Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Forrest J Ackerman Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Ackerman, Forrest J.
Title: Forrest J Ackerman Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1924-1977
Quantity: 96 linear ft.
Abstract: THIS COLLECTION IS CURRENTLY CLOSED FOR PROCESSING. Papers of the American science fiction author, editor, agent, collector and fan. Correspondence, 1930-1967, includes fan mail; communications with other writers including Isaac Asimov, Ray Bradbury, Andre Norton, and others; correspondence with book and film companies. Files, 1951-1967, contain personal financial records and material on various organizational affiliations. Manuscript material, 1962-1969, includes that of Ackerman and others for whom he acted as agent. Published material, 1933-1967, relates to science fiction and includes catalogs, work lists, booklets, clippings, and references.
Language: Mostly English, some German, Spanish and French.
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

THIS COLLECTION IS CURRENTLY CLOSED FOR PROCESSING.

Forrest J Ackerman (no period after the middle initial) was born November 24, 1916 in Los Angeles, California. He saw his first fantasy film at age five and from that moment on his life and work was built around science fiction as fan, author, agent, publisher, editor and collector.

In 1923, at the age of seven, he was a charter member of the Science Fiction League and in 1930 he created The Boys' Scientifiction Club. In 1939 he attended the First World Science Fiction Convention, where he wore the first "futuristicostume" and sparked a tradition of fan costuming that continues to this day at science fiction conventions around the world; he has missed only two WorldCons in the ensuing 70 years. In 1946 he founded the Fantasy Foundation and helpd found the Los Angeles Science Fantasy Society and the National Fantasy Fan Federation (N3F). In 1953 he received a unique Hugo Award for "#1 Fan Personality."

His writing began almost as early as his fan activities -- in 1929, when he won a contest at the San Francisco Chronicle with his original story of a trip to Mars. Since then, fifty of his stories have been published, including collaborations with A. E. van Vogt, Francis Flagg, Robert A. W. Lowndes, Marion Zimmer Bradley, Donald Wolheim and Catherine Moore, and his stories have been translated into six languages. He named and wrote the origin story for the title character of the Vampirella comic book series. In addition, he has ten non-fiction books (most on science fiction movies) and thirteen anthologies to his credit. His known pseudonyms include SF Balboa, Nick Beal, Walter Chinwell, J. Forrester Eckman, Jacques De Forest Erman, Laurajean Ermayne, Jone Lee Heard, Alus Kerlay, Alden Lorraine, Jack Parish, Spencer Strong, Fisher Trentworth, Allis Villette, Hubert George Wills, Weaver Wright, and Dr. Acula.

In addition to his own writing, Ackerman inspired or assisted many other future luminaries of the genre, including Ray Bradbury (whose first story was published by Ackerman), Ray Harryhausen, Charles Beaumont, Marion Zimmer Bradley, Stephen King (whose first story submission was to Ackerman's Spacemen magazine) and L. Ron Hubbard. He has represented some 200 science fiction and fantasy authors, including Hugo Gernsback, Andre Norton, A.E. van Vogt, and Jack Williamson, and was Ed Wood's "illiterary" agent. Ackerman is also credited with having coined the term "sci-fi" in 1954.

Ackerman edited, published, or otherwise assisted a number of science fiction magazines over the years, creating and inspiring a legion of fans. At the tender age of sixteen he became associate editor of Time Traveller magazine, the first-ever fanzine, and the next year became film editor of Science Fiction Digest. In 1939 he started his own magazine, Voice of Imagination, and later edited Famous Monsters of Filmland, Monster World, and Spacemen. He provided publishing assistance to The Daughters of Bilitis in the group's early days (that, and his several lesbian novels written under the name "Laurajean Ermayne," earned him the title of "honorary lesbian").

His love of the genre is not limited by national borders, as evidenced by his active contributions to film magazines from around the world, including the Argentinian La Cosa - Cine Fantástico, where he had a monthly column for over four years. In 1960, he introduced American readers to the longest science fiction series in history when he organized Ace Books' publication of an English translation of the German science fiction series Perry Rhodan (much of the translation was done by his German wife, Wendayne).

