General History & Historiography
Art & Images
- Art Index Retrospective - Bibliographic citation database for archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, film, folk art, graphic arts, musicology, painting, photography, sculpture, television, textiles, and video.
- ARTstor - 300,000 images from art, architecture and archaeology. Specialized collections include Asian art, Native American art and culture from the Smithsonian, the MoMA collection for architecture and design and the Schlesinger photograph collection on the history of women in America.
- Bibliography of the History of Art - Indexes and abstracts of art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs, and articles from 2,500+ periodicals. Covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Updated quarterly.
- Index of Christian Art Database - Thematic and iconographic index of early Christian and medieval art objects to 1400. Contains works indexed by the archive since 1991.
- Photo Archive - 750,000+ photos and audio clips from the Associated Press News Services. Covers 1850s - present.
- AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archive - Photographs and audio clips from the Associated Press archive. Covers 1850s - present.
Biography
- Biographies Plus Illustrated - Full-text articles from biographical reference books including Current Biography, the World Author Series, Nobel PrizeWinners, World Artists, World Film Directors, American Reformers, and biographical works on musicians and composers.
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index - Indexes current reference sources and the most important retrospective works covering individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. 13.3 million biographical sketches.
- Biography Index - Index to biographical articles from periodicals and books, including autobiographies, biographies, bibliographies, critical studies, fiction and drama, pictorial works, poetry, juvenile literature, obituaries, journals, collections of letters, and book reviews.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography - Full-text of the 60-volume biographical encyclopedia including 50,000+ biographies and 10,000 portrait illustrations.
- Historical Abstracts - Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present.
- History E-Book Project - Full-text of books in all areas of history.
- Humanities Abstracts - Indexes and abstracts to 465 periodicals in archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, and world literature. Indexing February 1984 - present, abstracts March 1994 - present.
- In the First Person - Index to over 3,000 collections of letters, diaries, oral histories, and other personal narratives. Includes full-text when available.
- JSTOR - Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, and the social sciences.
- Keesing's Record of World Events - Digest of worldwide political, diplomatic and economic affairs. Updated monthly.
- Oral History Online - Collection of oral history interviews.
- PAIS Archive - Retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, Volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976. 1.23 million records.
- Project Muse - Full-text access to all journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press: humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. A brief bibliographic description of each title is provided.
- Times Literary Supplement Centenary Archive - Full-text coverage from 1902-1990. Reviews are in image format and the full-page context in which they were originally published. Includes names of contributors and a biographical sketch of each reviewer.
- Women's Studies International - Materials ranging from core writings to ground-breaking feminist scholarship in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, gender studies, arts & humanities, business and education. Full-text compiled from 800+ sources including journal articles, books, newspapers, dissertations, theses and gray literature. Covers 1972 - present.
European History
- International Medieval Bibliography - Index to 300,000 journal articles, conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften. Updated quarterly. Covers 1967 - present. Can be searched by period, place, person, and text.
- Medieval Manuscripts of Syracuse University Library - Small but significant collection of Latin manuscripts: 13th - 16th centuries. Includes links to pages, brief descriptions, detailed catalog information, and images in jpg format.
- Empire Online - 60,000 images of original manuscripts and printed material from 1492 to 1969. Includes historical essays and biographies.
- EEBO: Early English Books Online - Full-text of 125,000+ titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661). Among the thousands of titles featured are works by Malory, Bacon, More, Erasmus, Boyle, Newton, and Galileo; musical exercises by Henry Purcell and novels by Aphra Behn; prayer books, pamphlets, and proclamations; almanacs, calendars, and many other primary sources.
- English Short Title Catalogue - Descriptions and holdings information for letterpress materials printed in Great Britain or any of its dependencies in any language and for materials printed in English anywhere else in the world. Coverage is from the beginnings of print to 1800 including all recorded English monographs printed between 1475 and 1700.
