
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Wyoming Conference, United Methodist Church. |
| Title: | Wyoming Conference United Methodist Church Records |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1806-1979 |
| Quantity: | 10.0 linear feet |
| Abstract: | Business files (minutes, financial records, hearing records, circuit records, school and missionary society records of individual churches of the Conference); correspondence; memorabilia; and printed material. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: | Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Library 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 http://scrc.syr.edu |
The Wyoming Conference of the United Methodist Church is an umbrella organization that connects more than 300 United Methodist congregations (with more than 60,000 individual members) in Northeastern Pennsylvania and the Southern Tier of New York State. The Wyoming Conference's mission is "to assist local churches in making disciples for Christ, so as to transform the world."
The first Wyoming Conference was held in Carbondale, Pennsylvania, in 1852. Two notable outgrowths of the Wyoming Conference are the Children's Home of Wyoming Conference, focused on needs of and service to children, and United Methodist Homes, whose mission revolves around needs of and service to the aged. The Conference is are also affiliated with Wyoming Seminary, one of the oldest continuously coeducational day and boarding schools in the United States.
[Portions of this biographical sketch adapted from the Wyoming Conference website at http://www.wyomingconference.org.]
The Wyoming Conference of the United Methodist Church Records contain business files, correspondence, memorabilia and printed material relating to the Wyoming Conference organization of United Methodist congregations.
Business files relates to the Wyoming Conference itself as well as to individual member churches. Types of material include both general administrative material (constitution and by-laws, anniversary publications, meeting minutes, speeches and addresses, etc.) and financial records (check stubs, bills, receipts, etc).
General Correspondence covers more than 130 years.
Assorted items of Memorabilia include photographs, scrapbooks, maps, posters, and other miscellanea.
Printed material includes Conference newsletters, historical studies, pamphlets, newspaper clippings, and assorted other items.
Correspondence is arranged chronologically; all other series are alphabetical by name or topic.
Three folders of Board of Ministry Records business files are restricted.
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Wyoming Conference United Methodist Church Records
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
Created by: CMV
Date: 11 Dec 1979
Revision history: 20 Feb 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC);
7 May 2009 - oversize 3 added (MRC)
| Business files | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Adelphian Society Records 1866-1901, 1910-1930 (3 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Asbury United Methodist Church 100th Anniversary 1976 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Autobiography of H. E. Daniels 1889 | ||||||||||
| Binghamton and Vicinity Methodist Ministers' Association | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | 1923-1959 (4 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Receipted bills 1908-1912 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Records 1894-1913 | ||||||||||
| Binghamton District Ministerial and Literary Association | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Receipted bills 1908-1912 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Records 1894-1913 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Biography of Thomas H. Pearne 1929 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Board of Ministry Records 1942-1968 (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| RESTRICTED: | |||||||||||
| Box 2 | Board of Ministry Records 1942-1968 | ||||||||||
| RESTRICTED: | |||||||||||
| Box 2 | Broad Street Church 1973 - preacher and pastor list | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Centenary Church (Syracuse, NY) - booklet | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Central United Methodist Church 1976-1977 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Charles Wesley Brotherhood 1897 - constitution and bylaws | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Children's Home of Wyoming Conference 1973 - 60th anniversary bulletin | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Church Extension Anniversary 1898 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Church Extension Society Records 1869-1878 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Commission on Archives and History 1971-1972 - minutes | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Committee reports 1964-1972 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Conference Program Council Forward Planning Committee 1969 - report | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Constitution of the Binghamton District Ministerial Association 1894-1912 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Educational Institutions Study Committee 1970 - report | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Epworth League Records 1896-1924 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Evidence concerning case of George T. Price 1899 | ||||||||||
| Financial records | |||||||||||
| Box 2 | Archives and History treasurer's report and budget 1978-1979 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Budget manuals 1968-1972 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Cancelled checks and statements 1945-1950 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Capital funds study 1971 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Checks 1893-1895 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Check stubs 1943-1968 (3 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | General 1963-1972 (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Idetown United Methodist Church 1961-1975 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Paid bills 1946-1961 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Preacher's Aid Fund records 1916-1936 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Receipts 1947-1958 | ||||||||||
| Wyoming Conference Camp Commission | |||||||||||
| Box 2 | Cancelled checks 1945-1949 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Paid bills 1945-1948 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Statements 1946 | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Financial reports (3 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | First Wyoming Conference representative meeting 1894 - minutes | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Fragments | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Glen Lyon Church 1974 - history | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Glen Lyon Methodist Church 1973 - 85th anniversary bulletin | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Gospel Music Museum 1977 - dedication | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Hanover Circuit of Susquehanna District Records 1843-1860 | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Hearing records concerning Rev. Van Valkenburg 1865 | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Historical address for Wyoming Annual Conference Historical Society 1899 | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Historical sketch of Oneonta District ministerial meeting 1929 | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Historical speech 1931 | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Historic sketch of the Binghamton District Ministerial and Literary Association 1912 | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | History of Methodism in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania 1892 | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | History of the "Master's Call" program | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Horresdale District Conference Records 1873-1878 | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Huntsville United Methodist