Over the years Ackerman amassed a comprehensive collection of science fiction, fantasy and horror film material amounting to some 300,000 items: books (including 500 editions of Frankenstein and Dracula), magazines, videos, photographs, clippings, manuscripts, autographs, toys, and movie memorabilia (among which is the head of The Creature from the Black Lagoon and a Martian death-ray machine from War of the Worlds). Until 2002 the collection resided in the 18-room "Ackermansion" in the Los Feliz district of Los Angeles; he later donated a number of items to the Seattle Science Fiction Museum and Hall of Fame, of which he is a board member. Among his friends are icons of the genre including Fritz Lang, Bela Lugosi, Vincent Price, and Boris Karloff, and he has made cameo appearances in more than fifty films.

His efforts across a broad spectrum of the arts not only encouraged the organization and spread of science fiction and its fans, but also did much to foster the acceptance of science fiction as a respectable literary, art and film genre. He has truly earned the sobriquet "Mr. Science Fiction."

"I regard myself as a sci-fi sponge that should be squeezed for information and anecdotes as long as I'm here. So while I'm still around, squeeze me."
— Forrest J. Ackerman.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

THIS COLLECTION IS CURRENTLY CLOSED FOR PROCESSING.

The Forrest J Ackerman Papers consists of correspondence, subject files, manuscripts and science fiction material.

Correspondence (18 boxes, 1930-1967) includes incoming correspondence of Forrest J Ackerman, including fan mail and greeting cards, and outgoing correspondence. There is also some correspondence of others. Notable names found in correspondence include Isaac Asimov, Ray Bradbury, Hubbard College of Scientology, Christopher Lee, Andre Norton, Samuel A. Peeples, Robert Silverberg, A.E. Van Vogt, (Manly) Wade Wellman, and Jack Williamson. There is also a large amount of fan mail.

Subject files (2 boxes, 1951-1967) include advertisements, bank and tax forms, correspondence with organizations, clippings, notes, and published material including a book of Ronald Cobb's drawings autographed by the artist and a section on organizations to which Forrest J Ackerman belonged.

Manuscripts (1 box, 1962-1967) contains incomplete drafts of various issues of Famous Monsters and Monster World, manuscripts of several stories and a set of musical lyrics arranged alphabetically by title and subject. This series also includes manuscripts of others arranged alphabetically by author; authors include Isaac Asimov and Harry Harrison.

Science fiction (8 boxes, 1933-1967) is divided into three parts: Related material, Literary material, and Published material. Related material contains correspondence, catalogs, lists and published material relating to Forrest J Ackerman's work as an editor, agent and writer and includes a section of science fiction organizations to which Ackerman belonged. Literary material includes published works of Forrest J Ackerman arranged alphabetically by title of publication. Published material includes booklets, clippings and magazines concerning science fiction, arranged alphabetically by type and then by title; this section includes some foreign-language material.

The collection also includes two later accessions which have not been integrated into the main collection. 1978 additions (64 linear ft) contains a wide range of material, including art, clippings, memorabilia, correspondence, photographs and writings. 1991 additions (0.25 linear ft.) contains writings, published magazines, clippings, and a videotape. See the inventory below for full details.

Note that the two later additions, and each series in the main collection, restart their numbering with "Box 1." When requesting material, please be sure to include the series or accession date and box number to ensure retrieval of the correct items.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is subdivided into incoming and outgoing; incoming general correspondence is arranged alphabetically by the sender and all other correspondence is arranged chronologically. Subject files are arranged alphabetically by topic, while manuscripts are arranged alphabetically by title. Science fiction material is arranged alphabetically by type.