- Hand Press Book - Records for European printing of the hand-press period (c. 1455-1830). Represents a unified bibliographic description of early printed materials.
- Patrologia Latina - Contains 221 volumes and represents a complete electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865).
- American Bibliography of Slavic & East European Studies - Indexes journal articles, books, reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union published in the U.S. and Canada 1990-present.
North American History
- AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archive - Photographs and audio clips from the Associated Press archive. Covers 1850s - present.
- African American Biographical Database - Full-text biographical information, including photographs and illustrations, of African Americans.
- America: History and Life - Indexing and abstracts cover the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
- American Revolution Reference Library - Covers the events and people of the Revolutionary War period.
- American Civil War Reference Library - Covers the events and people of the Civil War period and provides in-depth information including biographical profiles and primary source materials.
- Bibliography of Native North Americans - Addresses all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life; including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. 80,000+ citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. 16th Century - present.
- Major Acts of Congress - Illustrated encyclopedia of congressional acts from the earliest days of the American republic to the present.
- Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress - Photographs, biographies, archival information, and bibliographies about current and former senators, congresspersons, vice presidents, territorial delegates, resident commissioners and delegates to the Continental congress. 1774 - present.
- Black Thought and Culture - Collection of non-fiction writings by prominent black American figures, transcripts of speeches, interviews, trials, and other fugitive material.
- Chicano Database - Bibliographic materials on Mexican-American topics 1960 - present. Covers: Latino experience, Cuban-Americans, Central American immigrants.
- Nineteenth Century Masterfile - A digital compilation of a growing number of separately published indices to the literature from the period 1800-1920. Contains nearly 5 million citations to newspapers, periodicals, books and government documents.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600 to 2000 - Brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, that document the multiplicity of women’s reform activities.
- Erie Railroad Glass Plate Negative Collection - Images of stations, mile posts, track construction, and social organizations of the Erie Railroad Company, documenting early 20th century landscape, product advertising, and employee activities.
- The Oneida Community Collection - Documents the utopian religious community founded by John Humphrey Noyes and his followers in Oneida, NY in 1848.
Periodicals, Newspapers & Media
- Godey's Lady's Book - Extensive fashion descriptions and plates, biographical sketches, articles about handcrafts, female costume, dance, equestrienne procedures, health & hygiene, recipes & remedies, etc. Became an important literary magazine with extensive book reviews and works by Harriet Beecher Stowe, Edgar Allen Poe, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow and other celebrated 19th Century authors.
- HarpWeek - Full-text Harper's Weekly 1857 - 1877, including the Civil War and Reconstruction eras. Scanned images of the periodical and searchable text.
- Index to Early American Periodicals - Covers 3 separate time periods from 1741 to 1935. Thought to include all known periodical publications that had their inception and conclusion during this period. The actual periodicals are on microfilm in three microfilm collections of the same names.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective - Index to the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. Coverage is for 1890 - 1982.
- Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective - Full-text 11,000+ articles from 2500+ issues of newspapers published Nov. 1, 1860 - Apr. 15, 1865. Includes descriptive news articles, eye-witness accounts and official reports of battles and events, editorials, advertisements and biographies.
- African American Newspapers: 19th Century - Information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s, first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day. Also contain biographies, vital statistics, essays, editorials, poetry, and advertisements, all embodying the African-American experience.
- NewspaperARCHIVE Elite - Hundreds of newspapers in PDF format. Searchable by title, date and keyword. Includes the Syracuse Post Standard. Coverage for some papers goes back to the 1700's.
- New York Times Historic Archives - Electronic archive of The New York Times for 1851-2003 offering full-page and article images with searchable full-text back to the first issue of the newspaper. Digital reproductions provide access to every page from every available issue.
- Television News Archive - 30,000+ individual network news broadcasts from major U.S. networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN. 9,000+ hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. Note: Users must register before searching; registration form available on the "TV- NewsSearch" page.


