 / C-195, C-196, C-197 Albert Mgulambwa History of African nations as context for adult ed. programs undated 1/4 inch audiocassette
Gift of Alex Charters, 2016.
Box 22 8906-01a, 8906-01b / C-160, C-161 Interview of Alex Charters by Lydia Lavin, CSLEA Jan 1988 1/4 inch audiocassette
Gift of Alex Charters, 2016.
Box 22 8907-01 / C-198 Alex Charters Experiences in radio and television Dec 1989 1/4 inch audiocassette
Box 22 8908-01 / C-164 Dr Sei Mura [Seiichi Okamura] Adult ed. in Japan Oct 12, 1988 1/4 inch audiocassette
Gift of Alex Charters, 2016.
Box 22 8909-01 / C-163 Harold Stubblefield CSLEA and related matters 3/2/88 1/4 inch audiocassette
Gift of Alex Charters, 2016.
Videotapes (VT)
All VT tapes transferred to University Archives, as part of the SU SYNAPSE Collection.
1980 School of Education Colloquia: Toward a Learning Society: Government Policy and the Education of Adults. William M. Rivera, Convener.
VT 170, VT 171 The Politics of Funding for Education of Adults, Mr. Charles Lee, Executive Director of the Committee for Full Funding, Washington, DC. 9 Oct 1980 (2 tapes)
VT 172, VT 173 Financing the Learning Society, Dr. Norman Kurland, Executive Director of Adult Learning Service, SED, Albany, NY 12234. 13 Nov 1980 (2 tapes)
VT 174 Government Support for the Education of Adults in the Humanities, Dr. Leonard P. Oliver, Special Assistant to the Chairman, National Endowment of the Humanities, Washington, DC. 16 Oct 1980
VT 175 Policy Developments and the Lobbying Process for the Education of Adults, Ms. Miriam Kazanjian, Federal Relations Representative, NYS Education Dept. offices, Washington, DC. 30 Oct 1980
1981 School of Education Colloquia: Taking Sides in the Learning Society: Controversial Issues in Education for Adu1ts, William M. Rivera, Convener.
VT 176, VT 177, VT 178 Conflict of Partnership: A Comprehensive Policy of Education for Adults. William M. Rivera, Convener. January 29, 1981: Conflict of Partnership: A Comprehensive Policy of Education for Adults, Mr. William J. Hilton, Director of Lifelong Learning Project, Education Commission of the States, Denver, CO. 29 Jan 1981 (3 tapes)
VT 179, VT 180, VT 181 Lifelong Learning's 'Bill of Rights' - Does the state Owe All Adults an Education? Mr. Garrett W. Murphy, Director of the Division of Continuing Education, Albany, NY. 19 Feb 1981 (3 tapes)
VT 182, VT 183 Advice and Consent: Influencing Federal Policy in Continuing Education, Dr. William G. Shannon, Executive Director, National Advisory Council for Continuing Education, Washington, DC. 19 Mar 1981 (3 tapes)
VT 184, VT 185, VT 186 What Would Constitute a Fully Human Policy for Adults? Mr. Warren L. Ziegler, Futures Invention Associates, Denver, CO. 2 Apr 1981 (3 tapes)
1981 Clearinghouse of Resources for Educators of Adults in Conjunction with the Center for Human Development Open Seminar. William M. Rivera, Convener.
VT 187, VT 188, VT 189 Policy and Research Needs in Education for Disabled Adults, Mr. William Langner, Office of Adult Learning and Community School Relations U.S. Department of Education. 25 Feb 1981 (3 tapes)
Videocassettes (VC)
Mentors Series (University of Georgia: Athens, GA) 1974
Box 18 VC 1008 New dimensions in living (1 tape) U-Matic videocassette. Sound, color, 3/4 in.
Box 18 VC 1009 The Beginnings. Interviews with Hallenbeck, Hunsaker, McClusky, Spence, Henrickson, Houle, Essert. (1 tape) U-Matic videocassette. Sound, color, 3/4 in.
Box 19 VC 1010 Early leaders in university adult education. An interview with Paul Essert. (1 tape) U-Matic videocassette. Sound, color, 3/4 in.
Box 19 VC 1011 Interviews with Hendrickson and McClusky. (1 tape) U-Matic videocassette. Sound, color, 3/4 in.
