Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Ralph Yoes Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Yoes, Ralph.
Title: Ralph Yoes Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1953-1969
Bulk Dates: 1964-1969
Quantity: 3.5 linear ft.
Abstract: 382 original editorial cartoons and correspondence primarily from political leaders.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Ralph Yoes (1922-1999) was an American editorial cartoonist.

Ralph Yoes was born on February 15, 1922. He joined the staff as the editorial cartoonist for the San Diego Union in 1952 and in 1967 moved to the San Diego Evening Tribune which allowed Yoes to have more creative freedom over his cartoons. Yoes also produced caricatures of famous figures for distribution through Copley News Service, owner of the Union and Evening Tribune.

Yoes’ work was included in the compilation, A Nation Grieved: the Kennedy Assassination in Editorial Cartoons. His cartoons were also used to illustrate the Encyclopedia Britannica annual yearbooks. He won several Freedoms Foundation awards including the George Washington Honor Medal in 1953.

Ralph Yoes retired from the Evening Tribune in 1985 and died on August 30, 1999.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ralph Yoes Papers are divided into Cartoons and Correspondence.

Cartoons contains 382 original editorial cartoons drawn by Yoes and published by the San Diego Union and the San Diego Evening Tribune from 1964 to 1965 and 1967 through 1969. Two cartoons do not bear any date information and there is more than one cartoon for some dates.

Yoes’ style featured loose brush strokes and shapes frequently appear as merely outlines without any shading. In many cartoons, generous amounts of white space dominate the image as well as large borders. In this particular collection, a large majority of cartoons caricature Charles De Gaulle. Yoes also uses a lion to represent Britain. Of interest are Yoes' cartoons about college student protestors, illegal drug use, Russia’s growth as a naval power and his cartoons acknowledging the 50th anniversary of the Soviet Union.

The cartoons were drawn exclusively with ink on paper. Traces of pencil are visible. Many of the cartoons have ragged edges having been torn from a bound pad and others have trimmed edges. Several cartoons are mounted on red illustration board. Overall dimensions for mounted cartoons are 11” x 14” with an image size of approximately 10 ˝” x 13” Unmounted cartoons measure 12” x 18”. Captions and dates appear in pencil, some are crossed out. Some have engraver stamps on back. Many have blue notes taped on the back from the newspaper regarding publication and any special instructions.

Correspondence (1953, 1958-1965) contains three folders of incoming correspondence primarily from elected officials and publishers. Many letters thank Yoes for the gift of original cartoons. Other correspondents are requesting Yoes cartoons for publishing or exhibition. Of particular interest are signed letters from Senators Ted Kennedy, Strom Thurmond and Hubert Humphrey as well as a letter from Richard Nixon during his vice presidency which he signed "Dick Nixon". The Kennedy and Humphrey letters are about the Civil Rights Act of 1964. For a brief list of other prominent correspondents, please see the inventory.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Cartoons and correspondence are arranged in chronological order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Brezhnev, Leonid Ilích, 1906-1982 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Gaulle, Charles de, 1890-1970 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Humphrey, Hubert H. (Hubert Horatio), 1911-1978 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Humphrey, Hubert H. (Hubert Horatio), 1911-1978 -- Correspondence.
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Kennedy, Edward M. (Edward Moore), 1932-2009 -- Correspondence.
Kosygin, Aleksey Nikolayevich, 1904-1980 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Nasser, Gamal Abdel, 1918-1970 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Nixon, Richard M. (Richard Milhous), 1913-1994 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Nixon, Richard M. (Richard Milhous), 1913-1994 -- Correspondence.
Thurmond, Strom, 1902-2003 -- Correspondence.
Yoes, Ralph -- Archives.

Corporate Bodies

Copley Press, inc.
United States. Congress. -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Associated Titles

San Diego evening tribune.
San Diego union.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- California -- San Diego.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- California -- San Diego.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Civil rights movements -- United States.
Cold War -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Demonstrations -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Editorial cartoons -- California -- San Diego.
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
Inflation (Finance) -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Student protesters -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Taxation -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
World politics -- 1955-1965 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
World politics -- 1965-1975 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Places

United States -- Politics and government -- 1963-1969 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Correspondence.
Editorial cartoons.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ralph Yoes Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Gift of Ralph Yoes, 1965-1966, 1968-1969.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MD
Date: 2 Dec 2008
Revision history: 2 Dec 2008 - converted to EAD (MD); 4 Mar 2010 - added detailed bio, scope, index and inventory (SK)

