Finding Aids
printer friendly version

African Americans in the Performing Arts Ephemera Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Van Vechten, Carl, 1880-1964
Title: African Americans in the Performing Arts Ephemera Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1925-1945
Quantity: .5 linear ft.
Abstract: Programs and other printed material relating to musical, theatrical and dance performances as well as political events, collected by American writer and photographer Carl Van Vechten.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1925 to 1945, African Americans in the Performing Arts: Ephemera Collected by Carl Van Vechten comprises programs and other printed material relating to musical, theatrical and dance performances as well as political events. Assembled by American writer and photographer Carl Van Vechten (1880-1964), the items in this collection offer a brief glimpse at the careers of such noted artists as Paul Robeson, Langston Hughes, Ethel Waters, and Katherine Dunham.

Comprising announcements, broadsides, flyers, invitations, and programs, the ephemera collection is arranged by event, and includes Concerts, Dance performances, Opera performances, Political events and Theatrical performances and a small amount of miscellaneous material.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Robeson, Paul, 1898-1976.
Waters, Ethel, 1896-1977.
Dunham, Katherine.
Hughes, Langston, 1902-1967.

Subjects

African American dance.
African Americans -- History -- 1877-1964.
African Americans -- Music .
African Americans -- Politics and government.
African Americans -- Social conditions -- To 1964.
African Americans in the performing arts.
Dance -- United States.
Musical theater -- United States.
Performing Arts -- United States.

Places

United States -- Intellectual life -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Announcements.
Broadsides (notices)
Invitations.
Theater programs.

Occupations

Entertainers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

African Americans in the Performing Arts Ephemera Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Carl Van Vechten

Finding Aid Information

Created by: PRB
Date: Mar 1988
Revision history: 21 Nov 2005 - EAD file created (MRR)

Return to top

Inventory

Ephemera
Box 1 Dance performances
Box 1 Opera performances
Box 1 Political events
Box 1 Theater performances
Box 1 Miscellaneous

Return to top