Finding Aids
printer friendly version

William Young Correspondence

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Young, William, 1847-1920.
Title: William Young Correspondence
Inclusive Dates: 1882-1919
Quantity: 33 items.
Abstract: Papers of the American poet, playwright. Incoming personal letters.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

William Young (1847-1920) was an American poet and playwright. Initially a law student, Young turned to drama and writing early in his career, favoring the blank verse technique. His works include "Pendragon," "The Rajah" and "Ganelon." His best-known work is his dramatization of Lew Wallace's "Ben-Hur."

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William Young Correspondence consists of incoming letters, mostly from fellow members of the Authors Club. Subjects include Young's play "Pendragon," general praise for Young's work, and the social and business activities of the Authors Club members. Correspondents include Samuel Hopkins Adams, Elwyn A. Barron, Clarence Clough Buel, Elizabeth York Case, L.T. Chamberlain, Jeannette L. Gilder, Stuart Oliver Henry, Ellen Mary Hutchinson, Rossiter Johnson, William Denison McCrackan, Morell Mackenzie, Charles Ledyard Norton, Duffield Osborne, Charles George Douglas Roberts, Frank Kimball Scribner, Arthur Stedman, Henry Wilton Thomas, Charles Warner, Charles Henry Webb, and James Carleton Young.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged alphabetically by correspondent name.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Adams, Samuel Hopkins, 1871-1958.
Barron, Elwyn Alfred, 1855-
Buel, Clarence Clough, 1850-1933.
Case, Elizabeth York.
Chamberlain, L. T. (Leander Trowbridge), 1837-1913.
Gilder, Jeannette L. (Jeannette Leonard), 1849-1916.
Henry, Stuart Oliver, b. 1860.
Hutchinson, Ellen Mary.
Johnson, Rossiter, 1840-1931.
Mackenzie, Morell, 1837-1892.
McCrackan, William Denison, 1864-1923.
Norton, Charles Ledyard, 1837-1909.
Osborne, Duffield, 1858-1917.
Roberts, Charles George Douglas, Sir, 1860-1943.
Scribner, Frank Kimball, 1866-1935.
Stedman, Arthur, 1859-1908.
Thomas, Henry Wilton, 1867-
Warner, Charles.
Webb, Charles Henry, 1834-1905.
Young, James Carleton, 1856-1918.
Young, William, 1847-1920.

Corporate Bodies

Authors Club (New York, N.Y.)

Subjects

American literature -- 19th century.
American literature -- 20th century.
American poetry -- 19th century.
American poetry -- 20th century.
Authors, American.
Poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Authors.
Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William Young Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01
Revision history: 24 Apr 2009 - converted to EAD (AM)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Adams, Samuel Hopkins 1918 (4 letters)
Box 1 Barron, Elwyn Alfred 1884 (1 letter)
Box 1 Buel, Clarence Clough 1896 (1 letter)
Box 1 Case, Elizabeth York 1907 (2 letters)
Box 1 Chamberlain, Leander Trowbridge 1907 (1 letter)
Box 1 Gilder, Jeanette Leonard 1882 (1 letter)
Box 1 Henry, Stuart Oliver 1919 (1 letter)
Box 1 Hutchinson, Ellen Mary 1882 (1 letter)
Box 1 Johnson, Rossiter 1917 (1 letter)
Box 1 McCrackan, William Denison 1900 (1 letter)
Box 1 MacKenzie, Morell 1883 (2 letters)
Box 1 Norton, Charles Ledyard 1907 (1 letter)
Box 1 Osborne, Duffield 1904 (2 letters)
Box 1 Roberts, Charles George Douglas undated (1 letter)
Box 1 Scribner, Frank Kimball 1898 (1 letter)
Box 1 Stedman, Arthur 1888 (1 letter)
Box 1 Thomas, Henry Wilton 1907 (1 letter)
Box 1 Warner, Charles 1883 (1 letter)
Box 1 Webb, Charles Henry undated (2 letters)
Box 1 Young, James Carleton 1904 (1 letter)
Box 1 Miscellaneous undated (6 items)

Return to top