Return to top

Inventory

Cartoons (382 items)
Click here for a detailed inventory.
Oversize 1, Folder 1 1964 Mar, 1964 Oct-Dec
Oversize 1, Folder 2 1965 Apr-May, 1965 Jul-Sep
Oversize 1, Folder 3 1967 Jan
Oversize 1, Folder 4 1967 Sep
Oversize 1, Folder 5 1967 Oct
Oversize 1, Folder 6 1967 Nov
Oversize 1, Folder 7 1967 Dec
Oversize 2, Folder 1 1968 Jan
Oversize 2, Folder 2 1968 Feb
Oversize 2, Folder 3 1968 Mar
Oversize 2, Folder 4 1968 Apr
Oversize 2, Folder 5 1968 May
Oversize 2, Folder 6 1968 Jun
Oversize 2, Folder 7 1968 Jul
Oversize 2, Folder 8 1968 Aug
Oversize 2, Folder 9 1968 Sep
Oversize 2, Folder 10 1968 Oct
Oversize 2, Folder 11 1968 Nov-Dec
Oversize 3, Folder 1 1969 Jan
Oversize 3, Folder 2 1969 Feb
Oversize 3, Folder 3 1969 Mar
Oversize 3, Folder 4 1969 Apr
Oversize 3, Folder 5 1969 May
Oversize 3, Folder 6 1969 Jun
Oversize 3, Folder 7 1969 Jul
Oversize 3, Folder 8 1969 Aug
Oversize 3, Folder 9 1969 Sep
Oversize 3, Folder 10 1969 Oct, undated
Correspondence
Prominent correspondents include:
Byrd, Harry F. (1963)
Greene, Jr., Wallace M. (U.S. Marine Corps, 1965)
Humphrey, Hubert (1959, 1964)
Kennedy, Ted (1964)
Morse, Wayne (1959)
Murphy, George (1965)
Nixon, Richard (1958)
Salinger, Pierre (1961)
Schlesinger, Jr., Arthur (1960)
Thurmond, Strom (1962, 1964)
Wilson, Bob (Congressman, 1960)
Box 1 1953, 1958-1959
Box 1 1960-1963
Box 1 1964-1965

