Selected Nursing Databases
The databases below represent just a few of the possibly useful databases
for nursing research. For a comprehensive list of databases available to
S.U.-affiliates, see Syracuse University Library's
Databases Main Menu.
Please note: Remote access to most of these databases is limited to those
who are affiliated with Syracuse University (hold a current S.U. ID card.)
-
Academic Universe - General Medical & Health Topics
[Lexis-Nexis Universe] -- Searches the
full-text of medical journals and newsletters providing information
on drug interactions, cancer, poison, disease, trauma, and medical
administration.
-
AgeLine
[SilverPlatter] -- Provides coverage
of social gerontology--the study of aging in social, psychological,
health-related, and economic contexts. 1978+ with selected coverage
back to 1966; updated bimonthly.
-
CINAHL
[SilverPlatter] Contains abstracts to
articles published in more than 950 English-language nursing and allied
health journals as well as virtually all publications of the American
Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing; covers 1982-present.
-
Health Reference Center Academic
Provides access to nursing and allied
health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information
sources: journals, newsletters, pamphlets, reference books and more.
Current year + preceeding 4; updated daily.
-
Human Nutrition
[SilverPlatter] Access to fourteen databases
providing targeted coverage of research in human nutrition and its
direct impact on human health. Topics include food allergies and nutrition;
food production; agriculture and meat industries; chemistry of food
additives; nutritional evaluation of food products; and the effects
of nutrition on human health. Coverage includes 1982-Present.
- MDX
Health Digest
[FirstSearch] -- Over 25,000 citations
from over 200 publications. Covers 1988 to the present; updated monthly.
-
MEDLINE
[FirstSearch] -- Index to more than 3,500
International journals covering all areas of medicine. 1985 to the
present; updated monthly.
- MEDLINEplus
From the National Library of Medicine
(NLM) this is the consumer's health database and contains current
and authoritative health information. Included are clinical trial
information, links to a drug database, an illustrated online medical
encyclopedia, medical dictionaries, and a directory of physicians.
-
PubMed
The National Library of Medicine's search
service offers access to over 10 million citations covering the fields
of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care
system, and the preclinical sciences. Citations are drawn from MEDLINE,
PreMEDLINE, and other related databases. Includes links to participating
full-text online journals. Coverage from 1966; updated weekly.
|
|