Databases: Communication and Rhetorical StudiesSU online databases relevant to Communication and Rhetorical Studies
|
For articles in journals not held by the Library, persons with a Syracuse
University affiliation may use the interlibrary loan service ILLiad
Communication, general:
- Communication and Mass Media Index Provides access to the literature related to communication and mass media.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) Abstracts of articles from approximately 2,000 serials published worldwide, coverage of recent books, enhanced dissertation listings from Dissertation Abstracts International, and bibliographic citations for book reviews. For scholars concerned with the nature and use of language.
General and Social Sciences:
Full-text:
- Alt-Press Watch Full text database of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.
- Academic OneFIle Articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers,many in full text. Especially good at helping researchers to narrow down large topics.
- GenderWatch Full-text publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe Full text database including articles on news, business, legal and medical research. Full text of articles from newspapers nationwide, including campus papers like the Daily Orange. Very current: you can retrieve articles from today's newspapers!
- Wilson Select Plus 1994- Full text of scholarly and popular articles on a variety of subjects.
Citation only:
- PsycINFO 1887 - present. International literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics.
- Social Sciences Full Text 1983 - present.
- Web of Knowledge Citation index to 8700 authoritative, high impact journals, covered by Science Citation Index , Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Backfile data to 1995. A citation index enables scholars to trace a research concept backwards and forward in time, by providing bibliographies of scholarly articles and by indexing subsequent studies that cite them. Thus, a citation index provides a way to assess the prestige of a study or scholar.
- Sociological Abstracts 1963 - present. Sociology, social work, and other social sciences.
Intercultural communication:
- Chicano Database Bibliographic materials on Mexican-American topics 1960 to the present. Scope expanded 1992 to include the broader Latino experience, including Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants. Includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database.
- Ethnic News Watch 1985- A collection of full text articles from 200 publications covering the ethnic, minority and native press in America with international coverage. ENW provides news, culture and history from a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.
- International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text. Includes content from over 150 international scholarly and popular periodicals in Black studies. It covers a wide array of humanities and social science disciplines including art, cultural criticism, economics, education, health, history, language and literature, law, philosophy, politics, religion, and sociology among others.
- SAGE Race Relations Abstracts Current information in the area of race relations. Issues covered include discrimination, education, employment, health, politics, law and legislation. 2000 to the present.
Legal Communication:
- Lexis/Nexis Academic Hundreds of full text files focusing on legal (federal, state, international), news (newspapers, newswires, transcripts), business and industry information.
- PAIS International 1972 - present. Index with abstracts to articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs.
Organizational communication:
Political communication:
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts 1989- Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
- Polling the Nations A unique compilation of questions and responses from more than 6,500 national, state, local and special surveys in the US and over 60 other countries. The surveys contain information on over 3,000 subjects, from social and political concerns to economic issues. Data gathered by professional polling organizations, television networks, universities, newspapers, etc.


