Finding Aids
printer friendly version

John Orr Young Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Young, John Orr, 1886-
Title: John Orr Young Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1907-1965
Quantity: 3.0 linear feet
Abstract: Papers of the American advertising executive. Includes manuscript of an article; published material by Young; correspondence, 1951-1952; and personal miscellany.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Born June 25, 1886 in Leon, Iowa to John Lewis Young and his wife, John Orr Young was an American advertising executive and consultant. From 1906 to 1908 he studied at Lake Forest College in Lake Forest, Illinois, and then began his career in the advertising department of the Salt Lake Herald Tribune in Salt Lake City, Utah. From 1910 to 1912 he was the advertising manager of the Chicago firm of Lord & Thomas, and in 1913 he became advertising manager of Crisco, a division of Procter & Gamble.

In 1921 he and Raymond Rubicam, a fellow advertising consultant, founded the advertising agency Young and Rubicam. The agency's clients and products eventually included notable names such as General Foods (Postum, Grape Nuts, Jell-O), Gulf Oil, Parket Cavis (drugs), General Electric (radios), Arrow (shirts and collars), Travelers Insurance, International Silver, Jell-O, Borden's (dairy products), Johnson's baby powder, Swan soap, Four Roses Whisky, and Metropolitan Life.

From 1921-1935 Young retired from business life, but in 1937 he took a job as consultant for W.P.B. in Washington, DC and then in 1945 opened his own business, John Orr Young Associates, for which he served as consultant and president.

Young was a member of the Union Club and the Phi Pi Epsilon fraternity at Lake Forest. He is the author of Adventures in Advertising (1949).

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Orr Young Papers consist of two accessions which have not been integrated.

1967 accession

The 1967 accession is divided into manuscripts and published material. Manuscripts contains a single article by Young, while Published material contains two articles by Young and a number of newsletter-pamphlets.

1978 accession

The 1978 accession is divided into three parts. Personal miscellany includes news clippings, photographs, and yearbooks. Advertising business contains newsletters, posters, awards, and a manuscript by Young. 1952 Eisenhower campaign includes correspondence, news clippings, and a scrapbookand includes letters

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Note that because the two accessions have not been integrated, box numbers are not unique. Please specify accession and box number when requesting material.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Young, John Orr, 1886-

Corporate Bodies

Rubicam & Young.

Subjects

Advertising agencies -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Manuscripts.
Photoprints.

Occupations

Advertising.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Orr Young Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: Jul 1967
Revision history: 12 Oct 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Manuscripts (1966 accession)
Box 1 "Hogs to Hoboken" (by Young) undated
Published material (1966 accession)
Articles by
Box 1 "Pick an Advertising Agency," Dunn's Review undated
Box 1 "Adventures in Advertising," Printer's Ink 1948
Newspaper letters by
Box 1 The Town Crier 1961
Pamphlets by
Box 1 Agency Management, no's 1-39 undated (3 folders)
Box 1 Better Advertising, no's 40-80, 83, 86-97 and unidentified pages undated (7 folders)
Personal miscellany (1978 accession)
Box 1 News clippings 1949-1961
Box 1 Photographs 1940-1960
Oversize 1 Photographs (oversize) 1940-1960
Box 1 Yearbooks 1908, 1910 (2 volumes)
Box 2 Yearbooks 1907-1908 (1 volume)
Advertising business (1978 accession)
Box 2 Adventures in Advertising, by John Orr Young (1 volume)
Box 2 "Better Advertising Newsletter" 1953-1965 (1 volume)
Oversize 1 Posters: advertisements 1929-1940
Oversize 1 Booklet: ad campaign 1925
Oversize 1 Award: advertising 1950
Eisenhower campaign (1978 accession)
Box 1 Correspondence 1951-1952 (2 folders)
Box 2 Correspondence 1951-1952 (1 volume)
Oversize 1 Scrapbook of news clippings 1947-1952 (1 volume)

Return to top