Return to top

Index to cartoons

The following is a list of predominant people, places and subjects appearing in the editorial cartoons in this collection. The list is not exhaustive. Some subjects may require you to browse with alternative terms.
B= Box, F= Folder. For example: B1F1= Box 1 Folder 1.
Agnew, Spiro T. B2F8
Alaska B3F9
Asia B1F1
Biafra (Nigeria) B2F9
Bowles, Chester B2F1
Brezhnev, Leonid Ilyich B2F1, B2F4, B2F7-B2F8, B2F10, B3F3
Britain B1F2, B1F6-B1F7, B2F3, B3F2-B3F3
Burger, Warren B3F6
California B1F5-B2F2, B2F4-B2F7, B2F9, B2F11-B3F1, B3F4, B3F8
Cambodia B1F6, B2F1
Canada B2F6, B2F9
Carlos, Juan B3F7
Castro, Fidel B1F2, B2F1, B3F1, B3F3
China B1F1, B1F6-B1F7, B2F3, B2F6-B2F7, B3F2, B3F5-B3F7, B3F9
Clifford, Clark B2F2
Columbus, Christopher B1F5
Congo B1F1
Congress B1F5-B2F10, B3F2, B3F8, B3F10
Constantine II B1F7
Cuba B3F1, B3F7
Cyprus B1F6
Czechoslovakia B2F4-B2F9, B2F11-B3F1, B3F10
Dayan, Moshe B3F1
Democratic Party B2F1, B2F8, B3F7
Dominican Republic B1F2
Douglas, William O. B3F5
Ecuador B2F8
Egypt B2F10
Eisenhower, Dwight B2F8
El Salvador B3F7
En-lai, Chou B1F1
Fortas, Abe B2F9, B3F5
France B1F5, B1F7, B2F3, B2F6-B2F7, B2F11-B3F1, B3F3, B3F6
Franco, Francisco B3F7
Germany B2F4, B2F6, B2F10-B2F11, B3F8
Goldberg, Arthur B1F4
Greece B2F4
Gromyko, Andrei B1F4
Guevara, Che B1F5
Harriman, W. Averell B2F5
Ho Chi Minh B1F2, B1F5, B1F7, B2F2-B2F5, B2F8, B2F11
Honduras B3F7
Hope, Bob B2F5
Humphrey, Hubert B2F4-B2F8, B3F3, B3F7
Hungary B2F5, B2F7
Hussein (of Jordan) B2F11
Indonesia B1F5
Israel B1F4, B2F7, B2F11, B3F1, B3F4, B3F6
Italy B2F5-B2F6
Johnson, Lyndon Baines B1F1, B1F5-B2F9
Kennedy, Robert F. B2F3-B2F6
Kennedy, Ted B3F1
Khrushchev, Nikita B1F1-B1F2
Korea B2F3
Kosygin, Alexey B2F1, B2F3-B2F5, B2F7-B2F8, B2F11-B3F1, B3F3
Laos B2F3
Latin America B2F8, B3F6
McCarthy, Eugene B1F7, B2F2-B2F6, B2F8, B3F7
McNamara, Robert B1F4-B1F6
Medicaid B2F11
Medicare B2F2
Meir, Golda B3F4
Middle East B1F5-B1F7, B2F3, B2F6, B2F8-B2F9, B2F11-B3F2, B3F5-B3F6, B3F8, B3F10
NATO B1F2, B1F7, B2F9, B2F11, B3F6
Nasser, Gamal Abdel B1F4-B1F6, B2F1, B2F7-B3F1, B3F7, B3F9
Nazism B1F5, B2F4
New Left B3F7
New York City B2F9
Nixon, Richard M. B2F1, B2F3-B2F5, B2F8, B2F11-B3F4, B3F6, B3F9-B3F10
Olympics B2F9-B2F10
Organization of American States B3F7
Pearson, Lester B. B2F2
Peru B2F3, B3F2-B3F3
Poland B1F4, B2F4
Pompidou, Georges B3F6, B3F8
Reagan, Ronald B2F7-B2F8
Republican Party B1F7-B2F1, B2F8
Rockefeller, Nelson B2F3-B2F5, B2F8, B3F6-B3F7
Romania B2F9
Romney, George W. B1F4, B1F7-B2F2, B2F4
Rusk, Dean B1F7, B2F2, B2F4
Russia B1F5, B2F4, B2F9-B2F11, B3F2, B3F4, B3F7-B3F9, B3F10
San Diego State University B2F9
Sihanouk, Norodom B2F1
South Africa B1F5
Soviet Union B1F4-B1F6, B2F2, B2F7-B2F8, B2F10-B2F11, B3F7-B3F8
Stalin, Joseph B2F4, B2F6, B2F10
Supreme Court B2F4, B2F10, B3F6
Sweden B3F10
Thant, U. B2F9
Thieu, Nguyen Van B3F6
Tito, Josip Broz B2F6
Trudeau, Pierre B2F6
U.S. Constitution B1F4
U.S. Flag B2F6
U.S. Postal Service B2F7-B2F8
USS Pueblo B2F3
Udall, Morris B3F1
Ulbricht, Walter B2F4, B2F6, B2F8, B3F8
United Arab Republic B3F1-B3F2, B3F7, B3F9
United Nations B1F6-B1F7, B2F3, B2F9
University of California B1F1, B1F4, B2F1
Vietnam B1F4-B1F5
Vietnam War B1F2, B1F4-B1F7, B2F3-B3F2, B3F4, B3F6-B3F7, B3F9-B3F10
Wallace, George B1F6-B1F7, B2F8
War on Poverty B1F1-B1F2, B3F1
Williams, Andy B2F2
Wilson, Harold B1F2, B2F1, B2F3-B2F5, B3F3, B3F5
Youth International Party (Yippies) B2F8
Yugoslavia B2F6, B2F10
Zedong, Mao B1F1-B1F2, B1F5, B1F7-B2F1, B2F6-B2F7, B2F9
anti-missile systems B3F7-B3F8
armed forces B1F6, B2F3-B2F5, B2F10, B3F10
auto industry B1F4, B1F6
aviation B2F4
bureaucracy B1F2, B3F1
college students B1F1, B1F4, B2F1, B2F11, B3F6
common market B1F7, B3F6
communism B2F1, B2F5, B3F6
corruption B3F1
cost of living B2F4-B2F5, B2F7-B2F8
crime B2F2, B2F5, B2F8
de Gaulle, Charles B1F1-B1F2, B1F4-B2F1, B2F3, B2F5-B2F6, B2F8-B2F9, B2F11-B3F4
demonstrations B1F1, B2F7-B2F9, B3F6
draft B3F9
drug use B1F4, B2F6, B3F9-B3F10
economy B2F9
education B2F11
elections B1F4, B1F6, B2F1-B2F8, B2F10, B3F6, B3F10
espionage B2F11
ethics B1F6, B2F3, B3F6
farming B1F5, B3F6
fishing industry B2F3, B2F8
forest fires B1F7
freedom B1F4
gold reserve B1F6-B1F7, B2F3, B2F5
government spending B1F5, B2F1, B2F5-B2F6
hijacking B2F7
holidays B1F6-B1F7
housing B3F1, B3F6
inflation B1F3, B1F7, B2F2, B2F4-B2F5, B2F8, B3F10
journalism B1F6
judicial system B2F2, B3F6
mining industry B2F3, B2F11
nationalism B3F6
nuclear weapons B1F5-B2F3, B2F7-B2F8, B3F1-B3F2, B3F4, B3F7, B3F9
obscenity B2F4
oil B1F5, B2F10, B3F9
organized crime B3F4
peace B1F2, B2F4, B2F6, B2F9, B3F2, B3F6, B3F8-B3F10
plumbing industry B3F5
pollution B1F5, B2F7-B2F8, B3F10
population B1F6
poverty B2F8
riots B1F4, B2F8
space exploration B1F5, B2F4, B3F7
sports B1F4-B1F6, B2F2, B2F5, B2F9, B2F11, B3F2, B3F10
steel industry B1F7, B2F8
stock market B3F10
strikes B1F4, B2F5, B2F9, B2F11, B3F2
taxes B1F5-B1F7, B2F2, B2F4-B2F6, B2F10, B3F7-B3F8
teachers B1F4, B2F5, B2F9
tourism B2F2
trade B1F5, B2F1, B2F5, B3F4-B3F6, B3F9
traffic fatalities B1F4
unions B2F10, B3F6
voting B2F10
weather B2F7
welfare B3F4

Return to top