Box 19 VC 1012 Interviews with Houle, Hunsaker, Sheats. (1 tape) U-Matic videocassette. Sound, color, 3/4 in.
Mentors II Series (University of Georgia: Athens, GA) 1985
Box 19 VC 1073 Curtis Ulmer (1 tape, 31 min.) U-Matic videocassette. Sound, color, 3/4 in.
Box 19 VC 1074 Phyllis Cunningham, Malcolm Knowles, William Griffith. (1 tape, 29 min.) U-Matic videocassette. Sound, color, 3/4 in.
Box 19 VC 1075 Phyllis Cunningham. (1 tape) U-Matic videocassette. Sound, color, 3/4 in.
Box 19 VC 1076 Malcolm Knowles. (1 tape, 29 min.) U-Matic videocassette. Sound, color, 3/4 in.
Box 19 VC 1077 William Griffith. (1 tape, 30 min.) U-Matic videocassette. Sound, color, 3/4 in.
Box 19 VC 1078 Alex Charters, Curtis Ulmer, Alan Knox. (1 tape, 30 min.) U-Matic videocassette. Sound, color, 3/4 in.
Box 19 VC 1079 George Aker, Cyril O. Houle, Burton Kreitlow. (1 tape, 30 min.) U-Matic videocassette. Sound, color, 3/4 in.
Box 19 VC 1080 Eugene Johnson. (1 tape, 30 min.) U-Matic videocassette. Sound, color, 3/4 in.
Box 19 VC 1081 Cyril O. Houle. (1 tape, 32 min.) U-Matic videocassette. Sound, color, 3/4 in.
Box 19 VC 1082 George Aker. (1 tape, 31 min.) U-Matic videocassette. Sound, color, 3/4 in.
Box 19 VC 1083 Alan Knox. (1 tape, 31 min.) U-Matic videocassette. Sound, color, 3/4 in.
Box 19 VC 1084 Burton Kreitlow. (1 tape, 31 min.) U-Matic videocassette. Sound, color, 3/4 in.
Box 19 VC 1085 Alex Charters. (1 tape, 30 min.) U-Matic videocassette. Sound, color, 3/4 in.
Junto 2000 (Georgia Center for Continuing Education)
Box 21 1993 Mar 11 (1 tape) VHS
Box 21 1993, Jun 17 (1 tape) VHS
Box 21 1993, Sep 16 (1 tape) VHS
Box 21 1993, Dec 16, "Show #4" (1 tape) VHS
Box 21 1994, Mar 17, "Program #5" (3 tapes) VHS
Box 21 1994, Jun 16, "program 6" (1 tape) VHS
Box 21 1994, Sep 15 (1 tape) VHS
Box 21 1994, Dec 15 (1 tape) VHS
Box 21 1995, Mar [no day] (2 tapes) VHS
Box 21 1995, Jun [no day] (1 tape) VHS
Box 21 1995, Sep 21 (1 tape) VHS
Box 21 Undated (2 tapes) VHS
Box 19 VC 7002 Junto 2000: March edition (1 tape, 120 min.) U-Matic videocassette. Sound, color, 1/2 in.
Box 19 VC 7003 Alex Charters interview June 7, 1993 (1 tape) U-Matic videocassette. Sound, color, 1/2 in.
Box 19 VC 7004 Junto 2000 (1 tape, 120 min.) U-Matic videocassette. Sound, color, 1/2 in.
Box 19 VC 7005 Junto 2000 (1 tape, 120 min.) U-Matic videocassette. Sound, color, 1/2 in.
Box 19 VC 10556 Junto 2000: interviews with leaders in continuing education attending the 78th annual National University Continuing Education Association meeting in Nashville, TN 1993 (1 tape, 117 min.) U-Matic videocassette. Sound, color, 1/2 in.
Conversations on Lifelong Learning
Box 19 VC 7529 Conversations on Lifelong Learning (Gretchen Bersch, University of Alaska) 1995 - A series of in-depth conversations with leaders in the field of adult learning. In each program a different educator shares thoughts about his/her early professional life, philosophies and theories, life's work and views of the future. Interviewees include Stephen Brookfield, Phyllis M. Cunningham, Cyril O. Houle, Malcolm Knowles, Alan Knox, Sharon Merriam, Jack Mezirow. (7 tapes.) U-Matic videocassette. Sound, color, 1/2 in.

Return to top