Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Herb Yellin Papers Relating to Joyce Carol Oates

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Yellin, Herb.
Title: Herb Yellin Papers Relating to Joyce Carol Oates
Inclusive Dates: 1976-2000
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence, memorabilia and printed material relating to Yellin's Lord John Press and to author Joyce Carol Oates, several of whose short works were printed by Yellin
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Herb Yellin (1935-2014) was an American book collector and publisher. He founded Lord John Press in 1976 to publish signed limited editions of significant American authors. Joyce Carol Oates (1938- ) is a an award-winning American author of fiction and non-fiction, including novels, short stories, poems, plays, and essays.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Herb Yellin Papers Relating to Joyce Carol Oates consists of correspondence, memorabilia and printed material relating to Yellin's Lord John Press and to author Joyce Carol Oates, several of whose short works were published by Yellin. The collection two folders of detailed and friendly personal correspondence between Yellin and Oates.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by type or topic.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

A few financial items are not accessible to researchers at this time. These items are stored separately in Special Collections Research Center internal files.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the Joyce Carol Oates Papers. Special Collections Research Center also has a large number of books, articles, serials and other items by or pertaining to Oates which are cataloged in the Rare Books Collection. Please search the Classic Catalog for these related materials.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Ewert, William B.
Oates, Joyce Carol, 1938-
Yellin, Herb.

Corporate Bodies

Lord John Press.

Subjects

Novelists, American -- 20th century.
Poets, American -- 20th century.
Private presses -- California.
Women authors -- 20th century.
Women poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Broadsides.
Correspondence.
Galley proofs.
Newsletters.
Photographs.

Occupations

Publishers and publishing.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Herb Yellin Papers Relating to Joyce Carol Oates,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2015.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 3 Sep 2015
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Boyers, Robert (Bennington College) 1979
Box 1 Gregory, Blanche 1979
Box 1 Oates, Joyce Carol 1976-2000, undated - detailed and friendly correspondence, including typescripts of several poems by Oates (2 folders)
Box 1 re: Petrie family - typed page plus several hand-drawn family trees [?] regarding the Petrie family, by unknown author
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1977-1978, 1993 - includes notes to printers about various Oates projects, letter regarding an Oates biography, etc.
Memorabilia
Financial material - cancelled checks from Yellin to Oates and Oates to Yellin
RESTRICTED: This material is not available to researchers at this time.
Box 1 Joyce Carol Oates Newsletter 1978
Box 1 Photographs undated - candid color photographs of Oates with Yellin, apparently at a book signing
Printed material by Oates
Box 1 Articles 1987, 1996 - reprints, signed and inscribed to Yellin
Oversize 1 Broadsides undated - limited edition small-press printed items by Oates; includes Lord John Press, Tamarack Press, others
Box 1 Broadsides and cards undated - limited edition small-press printed items by Oates; includes Lord John Press, Tamarack Press, others; several are signed by Oates
Galleys
Box 1 Fertilizing the Continent, Santa Susanna press 1976
Box 1 Luxury of Sin, Lord John Press 1983
Box 1 Queen of the Night, Lord John Press 1979
Box 1 The Stepfather, Lord John Press 1978
Box 1 The Time Traveler, Lord John Press 1987
Box 1 White Trash, Lord John Press undated

Return to top