Note that each series is numbered separately beginning with "Box 1." Please specify both series and box number when requesting boxes to ensure that the correct items are retrieved.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

THIS COLLECTION IS CURRENTLY CLOSED FOR PROCESSING.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has substantial science fiction related holdings both in its manuscripts collections and in Rare Books. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a listing of related manuscript collections and search the Classic Catalog for a complete list of books.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Ackerman, Forrest J.
Asimov, Isaac, 1920-1992.
Bradbury, Ray, 1920-2012.
Norton, Alice Mary.
Norton, Andre.
Silverberg, Robert.
Van Vogt, A. E. (Alfred Elton), 1912-2000.
Wellman, Manly Wade, 1903-1986
Wollheim, Donald A.

Corporate Bodies

Science Fiction Writers of America.
World Science Fiction Society.

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
Authors, American.
Editors -- United States.
Fantasy fiction, American.
Monsters in mass media.
Novelists, American.
Science fiction, American.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Magazines.
Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.

Occupations

Authors.
Editors.
Novelists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Forrest J Ackerman Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Forrest J Ackerman and Forest J Ackerman Estate, 1967-2010.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: Dec 1967
Revision history: 21 Jul 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC); 16 Jul 2012 - LCNAF updates (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

CLOSED FOR PROCESSING.
RESTRICTED: THIS COLLECTION IS CURRENTLY CLOSED FOR PROCESSING.

