Here is a listing of databases that are relevant to the study of Africa. Almost any of the hundreds of other Syracuse University databases can be accessed as well to find information on issues dealing with the African Diaspora. For a more in-depth listing of databases that Syracuse University Library subscribes to, see the Database Main Menu.
Databases
Access UN
Current and retrospective United Nations documents and publications. Covers 1950 - present.
Africa-Wide: NiPAD incorporates the information from a variety of smaller databases and covers African and South African studies using information from Africa, Europe and the United States.
African Studies Abstracts Online
Also available in print in the Syracuse University Library,
Location: Bird-2nd Floor (does not circulate)
Call Number: DT3 .L37
Library has: v.25 (1994)-v.33 (2002)
Economist Intelligence Unit Reports
Analysis and forecasts of the political, economic and business environment for almost 200 countries,including African nations. Includes reports on certain strategic industries and on the latest management thinking.Europa World
Full text online version of Europa World Year Book, reference book for political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories.
Full-text content of local and regional newspapers. Each newspaper has its own distinctive focus offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues. Paid advertisements are excluded.
Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion. and much more.
JSTOR
Full text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, and the social sciences.
Project Muse
Full text online access to all journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. A brief bibliographic description of each title is given.ProQuest
A complete reference database contains abstracts, indexing, and full text articles from popular magazines, business periodicals, and academic publications, plus current coverage of articles including African journals such as Africa analysis and African business. It covers a wide range of topics including the arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences and women's interests which include an interantional focus.
The following databases and e-journals are available free at the following websites:
Please note that these databases are not subscribed to by Syracuse University Library, and most of these journals and newspapers may not have full-text access. Most of these pages will only lead you to subscription information or tables of contents of journals. Individuals will need to subscribe to the electronic journals or order the articles individually in order to gain access to the articles.
African E-Journals Project
http://www.ajol.info/
"...This site provides tables of contents and and abstracts from over 180 African-published peer-reviewed journals... All access is free..."(website)H-Africa Africa Studies
http://www.h-net.msu.edu/~africa/toc/index.htmlBioLine
Bioline International is a not-for-profit electronic publishing service committed to providing open access to quality research journals published in developing countries.(website)Kenya Indexing Project
http://www.indexkenya.org/ftsearch.aspQuarterly index of African Periodical Literature
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/misc/qsihtml/Available only in electronic version, 2003-
Library has in print: v.10 (2000)-v.12 (2002) - Call Number: Z3503 .Q38
African Periodical Literature Bibliographic Database
http://www.africabib.org/Electronic Journal of African Bibliography
http://sdrc.lib.uiowa.edu/ejab/


