Finding Articles in the SU Library
- How do I find out what articles have been published on my topic?
- I have a list of citations to articles that I need. How can I find out if they are online?
- I didn't find all the publications I wanted. What should I do now?
- Where do you keep your newspapers and journals?
- Can I check periodicals out of the Library?
- What if the Library doesn't have the journal I need?
- Glossary of Terms
Also see the Beginner's Guide to Finding Articles in the SU Library.
1. How do I find out what articles have been published on my topic?
Periodical indexes are reference tools that help you to identify newspaper and journal articles on a given subject. Indexes can be very general in scope, such as the Readers Guide Abstracts, or they can be specific and cover only one academic discipline. The Library subscribes to hundreds of periodical indexes in both paper and electronic formats. Paper indexes can be found in the Library's Reference Collection. Electronic indexes, or online databases, are available on the Library web site (see the Databases Main Menu).
Ask at any reference desk for assistance choosing the right index for your topic, or browse the available online databases on the Databases Main Menu.
Online databases usually provide a complete citation and may also include an abstract, the full text, or even a scanned image of the article as it appears in the journal or newspaper. Check the complete description of each database for more information.
2. I have a list of citations to articles I need. How can I find out if they are online?
Go to the E-journal Locator, and conduct a journal title search using part of or all of the title of the publication in which the article is found (e.g., journal, newspaper, magazines, etc.). Please do not type the title of the article at this point. You can often identify the publication title because it contains the word "Journal" or it is in italics or underlined. The article title is often in quotation marks.
This will lead you to a listing of online databases or a direct link to the online journal so that you can find articles from the publication. The E-journal Locator includes publication dates for each publication, so you can check to see if SU has access to the specific issue that contains the article you are looking for.
If you are directed to a database, click on the link (e.g., Lexis-Nexis Academic). Once you are on the database page, follow the database's instructions for searching for a particular article within a specific publication. In some cases, this will involve an advanced search.
3. I didn't find all the publications I wanted. What should I do now?
To find out which periodicals (e.g., journals, magazines, newspapers, etc.) are included in the Library's collection, search the SUMMIT Catalog. Choose a Journal Title Search and type the title of the periodical (not the title of the article). SUMMIT catalog will indicate whether or not the Library subscribes to the periodical, which dates are included in the subscription, which library houses the title, and the exact location of the issue you need. If SU has a subscription to an online version of the periodical, SUMMIT will indicate that it is Available via Internet and you can connect to it directly by clicking on Electronic resource.
4. Where do you keep your newspapers and journals?
Periodicals are kept in various locations in the Syracuse University Library depending upon the age, format, and subject of the journal. Check the SUMMIT Catalog for specific holdings information.
The following information applies to periodicals in E.S. Bird Library and the Science & Technology Library. Other campus libraries may arrange their periodicals differently, so be sure to ask for help at a nearby reference desk.
Current issues of subscriptions are generally kept in the Current Periodicals area on the second floor of E.S. Bird Library. Journals are arranged in alphabetical order by title on the shelves; current newspapers are located in a separate section of the same area. In the Science & Technology Library, current issues are generally kept in the Current Periodicals area, Room 103 Carnegie Building.
Back issues of journals and newspapers are stored in one of several locations in E. S. Bird Library. If the title is retained on microfilm or microfiche, it will be filed in the Media Services Department (Lower Level of E.S. Bird Library) according to call number or accession number. If the title is retained in paper copy, it is bound, cataloged, and shelved in the main stacks according to call number.
In the Science & Technology Library, back issues are also stored in several locations. Some microfilm/microfiche issues are located in Room 115. If the title is retained in paper copy, it is bound, cataloged, and shelved in the stacks according to call number. Items located on Storage Level 6 or 7 must be requested at the Circulation Desk as these areas are not accessible to users. Check the SUMMIT Catalog for complete holdings and call number information.
Some journals are available online. See the E-Journal Locator for a complete listing of e-journals to which the Library subscribes. Be sure to check subscription dates, as many online journals do not include their full range of back issues.
5. Can I check periodicals out of the Library?
No, periodicals do not circulate. You may photocopy the articles you need. Self-service copiers are located at several library locations. Copy cards may be purchased from card machines located on the first floor of E.S. Bird Library and the Science and Technology Library (1st floor Carnegie), and F. Franklin Moon Library (SUNY- ESF).
6. What if the Library doesn't have the journal I need?
If the Syracuse University Library does not subscribe to the journal you need, you may place an Interlibrary Loan Request for the article. See the publication Obtaining Materials Not Found in the Syracuse University Library for more information, or go directly to ILLiad to place an interlibrary loan request.
Abstract: A summary of the article.
Bindery: Commercial facility where journals are sent to be bound.
Bound Periodicals: A collection of issues bound in hardcover and cataloged.
Citation: Includes the article title, author, journal title, issue, date, page(s), and other information relevant to locating a copy of the article.
Current Periodicals: New issues of the current year that have not yet been bound or received in microform.
Online Periodical Database: An electronic search tool to help you locate references to and sometimes full-text of journal, magazine and newspaper articles.
Full Text: The entire text of the article (may or may not include graphics, charts, etc.).
Holdings: Details of the library's holdings of a journal or newspaper title that we have in our collection.
Index: A guide to articles in periodicals, usually arranged or accessed by subject.
Interlibrary Loan: A service by which you can order articles not owned by the SU Library for little or no cost.
Periodicals: Items published on a regular basis (e.g., magazines, journals, newspapers).
Preservation: The Library department that performs repairs on worn or damaged periodicals.