Inventory

Correspondence
Incoming - general
Box 1 A - H 1947-1967, undated (9 folders)
Box 2 I - S 1935, 1949, 1954-1967, undated (13 folders)
Box 3 T - Z 1930, 1938, 1953-1967, undated (5 folders)
Box 3 Ace Books, Inc. 1957-1967
Box 3 Ackerman, Carroll 1956, 1960-1961, 1963-1967, undated
Box 3 Albright, Donn 1967, undated
Box 3 Asimov, Isaac and Robyn 1956, 1957, 1961, 1965-1967
Box 3 Beaumont, Charles 1954, 1956, 1963
Box 3 Beckman, Peter 1964-1966, undated
Box 3 Belmont Productions, Inc. 1967
Box 3 Bennet, Vern 1966-1967, undated
Box 3 Bogaslawski, Peter 1963, undated
Box 3 Bradbury, Ray 1951, 1961, 1966, undated
Box 3 Brunas, John and Michael 1964-1966
Box 3 Burdick, Lorraine 1963-1967, undated
Box 3 Carnell, E. J. 1957, 1963-1967
Box 3 Coburn, William 1963-1966
Box 3 Collier, Chris 1962-1966, undated
Box 3 Coune, Georges 1965-1967
Box 3 Cozzi, Luigi 1965-1967, undated
Box 3 Danials, Gray 1965-1967, undated
Box 4 Doubleday & Co., Inc. 1963-1967
Box 4 Edgar Rice Burroughs, Inc. 1963-1967
Box 4 Edwards, Gary 1963, 1964, 1966, undated
Box 4 Ernsting, Walter 1957-1967, undated
Box 4 Estes, Oscar 1963, 1964, 1966, 1967, undated
Box 4 F and S. F. Book Co. 1961-1967, undated
Box 4 Gallet, Georges 1961-1965
Box 4 Gardiner, John 1956-1957
Box 4 Germehausen, Anna, Louise and Al 1957, 1963-1964, undated
Box 4 Gold, Horace 1965, 1967, undated
Box 4 Grabner, Boris 1961-1967
Box 4 Greenberg, Robert 1962-1966, undated
Box 4 de Groote, Alexander 1963, 1965
Box 4 van Hageland, Albert 1961-1967
Box 4 Haussler, Herbert 1957, 1961-1966, undated
Box 4 Hubbard College of Scientology 1966-1967
Box 4 Jarman, Peter J. 1964-1967, undated
Box 4 Keising, Irving 1965-1967
Box 4 Kolchak, Harriet 1962-1967
Box 4 Lee, Christopher undated
Box 4 Levitt, Dan 1964-1967, undated
Box 4 MacFadden-Bartell Corporation 1963, 1966-1967
Box 4 Mass, Joseph 1962-1967, undated
Box 4 Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Inc. 1965-1967
Box 4 Michel, Jean-Claude 1961-1967
Box 4 Minter, Richard 1963-1967
Box 4 Mula, Tom 1966
Box 4 Naughton, Peter 1962-1965
Box 4 Neutzel, Charles 1965, 1967, undated
Box 4 Norton, Andre 1961, 1965-1967, undated
Box 4 Obbagy, William 1962, 1966, undated
Box 4 Osborne, Charles 1963, 1967, undated
Box 4 Paperback Library, Inc. 1963-1967
Box 4 Partridge, Norman 1963-1964
Box 4 Peeples, Samuel A. 1963, 1965-1967
Box 4 Pfeffer, Max 1949, 1953-1954
Box 4 Pickering, Stephan 1964-1967, undated
Box 5 de la Ree, Gerald, 1957, 1961-1967, undated
Box 5 Reed, Dr. Donald A. (President of the "The Count Dracula Society") 1964-1967, undated
Box 5 Romer, Jean-Claude 1963-1967, undated
Box 5 Rubin, Samuel "8 MM Collector" 1966, 1967, undated
Box 5 Scognamillo, Giovanni 1960, 1965
Box 5 Silverberg, Robert 1961, 1966-1967
Box 5 Tabb, Lamar 1964-1967
Box 5 Temple, William 1959-1967
Box 5 Trimble, John 1961, 1964, 1967 undated
Box 5 Unbehaun, Klaus 1961, 1963-1966
Box 5 Vertlieb, Steve and Erwin 1965-1967
Box 5 Van Vogt, A. E. 1963-1967, undated
Box 5 Warren, James 1957-1967, undated
Box 5 Warren, William and Beverly 1967, undated
Box 5 Wellman, Wade 1966-1967
Box 5 Williamson, Jack 1959-1965
Box 5 Willits, Malcolm Collectors Bookstore 1961, 1964-1966, undated