Church 1977 - 100th anniversary | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Idetown Administrative Board 1977 - agenda | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Insurance papers 1970 | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Journal of the Traveling and Local Preachers' Mutual Improvement Society of the Susquehanna District 1842-1872 | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Kingston, Pennsylvania Quarterly Conference minutes 1889-1914 | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Ladies Aid Society Records 1914-1921 | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Ladies Aid Society secretary's book 1898-1914 | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Map of Methodism in the Southern States 1898 | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Methodist Home for the Aged 1969 - financial reports | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Methodist Ministers' Association of Scranton Records 1906-1921 (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Methodist Ministers' Association of Wilkes-Barre and Vicinity 1942-1947 | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Methodist Quarterly Review 1867 | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Ministerial Association Records 1910-1942 | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Minutes of the Western New York Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church 1873 | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Miscellaneous 1898-1945 | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Miscellaneous history 1896 | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Newport Circuit Records | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | North Abington Charge Records | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Notes | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Oak Street United Methodist Church Records 1971-1976 | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Owego District Ministerial Association 1848-1877 - minutes | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | "The Pleasures of Sin" by John D. Sasson 1845 | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Programs 1927-1961 | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Properties Study of the Wyoming Conference 1972 | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Quarterly tickets 1835-1889 | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Record of pastoral work of J. T. Warner 1868-1924 (3 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Report of the Council on World Service and Finance 1964, 1968 (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | School of Missions 1968-1975 (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Steward's Book | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Tour itineraries 1976 | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Trucksville Church History | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | United Methodist Conference daily bulletin 1976 | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Untitled records 1806-1900 | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Vacationland Ministries report 1967 | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Whittemore Hill Church anniversary 1977-1978 | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Wilkes-Barre Methodist Ministers' Association Records 1891-1924 | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Will of William H. Olin | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Women's Missionary Society secretary's records 1924-1932 | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Wyalusing District Ministerial Association Records 1871-1877 | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Wyoming Circuit church register 1814-1848 | ||||||||||
| Wyoming Conference | |||||||||||
| Box 5 | Anniversary Celebration pageant script | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Historical record 1962 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Journal 1885-1888 | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Structure Committee minutes 1972 | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Union Committee records 1971-1972 | ||||||||||
| Wyoming District | |||||||||||
| Box 5 | Annual Conference Committee on Conference Relations records 1929-1954 | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Epworth League Institute Commission 1936-1950 | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Lyceum records 1843-1963 | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | Ministerial Association records 1889-1910 | ||||||||||
| Correspondence | |||||||||||
| Box 6 | 1844-1945 | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | 1851-1978 | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | 1950-1963 | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | 1953-1956 | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | 1964-1968 | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | 1969-1972 | ||||||||||
| Memorabilia | |||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Cane | ||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Certificate, blank | ||||||||||
| Etching blocks | |||||||||||
| Box 6 | Wilton J. Dubrick | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | Sky Lake camp scenes | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | Sky Lake directors | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | J. T. Warner | ||||||||||
| Oversize 3 | Gavels and block (3 items) | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | Map of Wyoming Conference | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | Photographs (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Photographs (oversize) 1865-1913 | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | Portrait of William Lord Conyngham II | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | Scrapbook of photographs | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | Walkathon poster | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | The Wesley Oak | ||||||||||
| Printed material | |||||||||||
| Booklets | |||||||||||
| Box 6 | A history of Nichols, N.Y. | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | Dimrock Camp Meeting 1976 | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | The McKendree United Methodist Church 130th Anniversary 1978 | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | What's Happening 1978 | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Castle Creek - Glen Castle Church Bulletin 1976 | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Centennial Pageant of Wyoming Conference Program 1952 | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Conference newsletter 1978 | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Congressional Record 1960 | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Court Street United Methodist Church 100th Anniversary 1976 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Daily Christian Advocate 1916 | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Health and Welfare Certification Council brochure | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Hingwa 1923 | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Invitations 1892-1942 | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Newspaper, The Beacon 1978 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Newspaper, The Press (Binghamton ) 1978 | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Newspaper clippings 1972 | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Newspaper reprint 1902 | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | The Northeastern United Methodist Historical Bulletin 1967-1978 | ||||||||||
| Pamphlets | |||||||||||
| Box 7 | "How to Display and Respect the Flag of the United States" | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Lackawanna Historical Society | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | North Afton United Methodist Church 150 Years 1978 | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Union Valley United Methodist Church 125th Anniversary 1978 | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Poster 1851 | ||||||||||
| Box 7 | Sixth Northeastern Jurisdictional Conference 1960 | ||||||||||