Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Ace Books Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Ace Books.
Title: Ace Books Records
Inclusive Dates: 1935-1962
Quantity: 16 linear ft.
Abstract: Manuscripts for periodicals published by Ace Books and photographs used for illustrations of Secrets, 1937.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

American publishing firm, specializing in popular literature.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ace Books Records consists of Manuscripts for periodicals published by Ace Books, including Confidential confessions, Daring romances, Love fiction, Revealing romances, and Secrets (1935-1962); and Photographs used for illustrations of Secrets, 1937.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by publication title, within that chronological.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The collection originally included published issues of a number of Ace periodicals, including Champion Sports, Confidential confessions, Detective dragnet, Flying aces, Love fiction, Red seal western, Secret agent-x, Sky birds, Western aces, and more. The collection also originally contained a number of Ace science fiction novels; these too have been transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Ace Books.

Associated Titles

Confidential confessions.
Daring romances.
Love fiction.
Revealing romances.
Secrets.

Subjects

Confession stories -- Periodicals.
Love -- Fiction.
Love stories -- Periodicals.
Periodicals -- Publishing.
Popular literature -- Publishing.
Publishers and publishing -- United States.
Western stories -- Periodicals.

Places

United States -- Popular culture.

Genres and Forms

Fiction.
Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.

Occupations

Publishers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ace Books Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Aaron Wynn, 1966-1968

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: 1966
Revision history: 17 Aug 2005 - EAD file created (MRR); 8 Dec 2016 - inventory updated (MRC); 14 Aug 2018 - rehoused, box numbers corrected, folder counts added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Manuscripts
Box 1 Confidential Confessions 1960, Apr-Jul (7 folders)
Box 2 Confidential Confessions 1960, Aug-Oct (6 folders)
Box 3 Confidential Confessions 1960, Nov-Dec; 1961 Jan-Feb (7 folders)
Box 4 Confidential Confessions 1961, Mar-Jul (7 folders)
Box 5 Confidential Confessions 1961, Aug-Oct (6 folders)
Box 6 Confidential Confessions 1961, Nov-Dec; 1962, Jan (6 folders)
Box 7 Confidential Confessions 1962, Feb-Mar (3 folders)
Box 7 Daring Romances 1961, Jan-Mar (4 folders)
Box 8 Daring Romances 1961, Mar-Jun (3 folders)
Box 9 Daring Romances 1961, Jul-Oct (7 folders)
Box 10 Daring Romances 1961, Oct; 1962, Jan-Mar (7 folders)
Box 11 Daring Romances 1962, Nov-Dec (4 folders)
Box 11 Love Fiction Oct 1935; Sep 1938 (3 folders)
Box 12 Revealing Romances 1959, Mar-Jun (7 folders)
Box 13 Revealing Romances 1959, Jun-Sep (7 folders)
Box 14 Revealing Romances 1959, Oct-Dec (6 folders)
Box 15 Revealing Romances 1960, Jan-Mar (6 folders)
Box 16 Revealing Romances 1961, Jan-Mar (6 folders)
Box 17 Revealing Romances 1961, Apr-Jun (6 folders)
Box 18 Revealing Romances 1961, Jun-Sep (6 folders)
Box 19 Revealing Romances 1961, Sep-Nov (5 folders)
Box 20 Revealing Romances 1961, Dec; 1962, Jan-Feb (6 folders)
Box 21 Revealing Romances 1962, Mar (2 folders)
Box 21 Secrets Dec 1958, Jan 1959 (4 folders)
Box 22 Secrets 1959, Feb-Apr (6 folders)
Box 23 Secrets 1959, May-Jul (6 folders)
Box 24 Secrets 1959, Aug-Oct (6 folders)
Box 25 Secrets 1959, Nov-Dec; 1960, Jan (6 folders)
Box 26 Secrets 1960, Feb-Apr (6 folders)
Box 27 Secrets 1960, May-Jul (6 folders)
Box 28 Secrets 1960, Aug-Oct (6 folders)
Box 29 Secrets 1960, Nov-Dec; 1961, Jan (6 folders)
Box 30 Secrets 1961, Feb-Apr (6 folders)
Box 31 Secrets 1961, May-Jul (6 folders)
Box 32 Secrets 1961, Aug-Oct (6 folders)
Box 33 Secrets 1961, Nov-Dec (4 folders)
Photographs
Box 33 Secrets 1937, Jul-Aug (3 folders)
Box 33 Secrets 1937, Sep-Dec (4 folders)
Published material
Published issues of Ace periodicals
Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to the Classic Catalog and search on "Ace Books" to locate these items.
  • Ace Sports
  • Champion Sports
  • Complete Love
  • Confidential Confessions
  • Daring Romances
  • Detective Dragnet
  • Flying Aces
  • Love Fiction
  • Red Seal Western
  • Revealing Romances
  • Secret Agent-X
  • Secrets
  • Sky Aces
  • Sky Birds
  • Ten Detective Aces
  • Ten Story Detective
  • Ten Story Love
  • Twelve Sport Aces
  • Variety Love
  • Western Aces
  • Western Trails

Return to top