Box 5 Wollheim, Don Ace Books, Inc. 1958-1967, undated
Box 5 Unidentified 1942, 1954-1967
Box 5 Unidentified 1957, 1963-1967, undated
Incoming - fan mail
Box 6 1948, 1954-1955, 1958-1962 (Mar) (9 folders)
Box 7 1962, Apr-Dec (5 folders)
Box 8 1963, Jan-Jul (5 folders)
Box 9 1963, Jul-Dec (5 folders)
Box 10 1964 (5 folders)
Box 10 1965, Jan
Box 11 1965, Feb-Oct (5 folders)
Box 12 1965, Nov-Dec
Box 12 1966 (6 folders)
Box 13 1967, Jan-Oct (3 folders)
Box 13 Drawings 1960-1967, undated (4 folders)
Box 14 Undated
Box 15 Undated
Incoming - greeting cards
Box 16 Undated
Box 16 Birthday 1966, undated
Box 16, 17 Christmas 1958, 1966, undated (6 folders)
Box 17 Get well undated
Box 17 Telegrams, congratulatory undated
Outgoing
Box 17 1938
Box 17 1949
Box 17 1951-1963 (7 folders)
Box 18 1964-1967 (7 folders)
Box 18 Undated
Box 18 Postcards undated
Box 18 Of others, A-Z 1955-1967, undated
Subject files
Advertisements
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1962, 1967, undated
Box 1 Magazines 1967, undated
Box 1 Organizations 1958, 1962-1967, undated
Box 1 Agents report forms 1957
Box 1 Announcements 1955-1966, undated
Box 1 Bank and tax forms 1960-1967
Box 1 Bills and receipts 1962-1967, undated
Box 1 Clippings 1956, undated
Box 1 Colorado State University Library 1966
Box 1 Employment resumes 1962, undated
Box 1 Evans, Everett undated
Box 1 Insurance 1955, 1967, undated
Box 1 Invitations 1964-1966, undated
Box 1 Notes 1965-1967, undated (2 folders)
Box 1 N. Y. Film Festival 1967
Organizations
Box 2 Air-A-Tans 1961, 1962, undated
Box 2 Book Clubs 1964, 1967, undated
Box 2 California Council on Religion and the Homophile 1966
Box 2 The Calvin Coolidge Society 1966
Esperanto
Box 2 Newsletters and correspondence 1955, 1960-1967, undated
Box 2 Publications 1961-1967, undated
Box 2 International Society for General Semantics 1967
Box 2 Neo-Fund Committee 1963-1965
Box 2 Severance Club 1965-1967
Box 2 Programs 1967, undated
Box 2 Publications 1958, undated
Box 2 Receipts 1957, 1961-1967, undated
Box 2 Ron Cobb drawings, autographed 1967 (25 drawings)
Box 2 Trips 1951, 1957, 1959, 1965, 1967, undated
Manuscripts
Famous Monsters
Box 1 Nos. 18, 20, 26, 27 (incomplete) undated
Box 1 Nos. 30, 32, 33, 34 (incomplete) undated
Box 1 Nos. 40-43, 44 (incomplete) 1966, undated
Box 1 No. 46 (incomplete) undated
Box 1 No. 47 (incomplete) undated
Box 1 No. 48 (incomplete) undated
Box 1 Unidentified undated
Box 1 "Frankenstein's Bebe?" undated
Box 1 "Frankenstein from Space" undated
Box 1 "The Monster Man, Sire of Slan" undated
Box 1 Monster World Nos. 2, 3, 5, 9, 11 (incomplete) undated
Box 1 Musical Lyrics Nov-Dec 1964, undated
Box 1 Spaceland (incomplete) undated
Box 1 "When Frighthood Was in Flower" 1967
Box 1 Fragments 1967, undated
Of others
Box 1 Asimov, Isaac undated
Box 1 Harrison, Harry 1963
Box 1 Obbagy, Bill 1962, undated
Box 1 Poetry 1965, undated
Box 1 Translations - Ackerman, Wendayne undated
Box 1 Various undated
Box 1 Warren, Bill 1967
Box 1 Fragments undated
Box 1 Unidentified undated
Science fiction
Related material
Box 1 Ackerman Agency 1960, 1962, 1965, 1967, undated
Box 1 Advertisements 1956-1958, 1963-1967, undated
Box 1 Agreement forms 1962, 1967, undated
