Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Antique Comb Collectors Club (AC3) Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Antique Comb Collectors Club (U.S.)
Title: Antique Comb Collectors Club (AC3) Records
Inclusive Dates: 1985-2001
Quantity: 3.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence, publicity, board materials, membership lists, etc. for the Antique Comb Collectors Club (U.S.)
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Antique Comb Collector's Club (AC3) was formed in 1985 by Betty Miller and Doris Eff to enable those interested in antique combs and hair ornaments to exchange information and research, and share their passion for these collectible items. Betty also owned The Miller Comb Museum, which operated out of her home in Homer, Alaska and housed more than 3000 artifacts. The club's first convention was held in Florida in 1993. The club was active until 2013.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Antique Comb Collectors Club (AC3) Records consists of the retained records of the club. To preserve contextual information, and to retain the club's original filing scheme, material has been left in original folders with original labels. Unfoldered material found in the boxes was foldered and assigned a title based on content; these titles are given in the inventory below in square brackets [...]. Folders have been grouped into logical series as follows: board material, convention material, correspondence, publicity, records, and miscellany. Empty archival folders have been inserted as series identifiers/dividers.

Board material includes minutes, notes, correspondence and other material.

Convention material relates to the club's international convention, held in 2001.

Correspondence with prospects contains correspondence with prospective members. As such it often includes descriptions of the club and its activities.

Correspondence, general contains correspondence with members. Some is arranged alphabetically and some chronologically, as received. There is also a folder labeled "Unfiled correspondence." There is a good deal of correspondence with collector-authors Belva Green, Mary Bachman, and Jen Cruse.

Publicity includes discussions of how to publicize the club and attract new members, as well as correspondence regarding book reviews, advertisements, presence at various meetings and conferences, and clippings.

Records contains two folders explicitly labeled as such. They contain membership lists and some financial/expense information.

Miscellany contains membership cards and a videotape.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection remains largely as received, in original folders with original labels. Folders have been grouped into logical series, as described above, and within that arranged in rough chronological order. Material inside each folder has been left as received. Material found to be unfoldered was assessed and grouped with the series where it seemed the best fit.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Numerous issues of the club's newsletter, Antique Comb Collector, have been cataloged. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items. A small amount of related material may be found in the Antique Comb Collector's Club (AC3) Collection.

Special Collections Research Center has numerous other collections with sketches, designs and other items related to hair combs. Please search our collections for "combs" to see a full listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Bachman, Mary.
Beall, Glenn.
Cruse, Jen.
Eff, Doris, 1917-
Green, Belva.
Miller, Betty, 1933-

Corporate Bodies

Antique Comb Collectors Club (U.S.)
Antique Comb Collectors Club International.

Subjects

Hair ornaments -- Collectors and collecting.
Ornamental combs -- Collectors and collecting.
Ornamental combs -- Societies and clubs.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Financial records.
Membership lists.
Minutes (administrative records)
VHS.
Videocassettes.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Antique Comb Collectors Club (AC3) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Betty Miller, 2019.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 23 Apr 2019
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Board material
Box 1 ACCC Board 1993-1994
Box 1 Board ACCC 1995-1996
Box 1 ACCC Board 1996-1998
Box 2 Corresp AC4 Board and Bachman, various constitution drafts 1999
Box 2 Board meetings [and] convention 2000
Convention material
Box 2 Convention program 2001
Correspondence with prospects
Box 2 Corresp misc (Prospects) 1987-1991
Box 2 ACCC prospects correspondence current year 1999-2000
Box 3 [Prospects?] 2000 - material was unfoldered and placed here based on content
Correspondence, general
Box 3 [Correspondence A-F] 1989-1992
Box 3 ACC Member Corresp A thru F 1988-1997
Box 3 ACCC Member Corresp G-K 1992-1997
Box 4 Corresp L-P 1992-1997
Box 4 Corresp R-Z 1990-1997
Box 4 J. [Jen] Cruse 1993-1998
Box 4 [Correspondence] 1994
Box 5 Correspondence ACCC 1994
Box 5 Unfiled Member Corresp 1992-1998
Box 5 ACCC Member Corresp current year 1999
Box 5 [Correspondence] 2000-2001 (2 folders)
Publicity-related material
Box 6 Publicity, directories, listings, media, misc. related associations, courtesy exchanges 1987-1998
Box 6 ACCCI current year correspondence, directory response, misc internet auctions and searches 1999-2000
Box 6 Publicity PR circa 2000
Records
Box 6 ACCC Records 1987-1997
Box 6 ACC Report, budget & finance 1990-2002
Box 7 [Membership cards] - 2 small boxes containing index cards with member information
Miscellaneous
Box 7 Belva Green's PAX-TV network show "Treasures in your Home" 2001 - "Treasures in your Home" was a series on PAX-TV, hosted by John Burke. It ran for 200+ episodes. This episode features Belva Green, an expert on antique hair combs. Recording of television broadcast. (VHS) (ID#: accc_records_001)
Box 6 [Miscellaneous items] undated - mostly printed, including ACCC and Miller Comb Museum brochures, paste-up for flyer, three rosters, color photocopies of two photographs of the Miller Comb Museum in Alaska

Return to top