Box 1 Awards - Japan Science Fiction Fandom Award (Xerox copy) 1967
Box 1 Big Heart Awards 1967
Box 1 Book announcements 1960, 1965, 1967, undated
Box 1 Business cards undated
Box 1 Copied story undated
Box 1 Decimal classification of fantasy
Box 1 Russell, Samuel undated
Box 1 Erb-Dom 1955
Box 1 Famous Monsters excerpts undated
Box 1 Filing cards undated
Box 1 Letterheads, forms and calling cards 1967, undated
Lists
Box 1 Addresses 1967, undated
Box 1 Advertisers undated
Box 1 Agenda of screenplays, Edwards, G. John undated
Box 1 Articles in various magazines 1945-1954
Books
Box 1 1964-1967, undated
Box 2 F & S Book Store 1967
Box 2 Fantast (Medway) Ltd. 1959, 1965-1967, undated
Box 2 G. Ken Chapman Ltd. undated
Box 2 Reston, Ronald undated
Box 2 Transgalaxis 1958
Box 2 Comic books 1967, undated
Box 2 Clients undated
Box 2 Films undated
Box 2 Foreign 1966-1967, undated
Box 2 International Fantasy Award entries 1954
Box 2 Items of house for sale 1961, 1967, undated
Box 2 Magazines undated
Box 2 Movie Star News 1964, 1966, undated
Box 2 New York Post reprints 1955-1957
Box 2 People 1967, undated
Box 2 Posters and auction material undated
Box 2 Problems film classification 1963-1965
Box 2 Stills and photos 1963, 1967, undated
Box 2 Wanted by Ackerman, Forrest J 1960, 1967, undated
Box 3 Various 1960-1967, undated
Box 3 Unidentified 1967, undated:
Box 3 Magazine covers 1954, undated
Box 3 Memos 1964, 1967, undated
Notes
Box 3 1962, 1967, undated
Box 3 on Karloff Interview 1967
Organizations
Box 3 Award Film Club 1966
Box 3 The British Peter Cushing Fan Club 1963
Box 3 The Count Dracula Society 1963-1967
Box 3 Fandom undated
Box 3 International Movie Collectors Club 1962
Box 3 Los Angeles County-Hollywood Museum 1963
Box 3 Los Angeles Science Fantasy Society 1952, 1957, 1966-1967, undated
Box 3 National Fantasy Fan Federation 1963, 1965
Box 3 Science-Fantasy Writers of America 1952
Box 3 Science Fiction Writers of America 1964-1967, undated
Box 3 Trans-Atlantic Fan Fund 1962-1965, undated
Box 3 World Science Fiction Society 1958-1959, 1964-1967, undated
Box 3 Photos undated
Box 3 Photos, autographed undated
Box 3 Publicity 1952, 1961, 1965-1967, undated
Receipts
Box 3 1964-1967, undated
Box 3 G. Ken Chapman Ltd. 1959-1967
Box 3 H. M. Johnson 1956-1966
Box 3 Rejection slips undated
Box 3 Royalty Statements 1956-1957, 1962-1966, undated
Box 3 Scripts 1965, undated
Box 3 Story synopsis undated
Box 3 Tax forms 1951, 1957, 1959, 1967
Literary material
Box 4 Adventures in Tomorrow (pub. by Greenberg), "The Mute Question" 1951
Box 4 The Arkham Sampler, "A Basic Science Library, A Symposium" by Ackerman, Forrest J, and others; "Dr. Keller Again" Winter, 1949
Los Cuentos Fantasticos
Box 4 Vol. 2 #22 "La Pregunta Silente" undated
Box 4 Vol. 3 #6 "No Hay Tiempo Como El Futuro" undated
Box 4 Vol. 3 #25 "Nada Nuero Bajo El Sol" undated
Box 4 Vol. 3 #33 "El Monumento Atomico" undated
Famous Monsters of Filmland (excerpts)
Box 4 "The Frankenstein Story" undated
Box 4 "Public Vampire No. 1" undated
Fantasy Book
Box 4 Vol. 1 #1 "Strange Alliance" 1947
Box 4 Vol. 1 #4 "Dwellers in the Dust" Dec, 1948 (3 copies)
Fantasy Magazine
Box 4 Vol. 2 #6 "Scientifilm Theme Songs" Feb, 1934
Box 4 Vol. 3 #1 "Scientificinematorially Speaking" Mar, 1934
Box 4 Vol. 3 #4 "Scientifilm Snapshots" Jun, 1934
Box 4 Vol. 3 #5 "Scientificinematorially Speaking" Jul, 1934
Box 4 Vol. 4 #1 "Scientificinematorially Speaking" Sep, 1934
Box 4 Vol. 4 #2 -"Science Fiction Serial" Oct-Nov, 1934
Box 4 "Scientifilm Snapshots"
Box 4 Vol. 4 #4 "Scientificinematorially Speaking" Feb-Mar, 1935
Box 4 "Universal languages"
Box 4 Vol. 5 #1 "Scientifilm Snapshots" Jun, 1935
Box 5 Vol. 5 #3 "Scientificinematorially Speaking" Aug, 1935
Box 5 Vol. 5 #4 "Scientificinematorially Speaking" Sep, 1935
Box 5 Vol. 6 #1 "Scientifilm Snapshots" Jan, 1936
Box 5 Vol. 6 #2 "Scientifilm Snapshots" Mar, 1936
Box 5 Vol. 6 #3 "Scientifilms" Jun, 1936
Box 5 #38 "Scientificinematorially Speaking" Sep, 1936
Glom #6 published by Ackerman, Forrest J Jan, 1947
Box 5 "Procificon Report"
Box 5 "Scientifilmaticorrespondence"
If
Box 5 Vol. 6 #2 "The Odd Genre" Feb, 1956
Box 5 Vol. 6 #3 "The Odd Genre" Apr, 1956
Box 5 Imaginative Tales (fragment), "Scientifilm Marquee" undated
Box 5 Marvel Science Stories Vol. 3 #1, "Behind the Ate Ball"; "Race to the Moon"; "Why We Might Have Another World War" Nov, 1950
Nebula Science Fiction
Box 5 Vol. 1 #3 "Scientifilm Previews" Summer, 1953
Box 5 Vol. 1 #4 "Scientifilm Previews" Autumn, 1953
Box 5 Vol. 2 #1 "Sabina" undated
Box 5 "Scientifilm Previews
Box 5 Vol. 2 #3 "Scientifilm Previews" Feb, 1954
Box 5 The New York Post, "Science Fiction" Apr 3, 1955
Other Worlds Science Stories
Box 6 Vol. 2 #2 "The Mute Question" Sep, 1950
Box 6 Vol. 2 #3 "Earth Can Be Fair" (conclusion) Oct, 1950
Box 6 Vol. 2 #21 "Scientifilm Searchlight" Mar, 1957
Box 6 Planet Stories Vol. 4 #9 "Mars Is Hell" Nov, 1950
Science Fiction Digest
Box 6 Vol. 2 #1 "Philip Wylie" Sep, 1933
Box 6 Vol. 2 #2 "Scientificinematorially Speaking" Oct, 1933
Box 6 Vol. 2 #4 "He Wrote 'Souls Aspace'"; "Science Fiction Fun"; "Scientificinematorially Speaking"; "Six Startling Scientifilms" Dec, 1933
Spaceway
Box 6 Vol. 1 #2 "Scientifilm Parade" Feb, 1954
Box 6 Vol. 1 #3 "Scientifilm Parade" Apr, 1954
Box 6 Vol. 2 #1 "Scientifilm Parade" Jun, 1950
Box 6 Vol. 2 #2 "Scientifilm Parade" Dec, 1954
Box 6 Vol. 2 #3 "Scientifilm Parade" Feb, 1955
Box 7 Super-Science Stories , "Dhactwho-Remember?" by Ackerman, Forrest J. and Morley, Wilifred Owen; both British and American editions (2 books)
Box 7 Thrilling Wonder Stories Vol. 14 #2 "Looking Forward" Oct, 1939
Box 7 Utopian Vol. 1 #6 (no. 199 limited to 300 copies) "Pre-Hysteric" Jun, 1952
Box 7 V59, "Ces Amours de Monstres"; "L'Auteur, Tel Qu'il se Voit"; "Tina Petit" undated
Box 7 Weird Tales Vol. 34 #6 "Nymph of Darkness" by Ackerman, Forrest J and Moore, C. L. Dec, 1939
Box 7 Wonder Stories Vol. 7 #8 "Earth's Lucky Day" by Ackerman, Forrest J and Flagg, F.; "The Reader Speaks"; "Science Fiction League" Apr, 1936
Published material
Booklets
Box 7 Tricks beleben den Film by Unbehaun, Klaus autographed undated
Clippings
Box 7 1956-1967, undated
Box 7 "The Challenge from Beyond" undated
Magazines
Los Cuentos Fantasticos
Box 8 Tomo II Jul 15, 1948
Box 8 Tomo III Jul 31, 1948
Box 8 Tomo IV Aug 15-31, 1948
Box 8 #5 Sep 1-15, 1948
Box 8 #6 Sep 16-30, 1948
Box 8 #7 Oct 1-15, 1948
Box 8 #8 Oct 16-31, 1948
Box 8 Vol. 1 #9, #13 undated
Box 8 Vol. 2 #16, #17, #18, #19, #20, #21, #23, #24 undated
Box 8 Vol. 3 #27 , #28, #29, #30, #31, #32, #34, #35 undated
Box 8 Vol. 4 #37, #39, #40, #41, #42, #43, #44 undated
Box 8 Haunted Vol. #1 Mar, 1963
Box 8 Vectors Vol. 4 #4 4th Quarter, 1962
1978 additions
Art
Box 1 Commercial
Box 1 Etchings (10 folders)
Box 1 Paintings (2 folders)
Box 1 Photographs
Box 2 Photographs (5 folders)
Clippings
Box 2 Miscellaneous (12 folders)
Correspondence
Box 2 Business (4 folders)
Box 3 Business (22 folders)
Box 4 Business (22 folders)
Box 5 Business (24 folders)
Box 6 Business (25 folders)
Box 7 Business (25 folders)
Box 8 Cards
Box 9 Cards
Box 10 Cards
Box 11 Fan mail (22 folders)
Box 12 Fan mail (22 folders)
Box 13 Fan mail (22 folders)
Box 14 Fan mail (22 folders)
Box 15 Fan mail (22 folders)
Box 16 Fan mail (22 folders)
Box 17 Fan mail (28 folders)
Box 18 Fan mail, postcards, telegrams
Box 19 General (22 folders)
Box 20 General (23 folders)
Box 21 General (23 folders)
Box 22 General (24 folders)
Box 23 General (23 folders)
Box 24 Publicity (18 folders)
Box 25 Publicity (20 folders)
Box 26 Publicity (20 folders)
Box 27 Publicity (20 folders)
Box 28 Publicity (20 folders)
Box 29 Publicity (20 folders)
Box 30 Publicity (10 folders)
Film art
Oversize 1 [miscellaneous]
Fragments
Box 30 [miscellaneous] (10 folders)
Box 31 [miscellaneous] (21 folders)
Box 32 [miscellaneous] (20 folders)
Box 33 [miscellaneous] (20 folders)
General
Box 34 Miscellany (18 folders)
Memorabilia
Box 35 [miscellaneous] (2 folders)
Memoranda
Box 36 [miscellaneous] (14 folders)
Publications
Box 36 Miscellaneous (2 folders)
Box 37 Miscellaneous (16 folders)
Photographs
Box 3 Personal
Box 38 Nude portraits
Records
Box 38 Financial (20 folders)
Box 39 Financial (12 folders)
Personal
Box 39 Address books (5 volumes)
Box 40 Business cards
Box 41 Letterhead
Box 41 Note cards (7 folders)
Social events
Box 41 [miscellaneous] (11 folders)
Box 42 [miscellaneous] (17 folders)
Box 42 Pamphlets (10 items)
Box 43 Pamphlets (62 items)
Unsolicited mail
Box 44-58 [miscellaneous]
Writings
Typescripts, by Ackerman
Box 59 Creepy, Eerie, Spacemen and Vampirella
Box 59 Famous Monsters of Filmland (7 folders)
Box 59 Imagination
Box 59 Miscellaneous (7 folders)
Box 60 Miscellaneous (3 folders)
Published, by Ackerman
Box 60 Assorted works
Box 60 Famous Monsters of Filmland (2 folders)
Typescripts, miscellaneous
Box 61 Books, assorted (5 folders)
Box 62 Books, assorted (6 folders)
Box 61 Perry Rhodan, complete (10 folders)
Box 62 Perry Rhodan, complete (16 folders)
Box 63 Perry Rhodan, complete (5 folders)
Box 63 Perry Rhodan, fragments (2 folders)
Box 63 Speeches and commentaries
Box 63 Short stories and poems (9 folders)
Box 64 Short stories and poems - fragments (3 folders)
Box 64 Galley proofs, The Beast, by A. E. Van Vogt
Box 64 Published works, miscellaneous
1991 additions
Essays
Box 1 "A Brush with Genius," Omni
Periodicals
Box 1 Filmfax Feb-Sep 1991 (4 issues)
Box 1 Monsterama May 1991
Memorabilia
Box 1 [miscellaneous]
Clippings
Box 1 Articles about
Videotape
Box 1 [unidentified] 1990

Return to top